Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TESOL: Choosing Databases

Choosing Databases

TESOL databases
There are many databases useful for TESOL research, but it depends what you need.  Looking for a scholarly article about language acquisition?  Need a sample lesson plan?  Want news & commentary stories about immigrant ESL in California?  The groupings below categorize the library's databases into categories to match your needs.

EDUCATION-RELATED SCHOLARLY ARTICLES
ERIC
Education Full-Text

LINGUISTICS-RELATED SCHOLARLY ARTICLES
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography

TEACHING/CLASSROOM RELATED RESOURCES
Teacher's Resource Center
ERIC
Middle Search Plus (secondary classroom resources)
Primary Search Plus (primary classroom resources)

TESTING RELATED
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Tests in Print

RELATED DISCIPLINES SCHOLARLY ARTICLES
APA PsycINFO 
Sociological Abstracts 
America: History and Life
Communication Source
Academic Search Premier (multidisciplinary)
Dissertations & Theses (multidisciplinary)

DICTIONARIES/ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Oxford English Dictionary
Gale eBooks (e-encyclopedias)
Oxford Reference

CULTURE/TEFL-RELATED INFO
Global Road Warrior
eHRAF World Cultures
Ethnologue: Languages of the World

FACTS/STATISTICS
CQ Researcher
Opposing Viewpoints
Statista

NEWSPAPERS/MAGAZINES
US Newsstream: 1980-current (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream: 1980-current (ProQuest)
California Custom News Collection (Newsbank)
Access World News (Newsbank)
Reader's Guide Full Text

Communications Librarian

Profile Photo
John Hickok
Contact:
657.278.4394
jhickok@fullerton.edu