It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new window Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Oxford ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowCollection of 260+ Reference books; including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and books of quotations, includes resources in a wide range of fields.
Current Cal State Fullerton students, faculty, and staff may borrow books, journal articles, and other library materials from partner lending libraries if the Pollak Library does not own a copy of a requested item.
All Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests are processed electronically through ourILLiad service.
All CSU libraries have reciprocity with one another, though local lending rules will apply. On top of this, the Pollak Library has reciprocal lending agreements with several other local libraries. Please obtain an authorization letter from the Circulation Desk (1st floor, Library North) before visiting any of the listed libraries.
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by Michael AllabyThis leading dictionary - now in its fourth edition - offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics in over 7,500 clear and accessible entries. Coverage includes geology, planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy, and volcanology, as well as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Dictionary of Geology and Mineralogy by McGraw-Hill Staffhis reference contains around 7000 geological terms, some with multiple definitions. Each definition is identified by the field in which it is primarily used, and an appendix includes SI units, conversion tables, periodic table, and geological time-scale.
Call Number: QE5 .M3654 1997 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 1997-02-01
Geostatistical Glossary and Multilingual Dictionary by Ricardo A. Olea (Editor)Geostatistics is a branch of mathematics that deals with the sampling, analysis, interpretation and display of phenomena that fluctuate in space. Although not all geostatistical methods are probabilistic in nature, the most important accomplishments in the field have been in estimation and forecasting, extending probabilistic methods of stochastic processes and time series analysis to the spatial domain. This book gives the only available comprehensive collection of definitions of geostatistical terms.
Call Number: QE33.2.M3 G46 1991 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Call Number: QE5 .D55 1984 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 1984-04-11
Introduction to mineralogy
Introduction to Mineralogy by William D. NesseIntroduction to Mineralogyr follows the highly successful first edition, which become an overnight market leader. iIntroduction to Mineralogyr consolidates much of the material now covered in traditional mineralogy and optical mineralogy courses and focuses on describing minerals within their geologic context. It presents the important traditional content of mineralogy including crystallography, chemical bonding, controls on mineral structure, mineral stability, and crystal growth to provide a foundation that enables students to understand the nature and occurrence of minerals. Physical, optical, and X-ray powder diffraction techniques of mineral study are described in detail, and common chemical analytical methods are outlined as well. Detailed descriptions of over 100 common minerals are provided, and the geologic context within which these minerals occur is emphasized. Appendices provide tables and diagrams to help students with mineral identification, using both physical and optical properties. Numerous line drawings, photographs, and photomicrographs help make complex concepts understandable.
Call Number: QE363.2 .N48 2012 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 2011-08-08
Applied Mineralogy by Swapna MukherjeeThis book covers the entire spectrum of mineralogy and consolidates its applications in different fields. Part I starts with the very basic concept of mineralogy describing in detail the implications of the various aspects of mineral chemistry, crystallographic structures and their effects producing different mineral properties. Part II of the book describes different aspects of mineralogy like geothermobarometry, mineral thermodynamics and phase diagrams, mineral exploration and analysis, and marine minerals. Finally Part III handles the applications in industrial, medicinal and environmental mineralogy along with precious and semiprecious stone studies. The various analytical techniques and their significance in handling specific types of mineralogical problems are also covered.
Call Number: QE363.2 .M854 2011 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 2011-07-08
Theoretical and Computational Methods in Mineral Physics by Renata Wentzcovitch (Editor); Lars Stixrude (Editor)Mineral physics is one of the three pillars of geophysics, the other two being geodynamics and seismology. Geophysics advances by close cooperation between these fields. As such, mineral physicists investigate properties of minerals that are needed to interpret seismic data or that are essential for geodynamic simulations. To be useful, mineral properties must be investigated in a wide range of pressures, temperatures, and chemical compositions. The materials and conditions in the interior of Earth and other terrestrial planets present several challenges. The chemical composition of their mantles is complex with at least five major oxide components and tens of solid phases. Today, these challenges are being addressed by a combination of experimental and computational methods, with experiments offering precise information at lower pressures and temperatures, and computations offering more complete and detailed information at conditions more challenging to experiments. While bulk properties of materials are fundamental to understanding a planet’s state, atomistic inspection of these complex materials are fundamental to understanding their properties. A connection is then established between atomic and planetary scale phenomena, which mineral physicists are in a unique position to appreciate.
Call Number: QE364 .T4846 2010 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 2010-04-20
Minerals by Hans-Rudolf Wenk; Andrei BulakhCovering all aspects of mineralogy in an integrated way, it links mineral properties with broader geological processes, and conveys their economic importance throughout the text. Handy reference tables and a glossary of terms make this study an indispensable guide for the next generation of mineralogy.
