Skip to main content

EndNote Web: Exporting Citations

Online guide for the web version of EndNote, sometimes called EndNote Web or EndNote Basic.

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO Databases such as Academic Search Premier, APA PsycInfo, ERIC, Historical Abstracts, RILM
 

  1. Search the database and locate the citation(s) you want to send to EndNote Web.
  2. For a single citation, click on the title of the citation to open the full record.  For multiple citations, you may place them in a temporary folder by clicking on the envelope icon located to the right of each citation title.  One way to access the folder when you are done is by clicking on the Folder option at the top of the page.
  3. For a single citation, click on the Export option on the right-hand side of the page.  For multiple citations in a folder, first select the citation(s) you wish to export and then click on the Export option on the right-hand side of the page.
  4. Choose the Direct Export to EndNote Web option and then click on the Save button.
  5. The EndNote Web login screen will appear.
  6. Login to your EndNote Web account.
  7. Your citation(s) will be found in the [Unfiled] group.  To access this group, please click on My References in the navigation bar near the top of the page.  [Unfiled] will be found under the My References section on the left-hand side of the page.
  8. Click on [Unfiled] to view your citation(s).
  9. To place your unfiled citation(s) in an existing or new group, please select the corresponding box(es) to the left of an author's name and then click on the Add to group... drop-down menu.

 

Alternative Export Method for EBSCO Databases

(Please note that if you are only using EndNote Web on your computer, you first will need to install the EndNote Cite While You Write plug-in on your computer's hard drive to facilitate the export process outlined below.)
 

  1. Search the database and locate the citation(s) you want to send to EndNote Web.
  2. For a single citation, click on the title of the citation to open the full record.  For multiple citations, you may place them in a temporary folder by clicking on the envelope icon located to the right of each citation title.  One way to access the folder when you are done is by clicking on the Folder option at the top of the page.
  3. For a single citation, click on the Export option on the right-hand side of the page.  For multiple citations in a folder, first select the citation(s) you wish to export and then click on the Export option on the right-hand side of the page.
  4. Choose the Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI,, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero) option and then click on the Save button.
  5. Open the file that appears at the bottom of the screen or in a pop-up box.  (Please check that pop-ups are enabled and repeat from step 3 above if needed.)
  6. You will be prompted to provide your EndNote Web login e-mail address and password.
  7. After the export process has been completed successfully, you will receive a confirmation message.
  8. When you login to your EndNote Web account, your citation(s) will be found in the [Unfiled] group, which is found under the My References section on the left-hand side of the page.
  9. Click on [Unfiled] to view your citation(s).
  10. To place your unfiled citation(s) in an existing or new group, please select the corresponding box(es) to the left of an author's name and then click on the Add to group... drop-down menu.

ProQuest Databases

ProQuest Databases such as ABI/INFORM, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatchSocial Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts,

(Please note that if you are only using EndNote Web on your computer, you first will need to install the EndNote Cite While You Write plug-in on your computer's hard drive to facilitate the export process outlined below.)
 

  1. Search the database and locate the citation(s) you want to send to EndNote Web.
  2. Mark your citation(s) by checking the box(es) to the left of a citation's title.
  3. Click on the symbol for saving items (in this case the set of three dots) located at the top of the list of results on the right-hand side of the page. 
  4. Click on the RIS (EndNote, Citavi, etc.) option from the list, after which you may scroll down to locate and click on the Continue button near the bottom.
  5. Open the file that appears at the bottom of the screen or in a pop-up box.  (Please check that pop-ups are enabled and repeat from step 3 above if needed.)
  6. You will be prompted to provide your EndNote Web login e-mail address and password.
  7. After the export process has been completed successfully, you will receive a confirmation message.
  8. When you login to your EndNote Web account, your citation(s) will be found in the [Unfiled] group under the My References section on the left-hand side of the page.
  9. To place your unfiled citation(s) in an existing or new group, please select the corresponding box(es) to the left of an author's name and then click on the Add to group... drop-down menu.

 

Alternative Export Method for ProQuest Databases

(Please note that this alternative export method for ProQuest databases does not require installation of the EndNote Cite While You Write plug-in on your computer's hard drive.)
 

  1. Search the database and locate the citation(s) you want to send to EndNote Web.
  2. Mark your citation(s) by checking the box(es) to the left of a citation's title.
  3. Click on the symbol for saving items (in this case the set of three dots) located at the top of the list of results on the right-hand side of the page.
  4. Click on the RIS (EndNote, Citavi, etc.) option from the list, after which you may scroll down to locate and click on the Continue button near the bottom.
  5. Open the folder containing the downloaded file and save the downloaded file to the computer desktop.
  6. Login to your EndNote Web account.
  7. Click on Collect in the navigation bar near the top of the page and then click on the Import References option.  You will be asked to complete three steps.
  8. First, select the downloaded file from the computer desktop.
  9. Second, select ProQuest (or RefMan RIS) as the import option.
  10. Third, select an existing group in your EndNote Web account in which to store the citation(s), or you may select the option to create a new group.  After this step, please click on the Import button (and if you have chosen to create a new group, enter the name of the group when prompted to do so).
  11. Upon successful completion of these steps, you will receive a confirmation message.
  12. To access the group containing your citation(s), please click on My References in the navigation bar near the top of the page.  The group will be found under the My References section on the left-hand side of the page.

Other Databases

For additional information on exporting citations (including citations from databases that do not offer direct export), please consult the help page in EndNote Web.

To access the help page in EndNote Web, please login to your EndNote Web account, click on the circular icon of a person in the upper-right-hand corner, and then click on the Help link.

Once on the help page, please locate the Collect References section for links to additional information, including the following related topics:

  • Importing References
  • Import Formats
  • Import Filter Favorites


OneSearch

Please keep in mind that citations you find through OneSearch on the Pollak Library website may be exported directly to EndNote Web. If the database you are using connects you to OneSearch, you may consider exporting the citation directly from OneSearch to your EndNote Web account.