MLNG 301: Reference Sources

Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.

Collection of 260+ Reference books; including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and books of quotations, includes resources in a wide range of fields.

Database accessible via Fulcrum website. E-books in the humanities, including history, literature, religion, art history, women's studies, area studies, political science and philosophy. Historical periods include most parts of the world and most time periods.

Contains the non-fiction writings of over 1,000 major African American leaders, including teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other major figures from 1700 to the present. Includes full-text books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews. The material can be browsed by author, source, year, personal event, historical event, and subject.

Covers cultural anthropology and includes full-text materials on over 150 cultural, ethnic, religious, and national groups around the world. The database is specifically designed for cross-cultural research. Can search keyword and subjects to locate full-text books, articles, dissertations and field reports down to the level of the paragraph.

Now part of MUSIC ONLINE. An international database of traditional and historical music recordings from across the world which can be searched by country, cultural group, artist, instrument, genre, and more. Highlights of the collection are in folk, jazz, blues, bluegrass, and old time country music as well as musical traditions from Africa, the Americas, and Asia. For current music see the complementary database, 'Contemporary World Music.' It is possible to create individual playlists or course folders for entire classes.

Full-text detailed reports on controversial social, economic, political, educational, health, environmental, technology, and current topics. Each report includes an abstract, overview, background summary, current situation, outlook, special focus, chronology, pro/con, and bibliography.

Covers a wide range of controversial topics and results may include sources such as magazine, newspaper or journal articles, government documents, political position papers, public policy statements, legal and legislative materials, pamphlets, statistical data, biographies, court cases, and links websites.