Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Third Edition by
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Second Edition presents statistics in a readable, user-friendly manner for both graduate students and the professional nurse.
Welcoming LGBT Residents by
Welcoming LGBT Residents is the first comprehensive guide to working with LGBT older adults in senior living settings. The LGBT older adult population represents one of the fastest-growing subpopulations within our aging society. Despite the increasing demand for LGBT-affirming services there is an absence of training books for care providers. This dual-purpose text is appropriate for training and as a guide to answer questions that may come up during daily tasks. It is based on the most recent research and includes stories and testimonials from LGBT older adults and providers in the field. Chapters include: LGBT-inclusive intake and conversations; Gender identity and expression; Memory care and LGBT people; Navigating family dynamics; Addressing conflict between residents; Staff opinions, beliefs, and training. This timely book will be of interest to professional care providers, from long-term care nurses and assisted living administrators to staff in retirement communities, as well as students in gerontology, health care administration, and social work courses.
Big Data in Ehealthcare by
This book focuses on the different aspects of handling big data in healthcare. It showcases the current state-of-the-art technology used for storing health records and health data models. It also focuses on the research challenges in big data acquisition, storage, management and analysis.
Caring for the Vulnerable, Fifth Edition by
Within an expanding field of study in both undergraduate and graduate nursing curricula, Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research, Fifth Edition explores vulnerability from the perspective of individuals, groups, communities, and populations while addressing how vulnerability affects nurses, nursing, and nursing care. This new edition presents a basic structure for caring for the vulnerable with the ultimate goal of providing culturally competent care, and includes a fantastic Companion Website with learning tools and resources for students. Theoretical and research chapters progress towards others offering meaningful learning experiences for both nursing students and practitioners. Further, since nurses are the crucial link between those who are vulnerable and those with access to solutions, this text provides ideas for how nurses might advocate for the vulnerable on a policy level. Written specifically for nurses by nurses, Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research, Third Edition is a timely and necessary response to the culturally diverse, vulnerable populations for whom nurses must provide appropriate and precise care.
Family Practice Guidelines, Fourth Edition by
This bible of family practice for primary care students and clinicians provides current national practice guidelines for professional standards of care across the life span. Concise and clearly organized, the resource features detailed, step-by-step instructions for physical examinations and diagnostic testing in the outpatient setting, information on health promotion, care guidelines, dietary information, information on culturally responsive care, patient resources, and abundant patient education handouts. This fourth edition is updated to include new evidence-based guidelines for rheumatology, public health (featuring updated information on substance abuse, violence, obesity, homelessness, and lesbian health), the sports physical exam and interventions, endocrinology, new Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommendations for health maintenance, posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) assessment and management, restless legs syndrome, sexual dysfunction treatment, and psychiatric disorders. Several new and updated Patient Teaching Guides--with printable education points--add to the book's outstanding utility as a thorough and reliable clinical resource. Each of the 268 diagnoses includes defi nition, incidence, pathogenesis, predisposing factors, common complaints, signs/symptoms, subjective data, physical exam and diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis, and a care plan. New to the Fourth Edition: New and updated guidelines for: - Rheumatology: polymyalgia rheumatica, Sj gren's syndrome, psoriatic arthropathy, pseudogout (calcium pyrophosphate dihydrate), ankylosing spondolitis, reactive arthritis, Raynaud's syndrome - Public Health: substance abuse, violence, obesity, homelessness, lesbian health - Sports Exam: assessment and treatment - CDC recommendations: vaccine and cancer screening - Endocrinology: diabetes management and new Food and Drug Administration-approved medications - The latest ACC & AHA Guidelines for Hypertension (2017) - Neurology: PTSD and restless legs syndrome management - Sexual dysfunction - Bipolar and other behavioral health disorders New and updated Patient Teaching Guides Key Features: Presents information for 268 disorders in consistent format for ease of useHighlights key considerations with Practice PointersProvides individual care points for pediatric, pregnant, and geriatric patientsIncludes 138 printable Patient Teaching GuidesOffers 18 procedure guidelines and routine health maintenance guidelines
Weight Gain During Pregnancy by
As women of childbearing age have become heavier, the trade-off between maternal and child health created by variation in gestational weight gain has become more difficult to reconcile. Weight Gain During Pregnancy responds to the need for a reexamination of the 1990 Institute of Medicine guidelines for weight gain during pregnancy. It builds on the conceptual framework that underscored the 1990 weight gain guidelines and addresses the need to update them through a comprehensive review of the literature and independent analyses of existing databases. The book explores relationships between weight gain during pregnancy and a variety of factors (e.g., the mother's weight and height before pregnancy) and places this in the context of the health of the infant and the mother, presenting specific, updated target ranges for weight gain during pregnancy and guidelines for proper measurement. New features of this book include a specific range of recommended gain for obese women. Weight Gain During Pregnancy is intended to assist practitioners who care for women of childbearing age, policy makers, educators, researchers, and the pregnant women themselves to understand the role of gestational weight gain and to provide them with the tools needed to promote optimal pregnancy outcomes.
