Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern Languages & Literatures: MLA Citation Style

A guide to resources for Modern Languages and Literatures, including Spanish, French, German, as well as the International Business Concentration and Foreign Language Education. Other languages will be added. See separate guides for Chinese and TESOL

MLA Citation

The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 8th ed. (2016), is the authority used by writers in many disciplines in the humanities. Copies are kept at the Reference Desk for in-library use.Cover of the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook

Unofficial: CSUF MLA Citation Style (PDF) provides a two-page overview of some of the most common citation needs for both the in-text parenthetical documentation and the reference list.

Official: Frequently Asked Questions about MLA Style. The print MLA Handbook is the only authoritative source of citation rules. Copies are kept at the Reference Desk for in-library use.

Also Available Online:
OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue University. Purdue University's OWL is an excellent source to use for any citation style, inlcuding MLA.

    7th edition: For those still using the 7th edition of the MLA manual, please use this handout.

What is EndNote?

Link to EndNote WebEndNote Web is a web-based bibliographic management software for collecting and managing references
Available to all current CSUF students/faculty/staff on and off campus.  However, you might find that you need to register for the EndNote service while you are on campus.

Use EndNote Web to...

  • Import citations, along with the link to the full text, from library databases.
  • Organize citations in folders for access and use at any time
  • Create formatted reference lists in a variety of styles, including APA, MLA, Turabian/Chicago, ASA, and more.
  • Using Cite While Your Write, inserts proper in-text citations as you write the paper and add citations to the bibliography.

==> EndNote Web Login                                        

Cite While You Write, a part of EndNote Web

Cite While You Write is an EndNote Web plug-in designed to assist in writing papers.
It will insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word.

To download the plug-in:
1. Log-in to EndNote Web
2. Click on Format and then Cite While You Write Plug-in

After loading the plug-in:
1. EndNote Web will appear on the Word toolbar
2. Click on it to log-in to EndNote Web
3. Click on Find Catation and enter in your author's last name
4. OR  Go To EndNote Web to open the web in a 2nd window.
5. Always proof read the results and make necessary corrections.

____________________________________________________________________________________
Below is an example of what Cite While You Write will do for you. 
      Notice that the program formatted the in-text citation as well as the bibliography entry.  However, it is
      important to proofread and make corrections as needed. example: [Article] in the citation is not used in APA style.

       

      In this article, the authors examine the attitudes and perceptions of land use of men and women living within 150 kilometers of the US Department of Energy's Savannah River Site in South Carolina. It was their conclusion that gender differences were a significant factor in the attitudes toward land use.  (Burger, Sanchez, Gibbons, & Gochfeld, 1998)

 

                                                             Bibliography

Burger, J., Sanchez, J., Gibbons, J. W., & Gochfeld, M. (1998). Gender differences in recreational use, environmental
     attitudes, and perceptions of future land. [Article]. Environment & Behavior, 30(4), 472.