Skip to main content

Human Communication Studies: Articles

Articles

There are 2 ways to search for HCOM-related articles:

ONESEARCH.  Although OneSearch is mainly used as the library's book catalog, it can also find articles.  It has a search feature that group-searches many of the library's databases at once. This can be helpful if you are looking for breath: a lot of articles from a variety of journals.  However, the drawback to OneSearch is that it bombards you with a lot of irrelevant articles, and you have to spend time filtering the results to narrow it down.  To get to OneSearch, go the library's homepage, click on One Search's "Advanced Search", and choose "Articles" to begin searching.

 

DATABASES.  Databases are collections of articles that the library subscribes to.  We have a database that specializes in Human Communication articles, but also databases specializing in related fields: psychology, sociology, business, etc.  The databases have more search settings than OneSearch: you can search multiples keywords, set dates, limit to certain publications, and more.  So they are your best choice for precise searching.  To get to the databases, go to the library's homepage, choose the "DATABASES" icon at the upper left, and then choose either (a) your major, for a recommended list of databases, or (b) the name of a specific database, A-Z, to go to it directly.

SEARCH TIPS: 

Keywords: Type in keywords of what you want (for example: communication and intercultural).  A list of articles will then come up.  If you see the full-text (a PDF or HTML icon) next to any on the list, great!  You can click and read the full-text immediately.  If no full-text is displayed, then then click on the blue "Find it" button () and a pop-up window will appear referring you to where you can get the full-text.

Subjects: Although using keywords is convenient, keywords can often bring up unrelated articles, since they may appear anywhere in the article.  A more precise way to search is to change your search box to a SUBJECT search, and type a word.  This will look for articles entirely about that word, not just find that word randomly.   For example, an article about corporate communication, not just an article that has the word "corporate" and "communication" somewhere randomly in it. 

HCOM Librarian

John Hickok's picture
John Hickok
Contact:
657.278.4393

jhickok@fullerton.edu