Ebersole and Hess' Toward Healthy Aging by
Ensure you thoroughly understand the intricate details of providing effective care for adults as they age. Ebersole & Hess'' Toward Healthy Aging, 10th Edition is the only comprehensive gerontological nursing text that effectively communicates how to provide holistic care, promote healthy lives, and address end-of-life issues and concerns. Grounded in the core competencies recommended by the AACN in collaboration with the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing, the tenth edition has been extensively revised and updated with shorter, more streamlined chapters and pedagogical features to facilitate learning. It covers the areas of safety and ethical considerations, genetics, communication with the patient and caregiver, promoting health in persons with conditions commonly occurring in later-life world-wide addressing loss and palliative care and much more. Special sections provide an honest look at the universal experience of aging and the nurse''s role in the reduction of health disparities and inequities as a member of the global community. Plus, it contains a variety of new learning features that focus on applying research and thinking critically in when providing care to aging adults across the care continuum. UPDATED COPD guidelines ensure you understand the latest information used by clinicians. UPDATED Theories of Aging chapter discusses the latest covers current findings on this timely issue. UPDATED Information on medication use and misuse instructs you in what to look for when working with prescription medications. UPDATED chapters incorporate the latest information on timely topics such as Palliative Care and Sleep. UPDATED Wound care guidelines reflect nationally recognized standards. UPDATED Information on LGBT family relationships and sexuality in older adults. A Student Speaks and An Elder Speaks sections at the beginning of every chapter provide honest and candid thoughts from students and elders. Learning objectives found at the beginning of every chapter help you to identify the primary take away messages they should learn from the chapter. Promoting Healthy Aging: Implications for Gerontological Nursing sections provide best practice guidelines for management and promotion of wellness for older adults with chronic illness and those at the end of life. Key concepts are bulleted at the end of every chapter to provide a quick review of the most important concepts found in the chapter. Nursing Studies provide practice examples designed to assist you in assessment, planning, interventions, and outcomes to promote healthy aging Critical Thinking Questions and Activities assist you in developing critical thinking skills related to chapter and nursing study content and include suggestions for in-classroom activities to enhance learning. Content consistent with the core competencies for geriatric nursing incorporates the Recommended Baccalaureate Competencies and Curricular Guidelines for the Nursing Care of Older Adults, the Geriatric Nursing Education State of the Science Papers, and the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing Best Practices in Nursing Care to Older Adults. The latest information on biological theories of aging and evolving genomic research covers current findings on these timely issues. Research Highlights Boxes highlight important research studies in the field of gerontology Research Questions found at the end of chapters gives you a chance to do further research outside of your book study to give you a better grasp of the field as a whole. Safety Alert Boxes emphasize important safety tips to consider while working in a clinical setting. Resources for Best Practice boxes contain suggestions for further information on various chapter topics and tools for practice. Tips for Best Practice boxes feature summarized lists of evidence-based nursing interventions for practice. Healthy People boxes reference the goals cited in Healthy People 2020. NEW! Additional coverage of frailty in older adults helps you to understand the precautions you need to take when working with this population. NEW! Increased information on Health Literacy assists you in learning the right terms to promote healthy aging. NEW! Added information on herbs/supplements includes essential oils and green tea.
Maternity and Women's Health Care by
Stay up-to-date with the latest in women's health! Maternity and Women's Health Care, 12th Edition provides evidence-based coverage of everything you need to know about caring for women of childbearing age. The new edition is thoroughly updated and consistent with the NCLEX® test plan, focusing on prioritization of care and how best to work among interprofessional teams. As in previous editions, this text emphasizes childbearing concerns like newborn care, wellness promotion and the management of women's health problems. The 12th edition integrates the continuum of care throughout, focusing on the importance of understanding family, culture, and community-based care along with new medication alerts, future trends in contraception, human trafficking, the zika virus, and more! Content on many high-risk conditions has been updated to reflect newly published guidelines. Expert authors of the market-leading maternity nursing textbook deliver the most accurate, up-to-date content. Clinical Reasoning Case Studies provide you with opportunities to critically analyze a client situation and utilize clinical reasoning skills to identify priorities in care." Community Activity boxes focus on maternal and new born activities that can be pursued in local community settings and online and illustrate nursing care in a variety of settings including assisting clients locating resources. Cultural Considerations stress the importance of considering the beliefs and health practices of clients and their families from various cultures when providing care. Emergency boxes provide information about various emergency situations and offer a quick reference in critical situations. Medication Guides provide key information about commonly used medications with specific nursing implications. Nursing Care Plans identify priority client problems and concerns along with appropriate interventions and rationale. Highlighted Safety alerts integrated within the content draw attention to developing competencies related to safe nursing practice. Signs of potential complications highlight vital concerns, alerting you to signs and symptoms of complications and the immediate interventions to provide. Teaching for Self-Management boxes highlight important information that you need to communicate to patients and families for follow-up care. Medication Alerts highlighted and integrated within the content alert you to critical drug information that must be considered to provide safe client care. NEW! Enhanced focus on prioritization of care in clinical reasoning case studies and nursing care plans is consistent with NCLEX® updates. NEW! Recognition of the importance of interprofessional care covers the roles of the various members of the interprofessional healthcare team. UPDATED! Content on many high-risk conditions updated to reflect newly published guidelines. NEW! Information about the Zika virus gives you the most current practice guidelines to help you provide quality care. NEW! Coverage of future trends in contraception help increase your awareness of developing ideas in pregnancy prevention. Content on gestational diabetes and breast cancer screening cover newly published guidelines. NEW! Added content on human trafficking provides you with examples and ideas on how to counsel victims and their families.
