Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry & Biochemistry: Articles

Research guide for chemistry

Scientific Information

flow of science

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

More RESOURCES

*Organic Chemistry Portal (Hot topics, reactions, chemical information for organic chemists)

*Chemical Information Sources (Wikibook: Describes high quality chemical information resources and their effective use)

ToxInfo.io (free resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and environmental health)

The Organic Synthesis Archive (Synthesis and named reaction info)

Name Reactions 
Organic chemistry portal.

Boolean Operators | Database Tips


database tips

Finding Articles

  • SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
    SciFinder (1907 to present) is a comprehensive source for chemical information, covering scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. SciFinder requires each user to create their own account for access.
  • Scopus
    Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
  • PubMed (NLM)
    PubMed (1948 to present) is a comprehensive index to biomedical and life sciences journals.
  • ScienceDirect
    Provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals in all areas of science.
  • BIOSIS
    Database available via Web of Science. Includes Biological Abstracts. Life sciences and biomedical research
  • Google Scholar
    Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports and more.

Also useful:

  • ACS journals
  • RSC journals (some articles are available open access, otherwise request via interlibrary loan)
  • SpringerLink Journals
    Full-text coverage of scientific, technical, and medical journals, books, protocols and reference works.
  • Wiley Online Library
    A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
  • Annual Reviews
    Database of review literature for focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. Provides comprehensive, collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists.
  • Science Magazine
    Covers scientific articles and news, commentary, and cutting-edge research, with full text of the journal's news stories, research reports, and commentary.
  • Nature (NPG)
    Nature Publishing Group (NPG) combines Nature, Nature Research Journals, Nature Reviews Journals, NPG Academic Journals and NPG Reference publications. A major information resource for biological and physical sciences.
  • Oxford Journals
    Provides access to the academic and research journals of Oxford University Press, encompassing the science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts, and social sciences.