Manuals can also give information/tips on writing a paper, posters, presentations, copyright, and more, e.g. SEE The ACS Style Guide.
Peer-reviewed articles have been reviewed by experts in the field under either a single-blind review (where the identity of the reviewer is anonymous, but the author's name and affiliation are on the manuscript) or a double-blind system (where neither the authors nor the reviewers' identity is known).
This is a free, web-based bibliographic management software that allows to collect, organize and format references and more. To create an account you will need to register.
More help and features: See EndNote guide
Zotero is a powerful, easy-to-use research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources and then share the results of your research. Create an account online with Zotero. For more help and frequently asked questions with Zotero
Mendeley Web Importer (drag to favorite bar)
Comparison table of bibliographic management tools (University of Oxford)
DIMENSIONS: The Journal of Undergraduate Research in Natural Sciences and Mathematics
DIMENSIONS provides students in California State University, Fullerton's College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics an opportunity to publish their research, share their findings, and gain experience in the peer review publication process.
Impact factors give a quantitative measure of a journal’s influence and impact.
An Impact Factor gives the average number of times articles from a journal published 2 years that been cited in the Journal Citation Reports year.
E.g. The 2016 Impact Factor for a Journal:
A = the number of times articles published in 2014-2015 were cited
in indexed journals during 2016
B = the number of articles, reviews, proceedings or notes
published in 2014-2015
In a 2016 journal, the Impact Factor (IF) = A/B
Hence, a 2016 journal with an Impact Factor (IF) of say 7.123 means that on average, each of its 2013 and 2014 articles was cited 7.123 times in 2016.
(Originally described by Jorge Hirsch)
An integer metric that provides a value for the productivity and citation impact of a scientist, group or institution publications via quantity (# papers) and quality (# citations). Obtained from WOS and Scopus.
Exaly (Search top authors)
Research.com (Rankings by discipline, subject, journal, university, conference, researcher)
Resurchify (Search for impact score, journal rankings, conferences, meetings, and more)
1. Look at the journal's website (Publication format, scope, review times, impact factor, etc.)
2. Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities (Assist in selecting journals likely to publish a manuscript, acceptance rates, time of review, time of publications, freq. of publication, publisher, editorial info., etc. ). Cabell's classification.
3. Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (Directory containing info about academic journals, e-journals, popular magazines, newspapers, e.g. peer-review status, start of publication, frequency of publication etc.).
4. Scopus - Journal Metrics (From Elsevier. Free metrics for serial titles in Scopus, e.g. SNIP score)
5. Google Scholar Metrics (Summarize recent citations to many publications)
6. EIGENFACTOR.org (Eigenfactor Score - measures the number of times articles from the journal published in the past five years have been cited in the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) year. Like the Impact Factor, the Eigenfactor Score is a ratio of number of citations to total number of articles.)
7. CWTS Journal Indicators (Indicators have been calculated by Leiden University’s Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) based on the Scopus bibliographic database produced by Elsevier)
8. ERIH PLUS (originally called the European Reference Index for the Humanities or ERIH is an index containing bibliographic information on academic journals in the humanities and social sciences)
1. *Open Access Overview LibGuide
(Intro to Open Access Publishing Fund (Covers up to $2000 of author submission fees)
2. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (Online directory that
indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals)
3. SHERPA-Juliet (Research funders' open access policies)
4. SHERPA-Romeo (Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving)
5. PLOS Journals (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit open access
scientific publishing project aimed at creating a library of open access journals)