Finding Articles
These databases are an excellent place to begin looking for academic journal, newspaper, and magazine articles.
Using Our OneSearch Discovery Tool
OneSearch is the Pollak Library's discovery tool that allows you to search many, but not all, of our research databases at the same time. Think of it as a mega database. Because OneSearch indexes and searches across many of our databases, it is an excellent tool to use when starting a new research project.
Learning Activities
Pollak Library & OneSearch Tutorial 
Take this interactive tutorial to learn about navigating the Library's homepage and using the OneSearch tool to locate articles, books, and more!
OneSearch in One Minute (1:01) 
Watch this Pollak Library video to learn how to use OneSearch in just sixty seconds!
Journal Articles
- Academic Search Premier
General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research. - OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database covering applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, business and technology.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
If you have problems connecting, go to the main Google Scholar page (https://scholar.google.com/) where you will find a link to Settings. Once you click on it, you'll be taken to a page with "Library Links" on the left side. Search for Fullerton or "California State University Fullerton" and once you check the box next to "California State University Fullerton - Pollak Library FindIt!" you'll see the links appear.
Note - if we have it electronically, a link will appear on the right. If we have it in print, you'll have to click on "More" under the article to get the FindIt! link.
Magazine & Journal Databases
- Readers Guide Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 400 of the most popular magazines and journals published in the United States and Canada, with about full text for half of them. Particularly useful for locating magazines dealing with popular culture, such as fashion, current events, home and garden, entertainment, consumer information, and sports.
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of controversial topics and results may include sources such as magazine, newspaper or journal articles, government documents, political position papers, public policy statements, legal and legislative materials, pamphlets, statistical data, biographies, court cases, and links websites.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from underrepresented and independent presses. This database includes publications that highlight diverse cultural perspectives, social issues, and community voices. Content is available in both English and Spanish and features a timeline of key historical events.
Newspaper Databases
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProvides access to many major U.S. and international newspapers, including local titles (LA Times, Orange County Register) and national titles.
- Los Angeles Times: 1996-present This link opens in a new window Provides full-text (HTML text, not PDF) of the 'Los Angeles Times' newspaper. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, and other means. Provides a Topic Guide of subjects, and has a Search Alert service. No images (charts, graphs, photos) are included.
- New York Times - 1996-present This link opens in a new window Provides full-text (HTML text, not PDF) of the 'New York Times' newspaper. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, and other means. Provides a Topic Guide of subjects, and has a Search Alert service.
- Wall Street Journal 1984-present This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of all articles published in the Wall Street Journal from 1984-today.
The Orange Magnifying Glass on Pollak Library Database Lists
What does that orange magnifying glass icon mean?
When you see that icon in a database description it means that materials from that database can also be found by searching in the Pollak Library's OneSearch discovery tool.
Research Tip: When reviewing a list of databases, such as General Research databases, not the databases that DO NOT display the orange magnifying glass. You will want to click on each of those databases to individually search within them since they are not indexed by OneSearch.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service offered by the library, which we use to borrow books from other libraries on your behalf. This is a great way to get access to books or articles which we do not have in our collection!
These requests can sometimes take up to a few days to process, so submit your request early if you need them for an upcoming assignment. Once your request arrives, you will receive an email notification.
The following links can help you to submit, check on, and access your interlibrary loan requests:
- Interlibrary LoanInstructions on how to use our Interlibrary Loan service
- Interlibrary Loan PoliciesPolicies for Interlibrary Loan borrowing
Finding the Full Text
When you have found an article you would like to read, use the appropriate way below to find the full text.
- If you are searching in OneSearch, click on
to get to the full text.
to get to the full text.
- If you are searching in a database, click on
to get the full text.
to get the full text.If the full text is not available in any of our databases, you will be prompted to order the article as an interlibrary loan