LibGuides: English 500 Research Guide: Journals

Modern Language Association (MLA)

Pollak Library Databases for English and Comparative Literature & All Pollak Library Databases

***
MLA Directory of Periodicals
MLA Style
Advice to Authors, Reviewers, Editors, and Publishers of Literary Scholarship

***


Research as inquiry
Scholarship as conversation
Searching as strategic exploration
Information creation as a process
Authority is constructed and contextual

Search Strategy & Technique

Be elastic & be specific. Both are necessary. Research is a fluid, creative and elastic process. For example, you can narrow down your topic when it is too broad or when you find too much information. Using specific words can make your search results more precise. You can expand, refine, and revise your search words when you do not find enough information or the right information. Always, pay attention to new keywords and subject words that you will discover in the book or article citation/description. Add them to your notes. You may be surprised that your essay will miraculously grow from your words, thoughts, and notes over time.

The following techniques will help you create more effective search statements in computerized database searching.

AND -- To narrow down/refine a topic by combining keywords

Transylvania AND Victorian England
Vampires AND folklore
OR -- Nested search to include synonyms or related words

(phobia OR fear)

(xenophobia OR nationalism)

(bloodline OR kin OR kinship OR heredity)

English-Irish or Anglo-Irish

(gothic OR horror)
NOT--Use not to exclude a keyword

Victorian marriage NOT "Jane Eyre"
" " -- Use double quotes to search topic as a phrase

"epistolary novels"
"queer theory"
* -- Use the asterisk (also called wildcard) to truncate words so you can retrieve letters after the word stem

orient* -> orient, oriental, orientalism
sex* -> sexes, sexual, sexuality

Literary & Multidisciplinary Databases

MLA International Bibliography
Provides indexing to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats on all national literatures, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Literature Criticism
Available via Gale. Brings together a range of modern and historical views on authors and their literary works in full-text from scholarly and popular books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers. The database incorporates ten of the print Gale Literature Criticism series and makes them searchable by literary author, title of the literary work, and topic. Covers literature from classical to contemporary times.
Literature Resource Center
Available via Gale. This extensive database contains author biographies, overviews of frequently studied literary works, full-text poems, short stories, and plays, literary criticism, web sites, and definitions of literary terms, movements and themes. Can search for authors who share characteristics such as genre, time period, themes, nationality, ethnicity and gender.
JSTOR
A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Project MUSE
This interdisciplinary journal collection provides full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals. It is particularly strong in the humanities disciplines, such as literature, history, and area studies (Africa, Asia, Latin America and Europe), but also has content from the sciences and the social sciences.
Humanities Full Text
Need to find articles from over 600 journals covering various broad subjects in the humanities including archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, linguistics, philosophy, religion, and world literature? Try this!
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective:1907-1984
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilsons International Index is also included. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Oxford Journals
Provides access to over 200 of the academic and research journals of Oxford University Press, encompassing the science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts, and social science disciplines.
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Useful in the fields of history, multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, women's studies, religion, interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, education, music & art, law. It indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. For the history of the U.S. and Canada, see 'America: History and Life' database.
America: History and Life
This EBSCO database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations. CLIO Notes provides chronologies and hundreds of brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.
Women's Studies International
Indexes women's studies and feminist-related journals, newspapers, newsletters, books and reports in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
GenderWatch

Need to find full text newspaper, magazine, reports, and journal articles relating to the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, arts, literature, health sciences, political science, sociology and much more? Try GenderWatch!
Communication Source
Communication Source is the most complete full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.

Science Medicine Religion Philosophy Psychology

ATLA Religion Database
Available via EBSCO. Compiled by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. This database is an essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities. With coverage dating as far back as 1949, this database contains over one million bibliographic records.
Philosophers Index
Indexes scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Coverage from journal articles, books, book chapters and book reviews from 1940-present. Updated quarterly.
APA PsycINFO
Available via EBSCO. The American Psychological Associations (APA) notable database for locating abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This resource is the largest of its kind dedicated to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and it also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Material is drawn from over 2,000 periodicals in more than 20 languages.
ScienceDirect

Science Direct provides access to over 2500 scientific scholarly journals in the areas of biochemistry, biological sciences, business and management science, chemistry, clinical medicine, earth sciences, economics, engineering and technology, environmental science, materials science, mathematics and computer science, microbiology and immunology, neurosciences, pharmacology and toxicology, physics, social sciences and more. Many articles are in full-text.
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, is a comprehensive research tool for nursing, allied health, public health, biomedicine, and related fields. It provides indexing for articles from 5,400 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health. This database provides full text access to more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.
Science
Includes access to 'Science Magazine,' a source for full-text peer-reviewed general-science articles, scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. With full text of the journal's news stories, research reports, and commentary articles in a searchable database, enhanced by additional information, links, multimedia, and user services, as well as a database of scientific-product information.
Nature
Nature Publishing Group (NPG) combines Nature, Nature Research Journals, Nature Reviews Journals, NPG Academic Journals and NPG Reference publications, to provide a major information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences.

English 500 Research Guide: Journals

Modern Language Association (MLA)

Search Strategy & Technique

Literary & Multidisciplinary Databases

Science Medicine Religion Philosophy Psychology

Research - Databases

Web Accessibility