The library has videos related to TESOL. Some of them are training videos for ESL students. Some of them are professional teacher-training videos for TESOL majors. And others are educational documentaries on English, Linguistics, Culture, and other related topics. The library has videos in 3 formats: streaming, DVDs, and VHS.
STREAMING. The library subscribes to streaming videos from several vendors (Kanopy, AVON, PBS, etc.) To find streaming library videos, simply search the library's OneSearch search engine, just like you would for a book (either exact title, or keywords). You can refine your search results to streaming videos by limiting to "video" on the left sidebar. For example, searching the keyword ESL brings up several videos, such as: Educating English Language Learners.
DVDs. The library also has many physical DVDs. These are kept at the library's Circulation Desk (first floor, south side) for check-out. These are also searchable on OneSearch, the same way (titles or keywords), using the left sidebar to limit to "DVDs". For example, the library has the DVD Accent Reduction Program.
VHS. Although VHS videocassettes are an old/undesirable format, the library has kept some VHS tapes that are related to TESOL. These tapes are also available for check-out at the Circulation Desk (first floor, south side) and searchable on OneSearch. Equipment to view these tapes (VCR players) is available in rooms, on the fourth floor north, which can be checked out at the Circulation Desk. Below is a sampling of these VHS tapes.
BF637.C45 J36 1978.
JAPANESE NONVERBAL COMMUNICATION
Examines common Japanese facial and body gestures in a variety of formal and informal social and business situations. Explores the rationale for cultural differences in social interactions such as seating arrangements, bowing, and serving food. Designed for use in the teaching of Japanese as a foreign language
DS556.39 .V533 1985.
VIETNAM: TALKING TO THE PEOPLE
Freelance journalist/videographer Jon Alpert takes a first hand look at post-war Vietnam. Shows him visiting various towns and talking to families and businessmen in order to portray the Vietnamese people's day to day living habits
DS568 .C36 1999.
A CANDID VIEWPOINT OF THE CUSTOMS AND MANNERS OF THAILAND.
Presents the do's and dont's of Thai etiquette
DS806 .C36 1999.
A CANDID VIEWPOINT OF THE CUSTOMS AND MANNERS OF JAPAN
Presents the do's and dont's of Japanese etiquette
DS806 .N49 1989 pt. 1.
EDUCATION IN JAPAN:CHILDREN AND THEIR DREAMS
The contemporary Japanese educational system is presented as seen through the stories of two Japanese families
E184.A1 L58 1986.
LIVING IN THE U.S.A.
Intended to help foreigners adjust to living in the United States. Examines foreign spouses' and their partners' initial reactions to a new country and provides suggestions for locating housing, handling banking matters, and making friends
E184.O6 A74 1993.
ASIAN AMERICAN CULTURES IN THE U.S.A.
Presents culture of Asian Americans
E184.S75 H627 1998.
HISPANICS, THEIR DIFFERENCES: MYTH OR FACT
Examines the differences and similarities between Hispanics in the United States. Three families are spotlighted; one Puerto Rican, one Mexican American and one Cuban American. Explores how they view themselves and how they view each other
H62.5.U5 B34 1987.
INTER-ETHNIC RELATIONS VIDEO
Explores inter-ethnics relations
HD62.4 .G55.
GLOBAL AND ENVIRONMENTAL COMMUNICATION
Discusses the importance of the ability to communicate across cultures in order to compete in a global market.
HD8081.A5 W67 1986.
WORKING IN THE U.S.A.
Intended to help foreigners adjust to working in the United States. Covers situations in business settings and stresses the importance of punctuality, schedules, and deadlines. Details the aggressiveness and competitiveness often found in American companies. Also discusses networking, brainstorming, and problem-solving techniques
HD8081.M6 O83 1987.
THE OTHER SIDE OF THE BORDER
Documentary on illegal entry from Mexico. Discusses new immigration reform law
HF1379 .I565 1991.
INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS ETIQUETTE
A video series intended to assist those both new to or actively involved with exporting/importing, those developing the foundations for global trade, and those seeking to increase sales, profits, and returns on investments through international trade activities
HF3066 .D65 1994.
DOING BUSINESS IN MEXICO
Provides information on the business customs necessary to know before doing business in Mexico. Profiles a history of Mexico, past and present, proper etiquette, how to communicate, negotiate, make contacts. Also includes suggestions on patience and an understanding of their sense of time and business relationships
HF3081 .D64 1997.
DOING BUSINESS IN ARGENTINA
Provides information on business customs in Argentina, including the background of the country and its economy, business relationships, communicating, negotiating, and management
HF3826.5 .H68 1991.
HOW TO DO BUSINESS IN JAPAN WITHOUT LOSING YOUR FACE : A
COMPREHENSIVE VIDEO GUIDE TO SUCCESS
Essential information is presented in an entertaining style on how to to business in Japan, and how to understand the basics of Japanese culture, psychology and religion
HF5383 .S634 1988.
SPEAKING AMERICAN ENGLISH AT WORK
This program tells the story of a young Vietnamese refugee and his experiences in the cultural context of the job market in the American workplace. Pt. 1, "You're hired", focuses on employability, teaching communication skills needed to get a job. Pt. 2, "Climbing the ladder", concentrates on trainability and promotability, teaching skills needed to be trained on a new job and to be promoted to a better job.
HF5389 .Y68 1995.
YOUR CULTURAL PASSPORT TO INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS
Introduces business practices and etiquette that it would be useful to know if one were conducting business outside of the United States
HF6146.T42 W56 1999.
WINDOWS ON ASIA-PACIFIC: ASIAN TELEVISION COMMERCIALS
Examines how sensibilities differ between East and West as seen through the lens of advertising imagery
HM258 .C7 1993.
CROSS CULTURAL COMMUNICATION IN DIVERSE SETTINGS
Discusses the processes and elements of intercultural communication both verbal and nonverbal
HQ1031 .I57 1988.
INSIDE JAPAN: TRADITION AND FAMILY LIFE
Examines Japan's changing cultural climate by focusing on an atypical family where a Japanese man has married an American woman and gained the acceptance of his family
LA217.2 .S35 1994.
SCHOOLS OF THOUGHT: TEACHING CHILDREN IN AMERICA AND JAPAN
This documentary explores efforts in both countries to balance creativity and discipline in education
LA1331 .S68 1998.
SOUTH KOREA: FROM ILLITERACY TO AFFLUENCE
Describes the education reforms instituted in Korea that lifted the literacy rate from twenty-five percent to one-hundred percent
LB1027 .C92 1986.
TEACHING MAKES A DIFFERENCE
Provides classroom management techniques in teaching
LB1027.23 .A27 1993.
ACTIVE LEARNING
Program on classrooms which use active or student-directed participatory strategies, in contrast to traditional passive learning from listening or observing
LB1028.35 .R45 1987.
TEACH, PRACTICE AND APPLY
Dr. Reinhartz outlines the teach-practice-apply instructional method earlier developed in her book of that title
LB1060 .L427 1991.
LEARNING STYLES AND THE LEARNING PROCESS
This video explains what learning styles are and how to use them with at risk students
LB1573 .T433 1991.
TEACHING READING: STRATEGIES FROM SUCCESSFUL CLASSROOMS
A series of six programs designed as simulated field experience for teacher training. Each program includes several segments showing a successful, experienced teacher in action in the classroom, alternating with interview segments during which the teacher talks about the techniques, approaches, and attitudes which contribute to successful teaching of reading
LB1775 .D63 1986.
TEACHING AS A PROFESSION
1986 National Teacher of the Year Guy Rice Doud talks about the role of teachers in today's society and teachers that influenced him
LB2377.6.M4 O32 1988.
