LibGuides: History: GIS &amp; Maps

Maps at Pollak Library

The Roy V. Boswell Collection for the History of Cartography
Located in Special Collections at Pollak Library

The Boswell Collection consists of about 1,700 maps that represent the entire range of map production in the Western world from the earliest available up to 1901 (defining "early" by this terminal date). It is a diverse assemblage with all kinds of physical characteristics, subjects, and purposes. View catalog records for individual items in the Boswell Collection.

Visit University Archives and Special Collections
The Boswell Collection is located in Special Collections, which operates as a closed stacks and controlled rare book reading room. Anyone may visit and use the collections. Finding aids are also available on the UA & SC page.
University Archives & Special Collections ResearchGuide

Maps!

U.S. Geological Survey Library Catalog
Authorized by Congress in 1879, the U.S Geological Survey Library is recognized as one of the world’s largest Earth and natural science libraries. Search the USGS library for government publications, maps, digital books, aerial photographs, reports, and more. For print format inquiries, please contact your nearest USGS library location about on-site resource availability or request through Interlibrary Loan. Please note that requests placed through the USGS Interlibrary Loan system will be fulfilled through USGS directly. To place an ILL request through CSUF, please use Pollak Library’s ILL Portal. Ask a librarian for assistance placing ILL requests.
Map Collections from the University of Texas at Arlington
With more than 5,000 maps depicting all parts of the world, the collection emphasizes the Gulf Coast region and the greater Southwest. It includes maps dating from 1493 to the present and features noted cartographers.
New York Public- Map Warper
The NYPL Map Warper is a tool for digitally aligning ("rectifying") historical maps from the NYPL's collections to match today's precise maps. Visitors can browse already rectified maps.

California - Statewide

California Geological Survey - Geologic Maps

Resources include an Electronic Map Library, Wall Map Closet, Flight Movies, Mapping Resources, and more.

Statewide Redistricting Database (SWDB)

On this site, you will find voting, registration and geographic datasets for the State of California for statewide elections beginning in 1992.

Cal-Atlas

The Cal-Atlas site facilitates the coordinated and sustainable development, maintenance, licensing and sharing of geospatial data and web map services by California government agencies, partners and stakeholders.

Soil Data Access - National Resources Conservation Service

The soil data mart! Information on national and local soil. Also see the Web Soil Survey.

CalTopo - Backcountry Mapping

Free USGS topo maps. Print free USGS topo PDFs. Export topographic maps to Google Earth. Convert coordinates between Lat/Long and UTM, and translate between NAD27 and WGS84 datums

USDA Forest Service Pacific Southwest GIS Clearinghouse

Here you will find geospatial data for the National Forests in California, along with region-wide, province-wide, and state-wide datasets available for download. Most forest-wide data was captured from 1:24,000 scale maps.

California - Regional

Northern California

Sacramento Area Council of Governments Data Resource Center

This clearinghouse contains metadata, file owner-maintainer information, and in some cases ESRI-based shape files for the basic mapping layers in the Sacramento region.

Access USGS for the San Francisco Bay Area

"Access USGS--San Francisco Bay & Delta" was created to help disseminate this information via the World Wide Web. Here you will find examples of USGS publications, posters, maps, and other information on the San Francisco Bay & Delta region from many disciplines.

Southern California

San Diego Association of Governments GIS

SANDAG offers Geographic Information System data, Interactive Mapping, web mapping services, and GIS Animations & Visualizations.

Mojave Desert Ecosystem Program

Information, maps, and data about the Mojave Desert ecosystem.