Call Number: QE363.2 .W46 2004 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Call Number: QE372 .D23 1997 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 1997-11-10
Principles of Mineralogy by William Henry DennenCombines both descriptive and theoretical mineralogy, emphasizing theory. Features include: in-depth coverage of 185 minerals and over 740 related species; and new photographs and illustrations. All mineral nomenclature meet the standards of the International Mineralogical Association.
Call Number: QE363.2 .B54 1988 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Highlights in Mineralogical Crystallography by Thomas Armbruster (Editor); Rosa Micaela Danisi (Editor)Highlights in Mineralogical Crystallography" presents a collection of review articles with the common topic: structural properties of minerals and synthetic analogues. It is a valuable resource for mineralogists, materials scientists, crystallographers, and earth scientists. This book includes: An introduction to the RRUFF database for structural, spectroscopic, and chemical mineral identification. A systematic evaluation of structural complexity of minerals. ab initio computer modelling of mineral surfaces. Natural quasicrystals of meteoritic origin.
Modern X-Ray Analysis on Single Crystals by Peter LugerThis completely revised edition is a guide for practical work in X-ray analysis. Experimental developments e.g. brilliant X-ray sources, area detection, and developments in computer hardware and software have led to increasing applications in X-ray analysis. It presents an introduction to basic crystallography moves quickly to a practical and experimental treatment of structure analysis.
Structure of Materials by Marc De Graef; Michael E. McHenryMachine generated contents note: 1. Materials and materials properties; 2. The periodic table of the elements and interatomic bonds; 3. What is a crystal structure?; 4. Crystallographic computations; 5. Lattice planes; 6. Reciprocal space; 7. Additional crystallographic computations; 8. Symmetry in crystallography; 9. Point groups; 10. Plane groups and space groups; 11. X-ray diffraction: geometry; 12. X-ray diffraction: intensities; 13. Other diffraction techniques; 14. About crystal structures and diffraction patterns; 15. Non-crystallographic point groups; 16. Periodic and aperiodic things; 17. Metallic structures I: simple, derivative, and superlattice structures 18. Metallic structures II: complex geometrically determined structures 19. Metallic structures III: quasicrystals; 20. Metallic structures IV: amorphous metals; 21. Ceramic structures I: basic structure prototypes 22. Ceramic structures II: high temperature superconductors; 23. Ceramic structures III: terrestrial and extraterrestrial minerals; 24. Molecular solids and biological materials
Call Number: QD911 .D396 2012 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 2012-10-08
Sulfate Minerals by Charles N. Alpers (Editor); J. L. Jambor (Editor); Darrell Kirk Nordstrom (Editor); Paul H. Ribbe; Mineralogical Society of America Staff (Contribution by)Crystal chemistry of sulfate minerals / Frank C. Hawthorne, Sergev V. Krivovichev and Peter C. Burns -- X-ray and vibrational spectroscopy of sulfate in earth materials / Satish C. B. Myneni -- Sulfate minerals in evaporite deposits / Ronald J. Spencer -- Barite-celestine geochemistry and environments of formation / Jeffrey S. Hanor -- Precipitation and dissolution of alkaline earth sulfates: kinetics and surface energy / A. Hina and G. H. Nancollas -- Metal-sulfate salts from sulfide mineral oxidation / John L. Jambor, D. Kirk Nordstrom, Charles N. Alpers -- Iron and aluminum hydroxysulfates from acid sulfate waters / J. M. Bigham, D. Kirk Nordstrom -- Jarosites and their application in hydrometallurgy / John E. Dutrizac, John L. Jambor -- Alunite-jarosite crystallography, thermodynamics, and geochronology / R. E. Stoffregen, C. N. Alpers, J. L. Jambor -- Solid-solution solubilities and thermodynamics: sulfates, carbonates and halides / Pierre Glynn -- Predicting sulfate-mineral solubility in concentrated waters / Carol Ptacek, David Blowes -- Stable isotope systematics of sulfate minerals
Call Number: QE516.4 .S84 2000 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
An Introduction to the Practical Study of Crystals, Minerals, and Rocks by K. G. Cox; N. B. Price; B. Harte
Call Number: QE363.2 .C69 1974 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 1975-01-01
Geometry of Crystallographic Groups by Andrzej SzczepanskiCrystallographic groups are groups which act in a nice way and via isometries on some n-dimensional Euclidean space. They got their name, because in three dimensions they occur as the symmetry groups of a crystal (which we imagine to extend to infinity in all directions). The book is divided into two parts. In the first part, the basic theory of crystallographic groups is developed from the very beginning, while in the second part, more advanced and more recent topics are discussed. So the first part of the book should be usable as a textbook, while the second part is more interesting to researchers in the field. There are short introductions to the theme before every chapter.
Call Number: QD462.6.S94 S93 2012 ( Basement North Compact Stacks)
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.