COLD WATER: INTERCULTURAL ADJUSTMENT AND VALUES CONFLICT OF FOREIGN STUDENTS & SCHOLARS AT AN AMERICAN UNIVERSITY
Intended for use in a workshop setting, this video shows interviews with 12 foreign students and 1 American student. The students discuss real experiences in dealing with living and studying in the United States. Of interest to teachers, academic advisors, housing staff, student associations, foreign students
LC3733.S3 I42 1991.
IMAGES THAT SPEAK: THE CROSS-CULTURAL COMMUNICATION WORKSHOP
Conducted at Newcomer High School in San Francisco with recently arrived refugee and immigrant children from many different parts of the world. The intent of this workshop was to give young people an opportunity to communicate about their own unique culture, homeland and transitional life experiences. Through the creation of paintings, drawings and a follow-up group discussion, these students had an opportunity to bridge the barriers of culture and language and explore their similarities and differences
P40 .S62 1987.
THE SOCIOLINGUISTICS OF LANGUAGE
A lecture introducing five areas comprising the sociolinguistics of language: language variation, ethnography of communication, language in social context, language change, and speech act theory. Identifies the people who do the studies, linguists, anthropologists and sociologists, by their point of view. Briefly demonstrates methods used in studying different languages
P53.2 .L366 1989.
LANGUAGES AT WORK: ORAL TEACHING TECHNIQUES FOR THE FOREIGN LANGUAGE CLASSROOM
Demonstrates a variety of effective teaching techniques for promoting oral language skills
P106 .H85 1995.
THE HUMAN LANGUAGE SERIES
Explores human language, its origins, acquisition and evolution
P118 .C487 1993.
A CHILD'S GUIDE TO LANGUAGE
"This BBC Horizon program looks at some of the different language acquisition methods in use in schools around the world"
P118.2 .F76 1997.
FROM THEORY TO PRACTICE : THE NATURAL APPROACH
Lecture and panel discussion covers the theory and application of the Natural Approach, an inductive method of teaching a second language, developed by Stephen Krashen and Tracy Terrell
PE1073 .G56 1998.
THE GLOBAL TONGUE: ENGLISH
English is now the dominant language spoken by over a billion people with nearly as many speaking English as a second language as there are native speakers. This program looks at the different contexts and countries in which the English language dominates education, pop music, advertising, and the Internet. It explores the pros and cons of this dominance and the ways in which it is actually changing the English language
PE1075 .S83 1986.
THE STORY OF ENGLISH
Details the history of the English language and provides a unique focus on current English usage worldwide with a special emphasis on American English
PE1128.A2 T452 1997.
TEACHING WITH TELEVISION: ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE
Discusses how television images are integrated into a beginning-level ninth grade ESL curriculum to provide context and reinforce vocabulary
PE1128 .B37 1989.
BASIC ENGLISH: ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE
PE1128 .C68 1980z.
COMMUNICATING SURVIVAL
Videos designed to teach new arrivals to the United States basic life skills such as finding a job, obtaining emergency medical care, renting an apartment, shopping in supermarkets, and using a checkbook.
PE1137 .P47 1991.
PERFECT ENGLISH PRONUNCIATION
Improve your English with animation, mouth close-ups and practice. The comprehensive visual guide to English pronunciation
PE1157 .H57 1995.
HIP-HOP PRONUNCIATION: THE VOWELS OF AMERICAN ENGLISH
A "multi-sensory, interactive approach to learning" the vowel sounds of American English
PN4121 .B4 1985.
BE PREPARED TO SPEAK: THE STEP-BY-STEP VIDEO GUIDE TO PUBLIC SPEAKING
Demonstrates techniques for preparing and practicing speeches. Follows one speaker's progress through the process of speech writing, speech presentation, and control of stage fright
PN4121 .S64 1992.
SPEAKING EFFECTIVELY: TO ONE OR ONE THOUSAND
Describes the four main components of public speaking-- Mental, Visual, Vocal, Verbal-- and how the proper use of each one makes the speaker comfortable and effective before any audience
