Chicago Manual
The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition
Copies are available at the Main Campus Library Research Center and for limited checkout at Circulation.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17 Edition is also still available.
MLA Handbook
Handbook of the Modern Language Association (MLA), 9th edition.
Copies are available at the Main Campus Library Research Center and for limited checkout at Circulation.
Chicago Citation Guide
QUICK GUIDES:
- Chicago Manual of Style 18th Edition
List of significant changes, clarifications, updates, and additions to The Chicago Manual of Style for the 18th edition. Items in the list are keyed to paragraph numbers in the 18th edition.
- Chicago Notes Bibliography Citation Guide - Pollak Library
This overview of Chicago Manual of Style (Notes Bibliography Format) 17th edition gives basic citation format examples and refers to additional resources.
- Chicago Author Date Citation Guide - Pollak LIbrary
This overview of Chicago Manual of Style (Author Date Format) 17th edition gives basic citation format examples and refers to additional resources.
HELPFUL RESOURCES:
Chicago Style Online Quick Guide Notes Bibliography: Official Chicago Manual of Style website with common citation examples in Notes-Bibliography Style.
Chicago Style Online Quick Guide Author Date: Official Chicago Manual of Style website with common citation examples in Author-Date Style.
Chicago Style Q & A: Helps clarify confusing questions on a variety of topics.
Bibliographies, Footnotes and Endnotes
Purdue OWL: Easy-to-use citation resource. Provides rules and examples.
Purdue OWL Chicago Guide: Covers basics of in-text citation, reference list rules and more.
Citing Artificial Intelligence
How do you recommend citing content developed or generated by artificial intelligence?: This Q&A from the Chicago Manual of Style Online offers guidance on how to cite generative AI in Chicago style.
Citing Social Media
Purdue OWL: Citing Web Sources: This guide from Purdue OWL covers how to cite various social media posts and comments.
MLA Citation Guide
QUICK GUIDE:
- MLA 9th Citation Guide - Pollak Library
This overview of MLA gives basic citation format examples and refers to additional resources on full MLA formatting. This is based on the latest and most current edition of the MLA Style Guide.
HELPFUL RESOURCES:
- Purdue OWL: Easy-to-use citation resource. Provides rules and examples.
- MLA Style Center Ask the MLA: Provides answers to FAQs but also lets you ask your own!
In-Text Citations:
Purdue OWL In-Text Basics: Covers basics of in-text citation rules and more.
Works Cited Page/Bibliography:
Purdue OWL MLA Works Cited Page Basics: Covers basics of reference list rules and more.
Additional Citation Examples:
University of West Florida Style Guide: Provides additional example citations for the 8th edition.
