Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities and social sciences.
America: History & Life
Covers United States history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Academic Search Premier
General database that covers a wide range of research resources. A good place to start research!
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada.
Humanities Full Text
Covers broad subject areas in the humanities, including history, art, classics, folklore, religion, and more.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
A multidisciplinary database covering art, education, humanities, social sciences, business and technology.
Most comprehensive bibliographic resources for Mexican-American topics and the only database for Chicano reference.
Women's Studies International
Indexes women's studies and feminist-related journals, newspapers, and books in sociology, history, political science & more.
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native presses.
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals relating to gender roles and their impact over time.
Search by Subject
Databases by Subject
To select a database, think about which disciplines study the issue and use the recommended database list for that subject. Choosing the best database always depends on your research question.
Also used for History Research!
Research in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities!
ACLS Humanities E-books
e-books in the humanities, including history, literature, religion, art history, women's studies, area studies, political science and philosophy.
Sage Journals Online
Over 500 SAGE publications, with coverage in the disciplines of business, humanities, social sciences, technology and more.
General Database Search Strategies
The * character is used as a wildcard: effect* searches for effects, effecting, effected
AND narrows the search results
OR expands search results (used for synonyms or related words)
NOT excludes terms from a search
Use " " for phrase specific searching
Boolean Operators & More
Chart adapted from HeinOnline Academic database.