It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly books and book chapters are some of the best sources on history, literature, popular culture and cultural traditions and other humanities and social sciences based topics. For this reason, you will find records for books, book chapters, and dissertations as well as journal articles in many of the databases available to you at the Pollak Library and listed under Find Articles in this guide.
After you have determined the possible names (and alternate spellings) for your topic and other key terms, use the links below to explore for books and other materials on your topic. See the discussion on getting started for more information on strategies to find search terms for your topic. Look for books in our library using the Pollak Library Catalog or Books & eBooks tab on the library homepage. Our physical book collections are located on the fourth, fifth, and sixth floors of Pollak Library South. Books are arranged in the library by Library of Congress Call Number.
If you run across books that we do not own, you can borrow them using our InterLibrary Loan service(ILLIAD). See the ILLIAD menu items under Where's the Full Text tab.
Basic Article and Book Search
Try using OneSearch to find more articles from the Pollak Library collection and beyond!
Books and E-book Databases for Chicana and Chicano Studies
Discover and access books and ebooks on your topics. For items we do not own try InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD).
Combines the catalogs from OCLC member libraries (50,000+ libraries in 80+ countries). Indexes all types of materials, including: books, computer data files, computer programs, films and slides, internet resources, journals, magazines, manuscripts, archives, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound and video media in 400+ languages. Titles in original language; can limit to desired material type.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Dissertations are written by PhD candidates like your professors and other researchers. They are not published, but we now have them available online. One great feature of most dissertations is that they have extensive bibliographies and include a chapter that discusses the state of the literature or related research available at the time the dissertation was written and upon which the dissertation is based.
Contains over 1,000,000 digitized doctoral dissertations in the humanities and social sciences. It also contains master's theses, including 4,000+ from Cal State Fullerton students, 1967-present. Citations for dissertations from around the world from 1637. NOTE: Includes the theses of Fullerton graduate students who have published through UMI Dissertation Publishing.
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.