LibGuides: Chemistry 306A: Safety & Other Resources

Print Resources

The Merck Index The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of key physical, pharmacological and historical information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It includes substance monographs, named reactions, and reference tables.
Call Number: At the Research Center (Library North 1)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is the largest comprehensive physical science data source available anywhere. Handbook features include: Chemical names, structures, property names, property units as well as chemical and laboratory safety information. It contains chemical and physical data critical for fields such as environmental science, bio-medical chemistry, organic and inorganic chemistry, materials innovation, geo- and astrophysics, and solid-state science.
Call Number: At the Reserach Center (Library North 1)

PubChem
PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
Safety Data Sheets (SDS) or Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
Safety Data Sheets provide a summary of information on a given chemical identifying material, health, and physical hazards, exposure limits, and precautions.
more...less...
Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Hazard Communication Standard (HCS) requires an DSS with specific information be prepared for each hazardous chemical. DSS are created by the manufacturer of a material and are often written for non-hazardous chemicals as well as hazardous chemicals. Search by common name, manufacturer, ingredient name, CAS number, or synonym. Please note: Off campus access is not available.

ChemSpider ChemSpider is a free online service providing a structure centric community for chemists. Providing access to almost 21.5 million unique chemical entities sourced from over 200 different data sources and integration to a multitude of other online services, ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information.
Wolfram Alpha-Chemistry A natural language computational engine that can provide results from identified reference sources on a variety of questions. The engine excels in complex computations. This page links to the Chemistry examples.
Common chemistry Common Chemistry™ from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,800 chemicals of widespread general public interest. CAS has collaborated with Wikipedia in developing this resource and encourages you to use the Wikipedia link (when available) or other sources of general information on chemistry, to learn more about these chemicals.
CompTox Chemicals Dashboard The CompTox Chemicals Dashboard is a part of a suite of databases and web applications developed by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). These databases and apps support EPA's research efforts to develop and apply new approach methods (NAMs). EPA researchers integrate advances in biology, bioinformatics, biotechnology, chemistry, and computer science to identify important biological processes that may be disrupted by chemicals.