Evidence-Based Prac Nurs (Us Ed) by
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 4th Edition Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN, APRN-CNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN and Ellen Fineout-Overholt, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN Enhance your clinical decision-making capabilities and improve patient outcomes through evidence-based practice. Develop the skills and knowledge you need to make evidence-based practice (EBP) an integral part of your clinical decision-making and everyday nursing practice with this proven, approachable text. Written in a straightforward, conversational style, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare delivers real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter to help you confidently meet today's clinical challenges and ensure positive patient outcomes. NEW! Making Connections: An EBP Exemplar opens each unit, immersing you in an unfolding case study of EBP in real-life practice. NEW! Chapters reflect the most current implications of EBP on health policy and the context, content, and outcomes of implementing EBP competencies in clinical and academic settings. NEW! Learning objectives and EBP Terms to Learn at both the unit and chapter levels help you study efficiently and stay focused on essential concepts and vocabulary. Making EBP Real features continue to end each unit with real-world examples that demonstrate the principles of EBP applied. EBP Fast Facts reinforce key points at a glance. Clinical Scenarios clarify the EBP process and enhance your rapid appraisal capabilities.
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
The new edition of this highly successful book brings to its readership the fundamentals of evidence-based nursing practice in an easily digested format. Avoiding unnecessary jargon and using case studies and other practical examples to help demystify research and the process of applying research in clinical practice, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, 4th edition, will be essential reading for anyone interested in developing their skills in this area. Now published in full color throughout, and with accompanying online exercises, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, 4th edition, explains how to ask the right question, search the literature, evaluate - and safely apply - evidence from qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods studies including systematic reviews. The book also explains how to use evidence-based guidelines and use research evidence in making clinical decisions with individual patients. A concluding chapter explores the challenges of embedding an evidence-based culture within a healthcare institution. Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, 4th edition, will be ideal for all students on nursing programs undertaking relevant research and evidence based practice modules, nurses undertaking post-graduate study, and anyone returning to practice who needs to understand how evidence-based practice is shaping practice today. The book will also be invaluable to students of midwifery and other healthcare professions involved in similar areas of study. Helps students learn to read and understand research results as a foundation for evidence-based practice Easy writing style makes a potentially difficult subject accessible and enjoyable Explains how to search the literature and rank it according to the strength of its evidence Case studies, scenarios and exercises 'bring the subject to life' Clearly explains the process of critical appraisal - quality of the study, interpretation of the results, and applicability of the findings to individual patients Explains the various means of applying data from population studies to the individual Offers practical advice on how to communicate risks and benefits to patients Contains a glossary of useful terms New editorship brings an international dimension to the content Includes a new chapter on mixed methods studies Expanded discussion of the evaluation of qualitative systematic reviews Updated information on the implementation of guidelines and the current role of evidence in healthcare organisational policy Now published in full colour throughout
Critical Reasoning Cases in Nursing by
Hone your ability to make sound clinical nursing judgment via a conceptual approach to teaching and learning with Harding & Snyder's Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing, 7th Edition. This time-tested case study approach is highly regarded for its clinically relevant and thought-provoking cases. With each adoption, you'll be able to tap into 150 unique case studies covering all four clinical practice areas: medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric nursing, all newly organized to facilitate a conceptual approach to teaching and learning. Each case covers a common patient problem, drawn from actual clinical experiences and written by nurses who are clinical experts. Cases include integrated content on pharmacology, nutrition, and diagnostic/laboratory tests to encourage you to think critically about all aspects of patient care. The 7th edition features a new concept-based organization, an enhanced focus on interprofessional collaboration and QSEN, 20 all-new case studies, and updated content throughout to reflect the most current standards of clinical practice. Comprehensive assortment of 150 case studies draws from actual clinical experiences in medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric clinical areas to help you think critically, prioritize, and deliver proactive nursing care. Critical thinking approach helps you learn to identify changes, anticipate possible complications, and initiate therapeutic interventions. Progressive case complexity builds on previous learning to help you gradually develop more and more expertise. NEW & UNIQUE! Concept-based organization mirrors the growing use of concept-based curricula and conceptual approaches to teaching and learning in nursing education. NEW! 20 all-new cases and four extensively-revised cases that address important contemporary healthcare issues and allow for better coordination with Giddens, HESI, and other exemplar lists. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based clinical practice, including national and international treatment guidelines. NEW! Enhanced focus on interprofessional collaboration identifies opportunities for interprofessional collaboration are discussed. NEW! Greater consistency with the NCLEX Exam includes revisions like the elimination of most drug trade names and the inclusion of Canadian lab values. Enhanced QSEN safety emphasis is highlighted with a "target" icon to communicate "caution" or "safety." NEW! Increased emphasis on sepsis and antibiotic resistance throughout that addresses the growing problem of sepsis (a new Joint Commission "core measure") and antibiotic resistance where appropriate throughout. NEW! Improved answer spacing ensures that space left for answers reflects what is actually needed.
