Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC) -- Health Focus: Find Resources-Intro

Research resources for the study of health issues in the Chicano Community

Find Resources for Chicana and Chicano Studies

Where to find resources for your Chicana and Chicano Studies research assignments. Document types include encyclopedias, books, book articles, journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, and websites.

Library databases --  including our Library Catalog --  contain information about and, in many cases, full text for periodical articles, newspaper articles, books, book articles, dissertations and thesis, and other materials.

If you are expecting to see a cool search "widget" here that allows you to search a whole bunch of databases at once, I am afraid that won't really work for Chicana and Chicano Studies topics.

Why? Because ...

THE MOST USEFUL DATABASES WILL DEPEND ON YOUR TOPIC.

For example, if your topic is about Chicano Art you should consider taking a look at the listings of Art databases, Chicano Music, try the Music databases, Chicano literature then it would be the literature databases, social issues in the Chicano community will need our sociology databases, the history of Chicanos, then history databases, education, politics, etc.

If you do not find resources covering your topic in this guide, you should consider checking out the Databases by Subject area under Find Databases for additional resources.

There are also many useful web sites that can contribute valuable information for your research. Government and non-government organizations often gather statistical data, conduct research studies, and collect information from other sources on thousands of topics of interest to researchers. It is important to know where you are and to consider who and why a web site was created.

Please explore the links below that can give you more information about possible resources for Chicana and Chicano Studies topics.