Political Science: Background Info

U.S. Census records include wide-ranging population demographics. Data on individual people is not available to the public until 72 years after a given census was taken.

Ballotpedia is a nonprofit and nonpartisan online political encyclopedia that covers American federal, state, and local politics, elections, and public policy.

PolitiFact.com is a nonprofit project operated by the Poynter Institute in St. Petersburg, Florida, with offices there and in Washington, D.C.

Vote Smart, formerly called Project Vote Smart, is a non-profit, non-partisan research organization that collects and distributes information on candidates for public office in the United States.

Scholarly dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, etc. Includes resources for all disciplines taught on this campus.

Multidisciplinary reference books. Great for trusted and concise information on a person, concept, or term.

Includes autobiographies, interviews, obituaries, letters, diaries, memoirs, book reviews, and more.

Biographical content from periodicals including articles, interviews, profiles, and book citations of history-makers.

Covers a wide range of controversial topics. Includes primary sources, articles, statistics and more.

Reports on controversial social, economic, political, education, health, environment, technology, and issues back to 1923.

Directory of academic journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Helps determine the peer-review status of a publication.

Click on Sources along the top bar to search by publication. SCOPUS provides a Citescore, number of citations, and other metrics on thousands of academic journals.

Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, and more. Access through the library for access to CSUF subscriptions, or allow in Settings under "Library Links."

Browse listing of all historical newspapers digitized and available online free from Google.

Collection of digitized magazines including Time, Life, New York Magazine, and Boys Life.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.