It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English 302: Background
This guide introduces future teachers to Pollak Library and Web resources that will help enhance their understanding of teaching reading, writing, and literature.
MAS Ultra contains full text content for close to 500 popular high school magazines, with assigned Lexile reading levels for full text articles. Secondary Education and credential students may find useful lesson plan ideas, activities, and primary source materials for use in the secondary classroom. The content in MAS Ultra is geared toward high school students, and as such, is not recommended for college level research.
Middle Search Plus via EBSCO offers full-text content for over 150 popular middle school magazines, with Lexile reading level indicators for full-text articles. As the content in Middle Search Plus is geared toward middle school students, Secondary Education and credential students may find useful lesson plan ideas, activities, and primary sources materials for use in the classroom.
Available via Gale. This extensive database contains author biographies, overviews of frequently studied literary works, full-text poems, short stories, and plays, literary criticism, web sites, and definitions of literary terms, movements and themes. Can search for authors who share characteristics such as genre, time period, themes, nationality, ethnicity and gender.
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Largest, most authoritative English language dictionary. Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, traces the usage of sources, covers words from across the English-speaking world including etymological analysis, variant spellings, pronunciation, and provides uses of words from over 2.5 million quotations.
Provides access to reviews for over 600,000 books published since 1983, including fiction, nonfiction, books for children, and reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences. Includes both positive and negative reviews. Citations from thousands of periodicals. Daily updates.
Provides access to reviews of 300,000 older books, with excerpts of the review provided. The reviews come from about 500 English-language popular magazines, newspapers, and academic journals published during the 20th century. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.