Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Archive of California
OAC provides free public access to descriptions of primary collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions throughout California.
More than 200,000 digitized items including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, art, diaries, oral histories, advertising.
Descriptions of archival collections held by libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.
More Online Resources
Smithsonian Digital Collections
The Smithsonian's collections represent our nation's rich heritage, art from across the globe, and the immense diversity of the natural and cultural world.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form providing free access to materials.
End of Term Archive
Contains federal government websites in the Legislative, Executive, or Judicial branches at risk of changing (i.e., whitehouse.gov) or disappearing during government transitions.
California State Archives
The California State Library is the state's information hub, preserving California's cultural heritage. Online catalog available.
Famous Trials of the 20th Century
This resource provides primary sources and other materials concerning some of the 20th Century's key trials.
Angel Island Immigration Station Foundation
AIISF has created an online repository of stories entitled “Immigrant Voices" preserving first hand accounts of immigration to the U.S.
Excerpts from Slave Narratives
Direct testimony in the words of ex-slaves collected from the late 18th century to the 1930s. Edited by Steven Mintz, Univ. of Houston.
Index of Native American Resources
Approximately 5,000 links in 31 categories. Especially strong on Native American art and on contemporary political and commercial issues.
Harper's Weekly Reports on Black America, 1857-1874
Contains illustrations, cartoons, editorials, news stories, advertisements, and poems.
PBS Dust Bowl Collection
Dust Bowl historical photographs, biographies, videos and more.
South Asian American Digital Archive
Digital archive of diverse stories of South Asian Americans. Includes those from Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and more.
Las Vegas Age - Digital Newspaper Collection
Full digital images of the Las Vegas Age digitized from the Special Collections of the Las Vegas-Clark County Library District.
American Presidency Project
UC Santa Barbara's open access collection includes documents from Messages & Papers of the Presidents, The Public Papers of the Presidents, and materials provided by the White House media office, GPO, and NARA.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Online primary sources covering the Slavery & Abolition Era, Civil War & Reconstruction Era, Jim Crow Era, the New Deal & WWII, Civil Rights & Black Power Movements, and more.
Sound recordings, photographs, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience, hosted by the Library of Congress.
National Archives World War II Records
National Archives digital collection of WWII records, including finding aids.
September 11, 2001, Documentary Project
Captures eyewitness accounts and diverse opinions following the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center, the Pentagon, and United Flight 93.
LOC Prints & Photographs Catalog
Search all the images in the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs division.
Compilation of 100 milestone U.S. documents by the National Archives and Records Administration. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
From Slavery to Freedom: African-American Pamphlet Collection
Presents 396 pamphlets published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others.
National World War II Museum
Features immersive exhibits and an expansive collection of artifacts and first-person oral histories.
Regional Oral History Online
UC Berkeley repository containing carefully researched, audio/video-recorded oral histories and historical materials.
New York Public Library
Over 700k items digitized with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Chicago Public Library
Keyword searchable digital collection including the Chicago Tribune, historical photographs, and more!
Boston Public Library
BPL links to online collections, government documents, historical newspapers, and special collections material.
Massachusetts Public Library
List of resources including historical records and maps, works of art and culture, JFK material, diaries and local history.
Yale University Library
300,000 images. The Advanced Search screen lets you search all collections, or limit to one or a few.
University of Washington Libraries
Search all the digital collections of the U. of Washington. Particularly useful for Northwest history.
USC Digital Library
Digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, and more.