Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Communication Studies: Choosing Databases

Choosing Databases

Human Communications Studies databases
There are many databases useful for HCOM research, but it depends what you need.  Looking for a scholarly article?  Need a newspaper story?  Want corporate info on a company?  Just need some facts or statistics on a debate topic?  The groupings below categorize the library's databases into categories to match your needs.

COMMUNICATIONS SCHOLARLY JOURNALS
Communication Source (EBSCO)

RELATED FIELDS DATABASES
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) (all fields)

ISSUES/DEBATE TOPICS DATABASES
Opposing Viewpoints
CQ Researcher

FACTS/STATISTICS DATABASES
Statista
Gale eBooks (Formerly Gale Virtual Reference)
Oxford Reference

NEWSPAPER DATABASES
US Newsstream: 1980-current (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream: 1980-current (ProQuest)
California Custom News Collection (Newsbank)
Access World News (Newsbank)

SPECIALTY NEWS DATABASES
ABI/INFORM Business News (ProQuest)
Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest)
Genderwatch (ProQuest)

INDUSTRY/COMPANY INFORMATION
IBISWorld
Mergent Online

MAGAZINE DATABASE
Reader's Guide Full Text

Communications Librarian

Profile Photo
John Hickok
Contact:
657.278.4394
jhickok@fullerton.edu