Essent Nursing Research 10e (us Ed) by
The world's most widely used nursing research textbook, Essentials of Nursing Research, Tenth Edition equips students with everything they need to confidently apply research to nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck clarify the language of nursing research and instill a practical understanding of nursing research fundamentals and the research process for both quantitative and qualitative studies -- including design principles; sampling and data collection; criteria for assessing data quality; appraising the quality, rigor, and trustworthiness of studies; and approaches to understand the statistical results. This updated edition incorporates the latest clinical insights and approaches to research to familiarize students with increasingly important considerations in today's nursing practice, including the involvement of patients and stakeholders in translating research evidence to local settings; the appraisal of not only the rigor of research designs and methods but also the relevance and applicability of practice-based evidence; and the effective use of research in local quality improvement (QI) projects. UPDATED! New organization simplifies the presentation of complex topics and better facilitates the use of research evidence in nursing practice. Clear, approachable writing makes difficult ideas easily digestible, even to students with no prior knowledge of technical terms. Critical Appraisal Guidelines walk students through studies and highlight aspects amenable to evaluation by research consumers. Research Examples and Critical Thinking Exercises emphasize important points and sharpen students' critical thinking skills. Tips help students confidently translate abstract notions of research methods into concrete applications. Colorful tables, figures, and examples engage students' attention and reinforce their understanding. Chapter Objectives emphasize essential information in each chapter. Key Terms familiarize students with common research terms. Bulleted Summary Points highlight key takeaways at a glance. Ensure a mastery of essential nursing skills and equip students for success throughout the nursing education continuum with the complete Essentials of Nursing Research, Tenth Edition solution: Lippincott® CoursePoint Study Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research, Tenth Edition
Public Health Nursing by
Ensure you have a solid understanding of community and public health nursing with this industry standard text! Public Health Nursing: Population-Centered Health Care in the Community, 10th Edition provides up-to-date information on issues such as infectious diseases, natural and man-made disasters, and healthcare policies affecting individuals, families, and communities. This new edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect current data, issues, trends and practices presented in an easy-to-understand, accessible format. Additionally, real-life scenarios show examples of health promotion and public health interventions. Ideal for BSN and Advanced Practice Nursing programs, this comprehensive, bestselling text will provide you with a greater understanding of public health nursing! Focus on Quality and Safety Education for Nurses boxes give examples of how quality and safety goals, knowledge, competencies and skills, and attitudes can be applied to nursing practice in the community. Healthy People boxes highlight goals and objectives for?promoting the nation's health and wellness over the next decade. Linking Content to Practice boxes provide examples of the nurse's role in caring for individuals, families, and populations in community health settings. Evidence-Based Practice boxes illustrate the use and application of the latest research findings in public/community health nursing. UNIQUE! Separate chapters on healthy cities, the Intervention Wheel, and nursing centers describe different approaches to community health initiatives. Levels of Prevention boxes identify specific nursing interventions at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels. End-of-chapter Practice Application scenarios, Key Points, and Clinical Decision-Making activities promote application and in-depth understanding of chapter content. UPDATED Content and figures reflect current data, issues, trends, and practices. How To boxes provide you with practical application practice. NEW! Check Your Practice boxes added throughout feature scenarios and discussion questions to promote active learning.
Bates' Nursing Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by
Master crucial skills in patient assessment with this nursing adaptation of Bates' gold standard resource. Adapted specifically for nursing students, this proven resource offers the time-perfected assessment techniques and vibrant visuals of the classic Bates' to help students develop and practice key skills in physical examination and history taking. Reflecting the most current research in the field, the Second Edition provides evidence-based coverage of key topics, including complete head-to-toe examination, normal vs. abnormal findings, electronic documentation, and considerations for assessment of older adults and children. Key Features: A clear two-column format covers examination techniques on the left and abnormalities and interpretations on the right to hone students' observation skills and clinical acumen. A vibrant full-color design includes over 1,400 drawings and photographs to clarify key concepts and techniques. NewConcept Mastery Alerts improve students' understanding of potentially confusing topics as identified by Lippincott's adaptive learning platform, powered by PrepU. Key culture and life span information is now highlighted throughout to make the information easier to locate. Recording Your Findingssections display samples of patient records to help students organize interview and physical examination information into an understandable documentation format. Tables of Abnormalities deepen student understanding of clinical conditions, what they should be looking for, and why they are asking certain questions. To further support students' learning, the Second Edition is available packaged with PrepU adaptive quizzing and DocuCare educational electronic health record software. This leading content is also incorporated into Lippincott CoursePoint+ , a dynamic learning solution that integrates this book's curriculum, adaptive learning tools, virtual simulations, real-time data reporting, and the latest evidence-based practice content together into one powerful student learning solution. Lippincott CoursePoint+ improves the nursing students' critical thinking and clinical reasoning skills to prepare them for practice.
