Skip to main content

Biology 500A: Articles

An online guide for Biology 500AB

Scientific Information

Flow of Scientific Information

Systematic Review Vs. Literature Review

Boolean Operators | Database Tips


database tips

Boolean Search Example

Major Databases

web of science logo pubmed logo

 biosis logozoolopical abstracts logo sciencedirect logo ebscohost logogooglescholar logo


Web of Science (Clarivate)
Web of Science  (1988 to present) is a multidisciplinary index that covers the sciences, social sciences, and arts &  humanities. Coverage includes scholarly journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Web of Science includes the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 to present) Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present) and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 to present), Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes (1990 to present; >110,000 conferences).

PubMed (NLM)
PubMed (1948 to present) is a comprehensive index to biomedical and life sciences journals.

BIOSIS Citation Index (Clarivate)
Includes Biological Abstracts. Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Includes journals, meetings, patents, and books (1926 to present).

Zoological Record (Clarivate)
Taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology.

ScienceDirect
Provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals in all areas of science.

EBSCOhost
General database that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology.

Google Scholar
Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports and more.

Major Database List