LibGuides: Graduate Students @ CSUF: Research

Resources

Exploring three different ways to search for books for your research!

OneSearch
It's a new way to discover library resources. You can find all of our books, ebooks, media, and journals with OneSearch. You can also find many of our journal articles.
WorldCat OCLC
◦Combines the catalogs from OCLC member libraries (50,000+ libraries in 80+ countries). Indexes all types of materials, including: books, computer data files, computer programs, films and slides, internet resources, journals, magazines, manuscripts, archives, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound and video media. You can search using other languages than English.
Google Books
◦A great service that connects readers with books through Google's the Partner Program and the Library Project. You may see a preview of the book or the entire book, if the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given Google permission. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.

The Pollak Library has over 200,000 eBooks! Simply search for a book and eBooks will be included in your results.

Screenshot example:

The screenshot example of a book record in OneSearch

The databases listed here are a select list of resources that we Titans subscribe to. These are multi-disciplinary databases, so if you are not sure where to start, you can begin from one of these. If you are looking for discipline-specific databases, go to this link and explore.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Academic Search Premier
General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text detailed reports on controversial social, economic, political, educational, health, environmental, technology, and current topics. Each report includes an abstract, overview, background summary, current situation, outlook, special focus, chronology, pro/con, and bibliography.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary journal collection provides full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals. It is particularly strong in the humanities disciplines, such as literature, history, and area studies (Africa, Asia, Latin America and Europe), but also has content from the sciences and the social sciences.
Readers Guide Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 400 of the most popular magazines and journals published in the United States and Canada, with about full text for half of them. Particularly useful for locating magazines dealing with popular culture, such as fashion, current events, home and garden, entertainment, consumer information, and sports.

Research Consultation at the Reference Desk

Research consultation with our librarians!

In-depth research consultations are available to current CSUF students for research assistance on a specific research assignment, topic, or thesis. This is especially helpful to graduate students as they are often required to do extensive research.

You can make an appointment HERE.

E-Learning Youtube
We have a wide variety of informational and how-to videos on everything from the services we offer to collection overviews to detailed explorations of some of our scholarly databases.
Free Software for Students
Numerous free software (Microsoft, Adobe, etc) for students to use for free.