Spanish Language Databases
The following list contains databases with records for books, book chapters, journal articles, and other materials, primarily in Spanish, covering topics in humanities and the social sciences.
-
Prisma with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text scholarly journal articles in the social sciences and humanities for Latin American Studies, the Caribbean Basin, and Hispanics, Latinos and Chicanos in the United States. Subject areas include Anthropology, Business and Economics, History, Literature, Political Science and Sociology. Offers key titles indexed HAPI Online. Languages: Spanish, English and Portuguese. -
Fuente Acadmica Plus This link opens in a new window Fuente Acadmica Plus is the most complete database of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals. Hundreds of quality titles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain cover all major subject areas, including agriculture, economics, history, law, literature, psychology and sociology.
-
HAPI Online Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes scholarly journal articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics, Latinos and Chicanos in the United States. Topics include Anthropology; Archaeology; Ethnology; Art; Economics and Business; Geography; Government and Politics; International Relations; Literature; Music; Philosophy; and Sociology. Languages: Spanish and Portuguese.
-
Handbook of Latin American Studies - HLAS This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings on Latin America and the Caribbean. The multidisciplinary Handbook, edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress Coverage includes: Anthropology; Archaeology; Ethnology; Art; Economics; Electronic Resources (beginning in 1995); Geography; Government and Politics; International Relations; Literature; Music; Philosophy; and Sociology. Primary Languages: Spanish, English, and Portuguese.
-
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new windowArchives of Latin America and Caribbean History, Sixteenth through Twentieth Century contains over 1.3 million pages of primary source material providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations. In addition to keyword searching, users can access the collection by Person, Topic, Event, Named Work, and Country. The historical collections provide original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more and support researchers, postgraduates, and undergraduates with interests in regional studies, history, political science, anthropology, sociology, economics, and international relations.
-
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series 1 and 2Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 & 2, is an archive of publications covering U.S. Chicano/Latino/Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Based on materials from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, the collection includes complete text of hundreds of rare books by Chicano/Latino/Hispanic Americans, over 60,000 historical articles from newspapers, magazines and journals, 250,000 + pages of personal and organizational manuscripts including hundreds of political and religious pamphlets, broadsides, editorials, essays, letters, telegrams, speeches, transcripts, photographs, and advertisements. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and is indexed and searchable in both Spanish and English.
