LibGuides: Art: Journal Articles

Journal database search tips

How to Search Through a Database:

SELECT A DATABASE

Choose a database from the list below.

BEGIN SEARCH WITH 4-5 KEYWORDS related to your topic.

Start off your search by using 1-2 of your keywords.
Use more keywords when you need to narrow or broaden search.

USE FILTERS

There are filters on the search bar that allow you to search by title, author, or text.
Filters on the left-hand side can adjust: Date of publication, peer-reviewed, language, etc.

NARROW or BROADEN SEARCH with these tricks:

AND will narrow your results.
OR will broaden your results (think: or means more!).
NOT will narrow your results by avoiding unwanted terms.
“ “ (QUOTATION MARKS) will search for the EXACT phrase in quotation marks.
* (ASTERICK) will broaden your search by finding all potential forms of that word. (Ex: prevent* will give you prevention, prevents, preventative, etc.)

Art databases for locating journal articles

Art Full Text - 1984-present
Available via EBSCO. Art-related topics found in journals and magazine articles, many full text. Coverage includes English and foreign language journals. Can search for specific art reproductions.
Art Index Retrospective - 1929-1984
Art Index is available via EBSCO with historical coverage of the literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Includes resources from 600+ journals. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Full coverage from 1974 on, some coverage from the late 1960s and early 1970s.

Art Full Text/Art Index Retrospective
Information or full text for periodical articles only. Covers a wide variety of art disciplines. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997. For information on articles published 1929-1984, include Art Index Retrospective.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs. Focuses on art from Europe and the Americas. Coverage is 1975-2007.

Academic Search Premier
General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
JSTOR
A digital interdisciplinary archive of 1,000+ academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes selected monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable.
Humanities Full Text
Need to find articles from over 600 journals covering various broad subjects in the humanities including archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, linguistics, philosophy, religion, and world literature? Try this!
Academic Search Premier
General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
Humanities Full Text
Need to find articles from over 600 journals covering various broad subjects in the humanities including archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, linguistics, philosophy, religion, and world literature? Try this!
Project MUSE
This interdisciplinary journal collection provides full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals. It is particularly strong in the humanities disciplines, such as literature, history, and area studies (Africa, Asia, Latin America and Europe), but also has content from the sciences and the social sciences.
Women's Studies International
Indexes women's studies and feminist-related journals, newspapers, newsletters, books and reports in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Subject Guide

Kellie Lanham-Friedman

She/Her

Email Me

Subjects: Art, Dance, Makerspace, Music, Theatre

Art: Journal Articles

Journal database search tips

Art databases for locating journal articles

Subject Guide

Web Accessibility