Conceptual Foundations by
Get an in-depth look at the nursing profession! Conceptual Foundations: The Bridge to Professional Nursing Practice, 7th Edition gives you the foundation you need to prepare for becoming a professional nurse. Expert educator Elizabeth E. Friberg assembles the best minds of nursing for a unique in-depth look at the profession's major theories, practices, and principles. Complete with two new chapters, this seventh edition has been fully revised throughout with content that challenges you to think critically and conceptually. In addition, new Evolve resources means you can do more online than ever before! Case studies throughout the text provide you with opportunities to develop your analytical skills. Objectives at the beginning of each chapter provide a framework for study. Profile in Practice scenarios at the beginning of each chapter introduce real-life situations that accompany the professional behaviors covered in the text. Key points at the end of each chapter reinforce learning objectives and help you to focus on important information. Critical reflective exercises at the end of each chapter help you use and apply what you have learned. Chapter Introduction explains the approach and summary of the chapter content. Key terms presented in italics and definitions embedded in the text make it easier to understand. NEW! Two all-new chapters bring you the latest information on end of life/palliative care and resilience and compassionate care. NEW! Emphasis on professional role development includes focus within the Interdisciplinary team. NEW! Updated information about the Affordable Care Act includes coverage of the current legal and policy environment. NEW! Extensive revision of Pathways of Nursing Education chapter reflects current focus on Academic Progression
Contraceptive Technology 21st Edition by
Now in its 21st edition and updated for the first time in 7 years, this well-known text has been the leading family planning reference for over 30 years. At over 1000 pages, Contraceptive Technology covers the field:Every contraceptive method, including for women with medical conditionsThe thorniest of clinical dilemmas in understanding risks and managing side effectsEvery STD, including a synopsis of CDC's Sexually Transmitted Diseases Treatment GuidelinesA systematic approach to menstrual disorders and contraceptionInsights into assessing abnormal pregnancies and risk of ectopic pregnanciesNew digital resources in reproductive health care, for you and for your patientsFertility awareness-based methods, including patient instructions and new technologyApproaches to medication abortionSpecial considerations for teens, breastfeeding mothers, and menopausal women
Decision-Making in Nursing Thoughtful Approaches for Leadership by
Decision-Making in Nursing: Thoughtful Approaches for Leadership, Second Edition explores multiple decision-making approaches to enable nursing students and professionals to become insightful, critical, flexible, and confident decision makers in today's complex healthcare environment. With a reflective, multidimensional approach to decision-making, it examines the ways in which history, legal and ethical issues, spirituality, culture, family, the media, economics, technology, and health policy affect the way nurses make decisions.With a greater emphasis on leadership, teamwork, and intra- and inter- professional relationships, this new edition provides nurses and students the opportunity to see themselves as leaders and feel comfortable making decisions as leaders. Each chapter features vignettes using a nursing scenario to illustrate particular approaches in an actual practice setting. New to this edition is a chapter on using technology for decision-making. In addition, it has been revised to include the latest American Association of Colleges of Nursing Master's and Baccalaureate essentials, evidence to support the models used, and thoroughly updated references.
Gynecologic Health Care by
Gynecologic Health Care: With an Introduction to Prenatal and Postpartum Care continues to set the standard for evidence-based gynecologic health care and well-being in an extensively updated fourth edition. As in prior editions, the text presents gynecologic health care using a holistic and person-centered approach. Encompassing both health promotion and management of gynecologic conditions, it provides clinicians and students with a strong foundation in gynecologic care and the knowledge necessary to apply it in clinical practice. With an emphasis on the importance of respecting the normalcy of physiology, it is an essential reference for all midwives, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other clinicians who provide gynecologic health care.Written by award-winning clinicians and educators, Gynecologic Health Care covers the topics clinicians and students need to know. Additional chapters provide an overview of prenatal and postpartum care, including anatomic and physiologic adaptations of normal pregnancy and common complications of pregnancy. The Fourth Edition features three new chapters: racism and health disparities, male sexual and reproductive health, and preconception care.
Introduction to Critical Care Nursing by
Start here to master the concepts, technology, and procedures of critical care nursing! Introduction to Critical Care Nursing, 8th Edition prepares you to provide safe, effective, patient-centered care in a variety of high-acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. Evidence-based coverage includes realistic case studies and incorporates the latest advances in critical care. Disorders are conveniently organized by body system or special situation, and nursing management chapters include quick-reference nursing care plans. This clear, concise textbook will help you develop the knowledge and clinical reasoning skills needed for success in today''s highly complex critical care environments. Critical Reasoning Activities are included throughout the text, promoting development of clinical nursing judgment to help you prepare for the Next-Generation NCLEX-RN® Exam. Emphasis on QSEN competencies enables you to gain the knowledge, skills, and attitudes needed to provide safe, high-quality health care in a variety of high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. Evidence-Based Practice boxes illustrate how research evidence is used to address problems in patient care and includes nursing implications plus AACN''s new system for Levels of Evidence: A, B, C, D, E, and M. Universal Collaborative Plan of Care for the Critically Ill Patient addresses key aspects of collaborative/interprofessional care that apply to virtually all critically ill patients. Individual Plans of Care prepare you for clinical practice by describing patient problems, patient outcomes, and nursing assessments and interventions with rationales. Case studies challenge you to apply concepts to the real world, testing your clinical nursing judgment by asking questions about patient-specific cases with lab results. Clinical Alerts highlight potential problems and concerns to improve patient safety and clinical care. Laboratory Alerts emphasize the importance of laboratory test results to critical care nursing. Medication tables show the actions/usages, indications, dosages/routes, side effects, and nursing implications of medications commonly used in critical care settings. Coverage of cardiac assistive devices includes the ECMO device for extracorporeal life support, as well as other small, portable, bedside cardiac-assistive devices. Hemodynamic monitoring content now emphasizes the noninvasive methods of hemodynamic monitoring that are becoming more prominent. Coverage of infection control addresses the QSEN safety competency and helps provide patient protection against the growing threat of drug-resistant infections. Nearly 300 full-color photographs and drawings visually clarify key concepts and equipment for better understanding of today''s complex critical care environment. NEW! Study Break questions in multiple-choice format break up the chapters into easy-to-read content "chunks" and make it easy to check your understanding, with answers and rationales in the back of the book. NEW! Transplant Considerations boxes highlight essential information related to patient care in preparation for organ transplantation, managing complications, and preventing rejection; coverage of palliative care supports the text''s strong focus on end-of-life care; and the revised Organ Donation chapter focuses on a practical evaluation of dying patients for organ donation and preservation. UPDATED! Illustrations include photos of state-of-the art equipment to familiarize you with the modern, high-tech critical care environment. NEW! Emphasis on patient problems (in lieu of NANDA diagnoses) promotes interprofessional collaborative practice by using terms that are easily understood by various members of the healthcare team. NEW! Enhanced, application-level questions on the companion Evolve website emphasize prompt recognition of changing trends in patient parameters. UPDATED! Lifespan Considerations boxes now include information on older adults, addressing the "graying of our population," and pregnant women. UPDATED! Genetics boxes feature a new Genetic Concepts box.
Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Master the essential medical-surgical nursing content you''ll need for success on the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) and safe clinical practice! Medical-Surgical Nursing: Concepts for Interprofessional Collaborative Care, 10th Edition uses a conceptual approach to provide adult health knowledge and help you develop the clinical nursing judgment skills that today''s medical-surgical nurses need to deliver safe, effective care. "Iggy" emphasizes three emerging trends in nursing - interprofessional collaborative care, concept-based learning, and clinical judgment and systems thinking - trends that will ground you in how to think like a nurse and how to apply your knowledge in the classroom, simulation laboratory, and clinical settings. A perennial bestseller, "Iggy" also features NCLEX Exam-style Challenge and Mastery questions to prepare you for success on the NGN! Consistent use of interprofessional terminology promotes interprofessional collaboration through the use of a common healthcare language, instead of using isolated nursing-specific diagnostic language. UNIQUE! Enhanced conceptual approach to learning integrates nursing concepts and exemplars, providing a foundation in professional nursing concepts and health and illness concepts, and showing their application in each chapter. Unparalleled emphasis on clinical reasoning and clinical judgment helps you develop these vital skills when applying concepts to clinical situations. Emphasis on QSEN and patient safety focuses on safety and evidence-based practice with Nursing Safety Priority boxes, including Drug Alert, Critical Rescue, and Action Alert boxes. Direct, easy-to-read writing style features concise sentences and straightforward vocabulary. Emphasis on health promotion and community-based care reflects the reality that most adult health care takes place in environments outside of high-acuity (hospital) settings. NEW! Strengthened conceptual approach with data-driven Concept and Exemplar selections adds the concepts of pain, inflammation, and infection, and presents Exemplar disorders with a full nursing-process format and extra depth to help prepare you for the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN). NEW and UNIQUE! Enhanced focus on clinical judgment and systems thinking ensures alignment with the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and emphasizes the six cognitive skills you''ll need for effective clinical judgment, for the NGN, and for safe clinical practice. NEW and UNIQUE! Emphasis on NGN preparation includes chapter-opening Learning Outcomes and chapter-ending Get Ready for the NCLEX Examination! sections, plus NCLEX Examination Challenge questions and new chapter-ending Mastery Questions, with an answer key in the back of the book and on the companion Evolve website. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach to care views medical and nursing management through the lens of the nursing process and the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Model and aligns with the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice. NEW! Emphasis on need-to-know content provides a solid foundation for beginning nurse generalists, including only the most important patient problems for each medical condition, with streamlined chapters and concise coverage of nursing skills for preoperative and postoperative care. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international evidence-based guidelines and protocols. NEW! Improved learning resources on Evolve are thoroughly updated and closely integrated with the textbook. NEW! Interprofessional Collaboration boxes highlight how the nurse collaborates with other members of the healthcare team. NEW! Ethical/Legal Considerations boxes address dilemmas that medical-surgical nurses face related to technological changes and socioeconomic disparities. NEW! Increased emphasis on home care, health promotion, and community-based care reflects the ongoing shift of care from hospitals to the home environment. NEW! Updated illustrations include new anatomy and physiology images, procedure images, and disorder photos. NEW! Updated drug tables are designed for quick reference and the use of drug trade names is eliminated for better alignment with the NGN. NEW! Coverage of opioid use disorder is updated to reflect the opioid crisis in the U.S. NEW! Content on personal safety and preparedness for mass casualty events has been expanded to equip you for the realities of healthcare today. NEW! Key terms and definitions at the beginning of each chapter give you advance familiarity with essential terminology. NEW! Revised Key Points align closely with Learning Outcomes and each includes a QSEN or Clinical Nursing Concept "tag" to maximize your study efficiency.
