Geology 303A: Professional Organizations | Websites

• The Geological Society of America
• American Geological Institute
• American Geophysical Union
• United States Geological Survey
• British Geological Survey
• International Union of Geological Sciences
• International Mineralogical Association
• Mineralogical Society of America
• International Association of Hydrogeologists
• Seismological Society of America
• Society of Petroleum Engineers

Regional Societies

• AAPG Pacific Section
• San Diego Association of Geologists
• SEPM Pacific Section
• South Coast Geological Society

  ---

  Geoscience in California (AGI)

• Commodity Statistics and Information 
  (Statistics on worldwide supply, and demand of minerals and materials relevant to U.S. economy).
• Mineral Industry Surveys 
  (Periodic statistical and economic publications)
• Mineral Resource Activities in the Upper Midwest 
  (Mineral resource surveys/assesments for the upper midwest area).
• Minerals Information Team 
  (The USGS team provides information on the domestic and international supply/demand for minerals and mineral materials in the U.S.)
• Minerals Publications and Data Products 
  (Publications and data from the USGS Mineral Resources Program).
• Mineral Resources On-Line Spatial Data 
  (Interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global Geology, Geochemistry, Geophysics, and Mineral Resources).
• Publications and Data Products 
  (Minerals Information products focus on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials).
• USGS Mineral Resources Program 
  (Information on the occurrence, quality, quantity, and availability of mineral resources).
• Mineral Resources Data System 
  (Collection of reports describing metallic and nonmetallic mineral resources throughout the world).

• American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database (Crystal structure database containing structures published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy, and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, and selected information from other journals).
• Amethyst Galleries' Mineral Gallery (>600 minerals, >5,000 specimens, together with several ways of accessing these descriptions. Searchable mineralogical data by Name, Class, and Groupings, Properties. Contains images of minerals).
• mindat.org (Sharing of information about minerals, history, properties, and location).
• Mineralogy Database (Contains >4,000 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library).
• RRUFF Project (Contains an integrated database of Raman spectra, X-ray diffraction and chemistry data for minerals).
• The Mineralogical Record (Mineral information).
• Palagems (Contains information on gems).
• IMA Database of Mineral Properties (Created and maintained by the RRUFF Project in partnership with the IMA).