Anthropology Division: Cultural Anthropology

Covers cultural anthropology and includes full-text materials on over 150 cultural, ethnic, religious, and national groups around the world. The database is specifically designed for cross-cultural research. Can search keyword and subjects to locate full-text books, articles, dissertations and field reports down to the level of the paragraph.

This collection of streaming video provides access to hundreds of classic and contemporary documentaries useful in the study of anthropology, ethnography and social psychology. The videos are global in scope, with footage from every continent and material relevant to hundreds of cultures. In addition to published content, Ethnographic Video online includes unpublished footage from archives or the personal collections of anthropologists and others.

Need to find articles from over 600 journals covering various broad subjects in the humanities including archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, linguistics, philosophy, religion, and world literature? Try this!

Searches a wide range of social science issues and topics found in scholarly journals.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilsons International Index is also included. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.

This EBSCO database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations. CLIO Notes provides chronologies and hundreds of brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.

Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Useful in the fields of history, multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, women's studies, religion, interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, education, music & art, law. It indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. For the history of the U.S. and Canada, see 'America: History and Life' database.

Available via EBSCO. Art-related topics found in journals and magazine articles, many full text. Coverage includes English and foreign language journals. Can search for specific art reproductions.

Art Index is available via EBSCO with historical coverage of the literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Includes resources from 600+ journals. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.

Database available via ARTstor. Digital images of works of art with accompanying information including size and ownership. Includes over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, and the humanities. Technical requirements http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-html/requirements.shtml NOTE 1: Pop-up blocking software must be disabled. NOTE 2: Requires Flash 6 or higher.

Art resources from journals, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews covering all forms of modern and contemporary art.

Includes Grove Art Online, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Provides artist biographies, thematic timelines, over 40,000 image links. Limited to 25 simultaneous CSU system-wide users.

Now part of MUSIC ONLINE. Music research of all the world's peoples with regional overviews explaining musical heritage, traditions, themes and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Also contains illustrations and sound recordings.

This music encyclopedia includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Grove Dictionary of American Music, Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. It is recommended to students of all levels as a beginning point for research.

Indexes the literature of the performing arts. It contains journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre, dance and performance in 126 countries.

Food Studies Online provides archival content, visual ephemera, books, articles, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. It supports interdisciplinary inquiry into the role of food and food systems in shaping culture, economics, business, politics, and the process of globalization. This resource contains primary sources from the National Archives, including government documents, posters, recipes, cookbooks, and marketing pamphlets, as well as access to the Food Ephemera Collection, which contains 5,000 pages of material from the turn of the century through the 1960s on food campaigns. Videos include documentaries, interview series, and vintage commercials. To help discover materials, use the primary search box, or browse by title, subject, publisher, or collection.

Contains newspaper, magazine, journal, and book articles, books, government documents, pamphlets, and dissertations about Mexican-Americans, Chicanos, and Latinos. Subject areas covered: art, bilingual education, culture, economics, education, film, folklore, health, history, labor, law, literature, mental health, music, politics, psychology, public policy, religion, sociology, women's studies, and more. Languages: English; some Spanish.

Available via EBSCO. This database is indexes journal articles, monographs, book chapters, conference proceedings, and anthologies on East, Southeast & South Asia published worldwide. Emphasis is on the Humanities and Social Sciences including Anthropology, Arts, Biography, Communications & Media, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Library & Information Sciences, Philosophy & Religion, Politics & Government, Psychology & Psychiatry, Science & Technology, and Sociology.

Indexes scholarly journal articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics, Latinos and Chicanos in the United States. Topics include Anthropology; Archaeology; Ethnology; Art; Economics and Business; Geography; Government and Politics; International Relations; Literature; Music; Philosophy; and Sociology. Languages: Spanish and Portuguese.

Provides full-text scholarly journal articles in the social sciences and humanities for Latin American Studies, the Caribbean Basin, and Hispanics, Latinos and Chicanos in the United States. Subject areas include Anthropology, Business and Economics, History, Literature, Political Science and Sociology. Offers key titles indexed HAPI Online. Languages: Spanish, English and Portuguese.

Sociological database that leads to journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings and more.

Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings on Latin America and the Caribbean. The multidisciplinary Handbook, edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress Coverage includes: Anthropology; Archaeology; Ethnology; Art; Economics; Electronic Resources (beginning in 1995); Geography; Government and Politics; International Relations; Literature; Music; Philosophy; and Sociology. Primary Languages: Spanish, English, and Portuguese.

Contains biographical information on indigenous peoples from North America. Included are biographies, autobiographies, oral histories. photographs, and reference works covering historical and contemporary Native Americans or Canadian First Peoples.