HIST 402A & B (Dr. Brown-Coronel): Other Primary Sources

The CDNC project by U.C. Riverside has a growing collection of historical California newspapers published from 1846 - present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. All included newspapers published before January 1, 1930 are in the public domain and have no restrictions on use. Browse county, date, or newspaper title.

The Whittier Historical Newspaper Collection, accessible via the link below, consists of digitized issues of the Whittier Graphic, Whittier Register, Whittier News, Whittier District News, and the Whittier Daily News, dating from February, 1888 to February, 1956.

Two of the earliest Whittier City Directories have been digitized and are keyword searchable here.

The library’s collection of Whittier City Directories spans 1903 to 1977 and is organized alphabetically by occupant. Starting in the edition of 1920-1921, the books include a reverse address feature in which addresses are organized by street as well. These are stored in the Whittier History Room and are for in-library use only.

Ancestry has digitized city directories for Whittier (1920 - 1977) and Montebello (1948 - 1952). Ancestry Library Edition, available at many public libraries, includes this collection.

Calisphere includes digitized primary sources from the University of California campuses, as well as other libraries and archives from throughout California. Only some of the digitized items reside in the public domain. You need to consult the Rights Information on each item record to determine if the item is in the public domain, or if you need to contact the contributing institution for usage information.

DPLA provides a discovery layer to find digitized primary sources from libraries, archives, and cultural heritage institutions throughout the U.S. It includes a mix of public domain and Creative Commons licensed works, as well as works fully restricted by copyright. Check the Rights Information on each item record to confirm copyright status. Use the "How Can I Use It?" section of search filters to limit your searches to just works licensed by Creative Commons or in the public domain.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of digitized publications from libraries and archives around the world. Works designated as "Full View" to the public are open access works in the public domain. Access to publications still under copyright are designated as "Limited (Search Only)" and can only be viewed by cardholders with certain libraries.