Skip to main content

Nursing, Doctor of Nursing Practice: EndNote

This guide is designed for graduate students in the nursing DNP progam

What is EndNote?

Link to EndNote WebEndNote Web is a web-based bibliographic management software for collecting and managing references
Available to all current CSUF students/faculty/staff on and off campus.  However, you might find that you need to register for the EndNote service while you are on campus.

Use EndNote Web to...

  • Import citations, along with the link to the full text, from library databases.
  • Organize citations in folders for access and use at any time
  • Create formatted reference lists in a variety of styles, including APA, MLA, Turabian/Chicago, ASA, and more.
  • Using Cite While Your Write, inserts proper in-text citations as you write the paper and add citations to the bibliography.

==> EndNote Web Login                                        

Transfer References from EBSCO into EndNote Web

ebsco endnote screenshotHow to tranfer references from an EBSCO database into EndNote Web:

1. Click on the title of your reference to open the full record
2. Click on the Export button: export button
3. Choose Direct Export to EndNote Web and click on Save
4. The EndNote Web Log-in Screen will pop-up (watch your pop-up blocker)
5. Log-In or
Sign Up for an account
6.
Your references are automatically placed in [Unfiled] Group (found in My Reference Tab)
7. To place your unfiled reference in correct group, click on title and then Add to Group

For more information

video: Exporting from EBSCOhost Databases

Transfer References from PubMed to EndNote

pubmed endnote screenshotHow to tranfer references from PubMed into EndNote Web:

1. Click on the title of your reference to open the full record
2. Click on the Send to button on the upper right
3. Choose Citation Manager and click Create File
4. This will create a file called citations.nbib which you can add to your desktop
5. Log-In to EndNote

6.
Click on the Collect tab and then select Import References
7. Click Choose File and select citations.nbib.  For Import Options, choose PubMed (NLM), select the group you want to add it to, and you are done!

Transfer References from Pollak Library Catalog into EndNote Web

There is a direct link from EndNote Web to collect references from the Pollak Library Catalog

1. Login to EndNote Web

2. Click on Collect and then Online Search

3. See the drop down box under "Select database or library catalog connection."
    Select Cal State U-Fullerton
and then click on Connect

4. Notice that you can search by author/title/subject/ISBN
    It is not possible to search by keyword.

5. Click any references you would like to transfter and add to group.

Having Problems?
Hint: 1st. Start your search in our library catalog so you know the titles of what you want. 
        2nd. Use EndNote Web's link to our catalog (Cal State U-Fullerton)
and search by title.

Video: Searching the Pollak Library Catalog using EndNote Web

Annotated Bibliography Information

Subject Guide

Cotton Coslett's picture
Cotton Coslett
Contact:
PLN-445
(657) 278-7556