Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Business: Country Profiles

Subject guide for International Business

Country Profiles Databases

Databases that provide descriptions, statistics, and/or directory information about countries around the world.

Country Profiles Books

useful books and e-books available through the Pollak Library that provide information on the government, culture, society, and/or economy of nations around the world.

Kiss, Bow, Or Shake Hands

An essential guide to worldwide business etiquette. Kept at the reference desk. Ask the librarian for assistance.

Culturegrams

A guide to the customs, cultures, and etiquette of countries around the world. Found in the reference collection at GT150 .C85

Countries and Their Cultures

A guide to the cultures of the thousands of ethnic groups found in countries all over the world. Available in the reference stacks at GN307 .C68 2001 or as a ebook at the listed URL

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations

An e-book that provides profiles of a countries' culture, society, economy, and government.

Country Profiles Websites

These freely available web sites provide information on countries' goverments, societies, cultures, and economies.

Reports from the U.S. Department of Commerce on doing business in foreign countries. These reports are updated annually and include a section on business culture in the "Business Travel" chapter.

FedEx International Resource Center: Country Profiles

A free website from FedEx that provides trade information for over 40 countries. Data includes import/export regulations, Trade agreements and treaties, regulatory contracts, and a basic country profile.

CIA World Factbook

Profiles of nations with a heavy emphasis on statistical data.

European Union Official Web Site

A wealth of information about the EU and its member countries.

Librarian