Call Numbers
Start with the LIBRARY CATALOG
A call number is an identification number (consisting of characters and numbers), used to identify and locate materials within a library. Library of Congress Classification - Sciences
Call numbers for Biology area can start with:
- QH (Natural History, Biology)
- QK (Botany)
- QL (Zoology)
- QM (Human Anatomy)
- QP (Physiology)
- QR (Microbiology)
More... OneSearch playlist now on YouTube.
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology (Volumes)
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology (Vol. 2): The Proteobacteria Part B The Gammaproteobacteria
Includes a revised taxonomic outline for the Actinobacteria or the high G+C Gram positives is based upon the SILVA project as well as a description of greater than 200 genera in 49 families. Includes many medically and industrially important taxa.
ISBN: 9780387682334Publication Date: 2012-06-23
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology (Vol. 3): The Firmicutes
One of the most authoritative works in bacterial taxonomy, this resource has been extensively revised. This five volume second edition has been reorganized along phylogenetic lines to reflect the current state of prokaryotic taxonomy. In addition to the detailed treatments provided for all of the validly named and well-known species of prokaryotes, this edition includes new ecological information and more extensive introductory chapters.
ISBN: 0387684891Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology (Vol. 4): The bacteroidetes, spirochaetes, tenericutes (mollicutes), acidobacteria, fibrobacteres, fusobacteria, dictyoglomi, gemmatimonadetes, lentisphaerae, verrucomicrobia, chlamydiae, and planctomycetes
Includes a revised taxonomic outline for the phyla Bacteroidetes, Planctomycetes, Chlamydiae, Spirochetes, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Acidobacteria, Verrucomicrobia, Dictyoglomi, and Gemmatimonadetes based upon the SILVA project as well as a description of more than 153 genera in 29 families. Includes many medically important taxa.
ISBN: 0387685723Publication Date: 2011-02-04
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology (Vol. 5): The actinobacteria
Includes a revised taxonomic outline for the Actinobacteria or the high G+C Gram positives is based upon the SILVA project as well as a description of greater than 200 genera in 49 families. Includes many medically and industrially important taxa.
ISBN: 0387682333Publication Date: 2012-06-23
Interlibrary Loan
Current Cal State Fullerton students, faculty, and staff may borrow books, journal articles, and other library materials from partner lending libraries if the Pollak Library does not own a copy of a requested item.
All Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests are processed electronically through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Background Information
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Collection of 260+ Reference books; including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and books of quotations, includes resources in a wide range of fields.
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia by
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia is the perfect resource for information on the people, places, and events of yesterday and today. Students, teachers, and librarians can find fast facts combined with the quality and accuracy that have made Britannica the brand to trust. A tool for both the classroom and the library, no other desk reference can compare.
ISBN: 1281252786Publication Date: 2010-01-10
The Merck Manual (Medical/antibiotics information)
The Merck Manuals
(Full text of 5 medical manuals)