Mosby's 2022 Nursing Drug Reference by
Trusted for over 30 years, this portable, full-color drug reference is easy to navigate and provides safety features that help you practice knowledgeable, safe medication dispensing. Content on more than 5,000 generic and brand-name drugs covers almost every drug you are likely to encounter in clinicals. Side effects information, logically organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, shows you the important and intricate signs to watch for during assessments. This guide also includes complete pharmacokinetic tables that explain the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as the action, duration, and excretion of the drug. Whether you're in the classroom or in clinicals, Mosby's 2022 Nursing Drug Reference, 35th Edition is the all-in-one drug reference you need. Content on more than 5,000 generic and brand-name drugs covers almost every drug you will encounter in clinicals. Safety Alert feature icon highlights the most critical interactions and side effects that you must be aware of during clinicals. Black Box Warning feature alerts you to FDA warnings of potentially life-threatening reactions. Bold heading and details on IV drug administration so students can easily find appropriate dosage and IV instructions to help them administer these drugs safely. Side effects information is logically organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, alerting students to the signs to watch for during assessments. Nursing Process Framework organizes all nursing care steps so students learn how to easily and completely incorporate the nursing process into their clinical experiences. Cross-reference headers in the book listings and in the appendicies make it easier to find the drug content quickly and less likely that students will think a drug is missing if it's not first found in the book. Complete pharmacokinetic tables explain the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as the action, duration, and excretion of the drug. NEW! Approximately 20 monographs on newly released, FDA-approved drugs give you the intricate details you need both in the classroom and clinicals. Each monograph includes new interactions, precautions, alerts, patient teaching instructions, and other need-to-know information - so you'll feel confident in the accuracy of the information and in preventing medication dispensing errors. NEW! Up-to-date content on drug therapies provides you with instant access to the latest information.
Nursing Research, by
Whether used to help students learn how to perform research or how to critically appraise research reports for use in practice, this authoritative, approachable textbook shows how nursing research is applicable across today's changing healthcare field. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck detail the latest methodologic innovations that have arisen in nursing, medicine, and the social sciences in their signature user-friendly style, accompanied by the helpful learning features, pedagogy, and clean design that have made this book a classic. The updated 11th Edition adds two new chapters designed to help students ensure the accuracy and effectiveness of research methods and the relevance and applicability of nursing inquiries. Extensively revised content throughout strengthens students' ability to locate and rank clinical evidence, verify the authoritativeness of systematic reviews, and distinguish interpretive approaches from aggregative approaches using meta-aggregation. NEW! Quality Improvement and Improvement Science chapter provides methods and frameworks to help students develop and assess improvement projects. NEW! Applicability, Generalizability, and Relevance: Toward Practice-Based Evidence chapter details cutting-edge strategies to meet the growing need for patient-centered, practice-based evidence. UPDATED! Revised content throughout reflects the latest methodologic approaches to ranking evidence, verifying systematic reviews, using meta-aggregation, and more. Critical appraisal guidelines help students focus on specific aspects of a report for the most effective appraisal. Clear, user-friendly writing style introduces concepts logically and clarifies difficult ideas. Specific research tips translate abstract notions into practical strategies to help students confidently apply chapter lessons in real-life situations. Research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate critical thinking. A comprehensive index provides fast, efficient access to precise information. Tables, figures, and bulleted summaries reinforce essential chapter concepts at a glance.
Primary Care of Women by
Primary Care of Women, Second Edition is an essential and easy-to use resource for healthcare providers who offer primary care to women. Ideal for new and experienced clinicians, it focuses on the need to address women's health holistically. Each chapter begins by discussing common symptoms and how to evaluate them before moving on to diagnosis and management of the most common conditions seen in women. Topics include prevention, screening, management of common health problems, and the presentation and management of common health issues in pregnancy.Completely updated and revised, the Second Edition includes new chapters on sleep disorders, dental health, and complementary and alternative medicine. Also included is an increased focus on topics such as mental health and violence.
Study Guide for Wong's Essentials of Pediatric Nursing by
Updated to correspond to the bestselling textbook, the Study Guide for Wong's Essentials of Pediatric Nursing, 11th Edition features key terms, multiple-choice questions, case studies, and critical thinking exercises to help you learn difficult concepts. With practical activities and answers for review questions at the back of the guide, it enhances your comprehension - and helps you to apply your knowledge to real-world scenarios. Key term mastery exercises include matching and fill-in-the-blank questions to give students the opportunity to test their ability to define all key terms highlighted in the corresponding textbook chapter. Concept and content review exercises include matching, fill-in-the-blank, true-false, short answer, and multiple choice to help students test their understanding upon completion of reading the chapter. Critical-thinking activities include case-based exercises that require students to apply the concepts found in the chapters to solve problems, make decisions concerning care management, and provide responses to patient questions and concerns. Perforated pages offer flexibility and ease of use. Answers for review questions and learning activities are provided at the end of the book. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX®-style case studies and questions UPDATED! Extensively updated content and revised organization matches the format and newly added information housed in the 11th edition textbook to provide a seamless comprehensive review of essential pediatric nursing concepts and skills. NEW! Expanded coverage of pediatric cancer corresponds to a new chapter on pediatric cancer that's featured in the main text.
