Skip to main content

UNIV 100: Annotated Bibliographies

About Annotated Bibliographies

WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

 


ANNOTATIONS VS. ABSTRACTS

Abstracts are the purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes. Annotations are descriptive and critical; they expose the author's point of view, clarity and appropriateness of expression, and authority.

From http://guides.library.cornell.edu/annotatedbibliography

Sample Annotation

citation and annotation

An annotated bibliography is list of references sources (scholarly articles, books, websites, reports, etc.) on a topic or research area that contains a summary and evaluation for each listed document. The “annotation” part pertains to the write-up produced for each source. One approach is to use the APA empirical research article format as a tool to evaluate an article's content. Scholarly articles that present original research (empirical) will have the following structure:

  • Abstract
  • Introduction (literature review)
  • Methodology (research method used)
  • Results (data analysis, statistics)
  • Discussion (significance of the study)
  • References (list of sources used)

Web Resources for Annotated Bibliographies

University of Florida Sample Annotated Bibliography, MLA.

Cornell's Guide to Preparing an Annotated Bibliography