Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry & Biochemistry: Patents

Research guide for chemistry

What is a patent?

"A patent is an exclusive right to a product or a process that generally provides a new way of doing something, or offers a new technical solution to a problem. To get a patent, technical information about the invention must be disclosed to the public in a patent application." (WIPO)

Patents Tutorials

Westlaw

Patent Searching

            Recommended Patent Resources

  • Google Patent Search
    Search for granted patents and applications from USPTO and other international bodies. More info on Google Patents.
     
  • U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
    Full text of all US patents from 1790 to the present. To save a PDF, you can enter the patent number into Patent Fetcher.
     
  • SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
    A good place to start. Patents are selected from over 35,000 International Patent Classification (IPC) codes and 99 U.S. National Patent Classification Codes.
     
  • esp@cenet
    European Patent Organization contains 4 databases of patent records from around the world. Includes U.S. patents after the 1820.

  • Derwent Innovations Index (Clarivate)
    Patent research application that provides access to globally trusted, curated patent intelligence and scientific literature. Can perform substance searches.

  • pat2pdf
    Fast way to retrieve a PDF of a U.S. patent using a patent number.

  • Canadian Patent Database
    Provide users with extensive information on Canadian patent documents from 1920 to present.

  • SureChem
    Searches >7 million unique chemical structures in complete full text collections of US, European and WO/PCT patents.

  • WikiPatent
    Contains a wiki-like interface to review, rate, and discuss patents -- plus free patent PDF downloads, file histories, and advanced patent searching.

  • WIPO PatentScope
    Searches >10 million international patent documents.