Varcarolis' Foundations of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by
Prepare for psychiatric nursing care with this comprehensive, evidence-based text! Varcarolis' Foundations of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: A Clinical Approach, 9th Edition makes it easy to understand the complexities of psychiatric disorders and how to provide quality mental and behavioral health care. Clinical chapters follow the nursing process framework and progress from theory to application, preparing you for practice with real-world examples. Other notable features include illustrated explanations of the neurobiology of disorders, DSM-5 criteria for major disorders, and nursing care plans. From clinical nurse specialist and lead author Dr. Margaret Jordan Halter, this bestselling text includes new Next Generation NCLEX® content to prepare you for success on your PMHN certification exam. Case Study and Nursing Care Plan boxes include real-life vignettes of patients with specific psychiatric disorders. Evidence-Based Practice boxes describe recent research studies and how their findings affect nursing practice. Six-step nursing process is followed in clinical chapters, providing consistent guidelines for comprehensive assessment and intervention. Learning features include key terms and concepts, key points to remember, critical thinking, and chapter reviews. Conversational, mentor-like writing style reinforces important information and helps in applying textbook content to the clinical setting. Coverage of therapeutic communication techniques and nontherapeutic communication provides tips to help you build patient interaction skills. Assessment Guidelines summarize the steps of patient assessment for various disorders. Considering Culture boxes discuss the importance of person-centered care in providing competent care to diverse populations in various clinical situations. Patient and Family Teaching boxesfocus on the nurse's role in helping patients and families understand psychiatric disorders, treatments, complications, and medication side effects. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) case studies and questions are provided at the end of each clinical chapter to support critical thinking and prepare you for your state board examination. NEW! Updated screening tools and rating scales make it easier to quantify symptoms and assess the severity of a disorder. NEW! Advanced practice treatment modalities are addressed separately from the nursing process in the categories of biological interventions (e.g., pharmacotherapy and brain stimulation therapies) and psychological therapies (e.g., cognitive-behavioral therapy and interpersonal therapy). NEW! Emphasis on adverse childhood experiences, trauma, and trauma-informed care addresses the near-universal experience of trauma in individuals with psychiatric disorders and conditions. NEW! Order of clinical chapters mirrors that of the DSM-5, and many of the major disorders are accompanied by specific DSM-5 diagnostic criteria. NEW! Health Policy boxes are updated to describe current legislation related to mental health. NEW! The International Classification for Nursing Practice (ICNP), from the International Council of Nurses (ICN), provides straightforward nursing diagnoses that are easily translatable across settings and disciplines.
Varney's Midwifery by
Awarded Second Place in the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Maternal - Child Health/Prenatal Nursing/Childbirth and Third Place in Adult Primary Care!Varney's Midwifery, Sixth Edition is the gold standard for midwifery practice. Completely updated and revised, this text reflects current evidence-based guidelines. The Sixth Edition addresses care of women throughout the lifespan, including primary care, gynecology, maternity care in a variety of settings, and newborn care. It also provides new content on social determinants of health, the changing face of the population, and the population that midwives serve.With chapters written by expert midwives with an emphasis on anatomy, physiology, and normal physiologic processes, this text will assist students and midwives in providing healthcare services today. Chapter appendices present essential skills that are designed to help students, midwives, and international readers learn skills that are core components of midwifery practice. These critical skills are evidence-based and include insertion of contraceptive devices, hand maneuvers for birth, management of a fetus in a breech presentation, and steps for managing postpartum hemorrhage."Varney's Midwifery is a primary textbook used in midwifery education. The voices of authors from practices across the nation allow for a robust presentation of evidence-based midwifery. As society changes, and midwifery evolves, so does this textbook evolve, especially as illustrated by new content. This edition includes information that will enable midwives to provide evidence-based care within the context of shared decision making." - Editors Tekoa L. King, Mary C. Brucker, Kathryn Osborne, and Cecilia M. Jevitt
Williams Obstetrics 26e by
The landmark text that has served generations of obstetrician-gynecologists--fully updated with the most current perspectives of the field Williams Obstetrics has defined the discipline for generations of obstetrician-gynecologists. Written by authors from the nationally renowned University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Parkland Hospital, the new edition of this authoritative, evidence-based work maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current information and insights. The culmination of a century of clinical thought, Williams Obstetrics, 26th Edition delivers expert coverage of obstetrical complications, such as preterm labor, pregnancy-related hypertension, infection, and hemorrhage. It additionally offers foundational content on reproductive anatomy, physiology, and prenatal care. The authors have enhanced this edition with 1,000+ full-color illustrations, plus an increased emphasis on the fast-growing subspecialty of Maternal-Fetal Medicine. No other text matches the long-established scientific rigor and accessibility of Williams Obstetrics. With its state-of-the-art design and review of the newest advances and protocols, this not-be-missed clinical companion brings positive outcomes within reach. New and updated content includes: Increased focus on Maternal-Fetal Medicine Greater coverage of hypertension and hemorrhage Deeper insights into in-utero complications Expanded fetal t section includes cutting-edge fetal imaging, genetics, prenatal diagnosis, and fetal disorders and therapy Basic science, physiology of labor, preterm labor updated with contemporaneous publications in the literature More obstetrical sonography figures Eye-catching illustrations, including updated graphs, sonograms, MRIs, photographs, and photomicrographs