It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC) -- Health Focus: Newspaper Databases for Chicana and Chicano Studies
Research resources for the study of health issues in the Chicano Community
Newspaper Databases for Chicana and Chicano Studies
Newspaper articles reflect the news of the day. In-depth article on a topic are rare. Often they contain inaccuracies, mistakes and bias, but they give a picture of what is thought to be important by certain segments of society and by those in control of media outlets at the time the article was written. Be careful with your vocabulary choices, how you search will dictate the articles you find. In historical newspapers, the terms used may not be ones you are used to seeing and you might actually find them offensive. What is missing may be more important than what you find. The previous statements can also be applied to news and information found on the Internet and in social media. Intrigued? Contact Barbara Miller, the CRC Librarian for more information.
Full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Specific ethnic group publications included are: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic/Latino/Chicano; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; Native People. Languages: English and Spanish. Also contains a timeline of events.
Westlaw Next Campus Research is a comprehensive legal database, which includes federal and all 50 states materials; such as statutes, regulations, briefs, proposed and enacted legislation and the US Code Annotated. This database also includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation and Wests Key Number System.
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.