It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English 101 & 301: Articles
This is an online guide for English 101 and 301 classes created by Joy Lambert.
General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
If you have problems connecting, go to the main Google Scholar page (https://scholar.google.com/) where you will find a link to Settings. Once you click on it, you'll be taken to a page with "Library Links" on the left side. Search for Fullerton or "California State University Fullerton" and once you check the box next to "California State University Fullerton - Pollak Library FindIt!" you'll see the links appear.
Note - if we have it electronically, a link will appear on the right. If we have it in print, you'll have to click on "More" under the article to get the FindIt! link.
This links to the Library's Find Databases page, where you can find an alphabetical list of databases, as well as databases grouped by subject.
If the general research databases are too broad for your topic, try using some of the library's subject specific databases. Visit Find Databases on the Library's homepage under "Quick Links". From there you can find a list of databases grouped by subject.
Finding the Full Text
When you have found an article you would like to read, use the appropriate way below to find the full text.
If you are searching in OneSearch, click on to get to the full text.
If you are searching in a database, click on to get the full text.
If the full text is not available in any of our databases, you will be prompted to order the article as an interlibrary loan via ILLiad.
If you click on the "Find It' link and we don't have access to the full text of an article in print or electronically, you can request it as an interlibrary loan (ILL) through our service ILLiad.
Using ILLiad is free to you as a student, but does cost the library $20-$30 per transaction, so please use ILLiad judiciously.
You will know ILLiad is required when you click on "Find It" and a message comes up telling you that the library can get the item for you through interlibrary loan. It would be a good idea to set up your ILLiad account before you start your research, just in case you need it. Use your Student Portal information to log in. Once you set up your account, all you will have to do is follow the ILL links to request anything as an interlibrary loan.
ILL articles will be sent electronically as PDFs, and will be delivered to your ILLiad account. When you article has arrived, you will receive an email notification.
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.