It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Governmental and Non Governmental research organizations
The subtabs have examples of research organizations that provide reports and/or collect statistical data on Chicanos and Latinos. Others can be found using any search engine or try some our databases recommend websites including CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints.
Full-text detailed reports on controversial social, economic, political, educational, health, environmental, technology, and current topics. Each report includes an abstract, overview, background summary, current situation, outlook, special focus, chronology, pro/con, and bibliography.
Covers a wide range of controversial topics and results may include sources such as magazine, newspaper or journal articles, government documents, political position papers, public policy statements, legal and legislative materials, pamphlets, statistical data, biographies, court cases, and links websites.
Reports and Statistics -- Federal Governmental Organizations
Links to government organizations that provide research and statistics on immigration and immigrants.
Most Federal departments and agencies will have reports and statistics in their areas of coverage. Below are some examples from agencies in the Federal Government most likely to be helpful to those doing research on Chicanos and Latinos. You can also try searching Search.USA.gov, the U.S. Government Official Search engine, or the Federal Digital System (FDsys) from the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) for more Federal reports and statistics.
Population, housing, economic, and geographic statistics, the latest economic indicators, and some historical census data back to 1790. Includes American Factfinder, American Community Survey, State & County QuickFacts, and the Economic Census. Access to data sets from the 2000 and 2010 censuses. Full-text subject reports.
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is a component of the Office of Justice Programs in the U.S. Department of Justice. Its mission "... (t)o collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded".
"The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant."
At DHS, the Office of Immigration Statistics serves a decision-support function by producing annual core reports on immigrants by legal status and by conducting quantitative studies and research on immigration.
A federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS). The site pulls together data sets from HHS agencies such as the National Health Institutes. Searches can be filtered by subject, sub agency, date, geographic subdivision, etc.
Reports & Statistics -- NGOs
Examples of non-governmental organizations and databases that provide research and statistics on Chicanos and Latinos:
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation. The Center does not take positions on policy issues. It is a project of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan "fact tank" in Washington, DC that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It is funded by The Pew Charitable Trusts.
The Tomás Rivera Policy Institute (TRPI), a freestanding, nonprofit, policy research organization, helps shape public policy by providing elected officials and community leaders with non-partisan research. The Institute has published 200 research reports and policy briefs addressing a wide range of topics – from immigration and education to technology, media and employment.
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts." --Taken from their website
[Their] policy research program is as diverse and dynamic as California itself. Focused on the forces shaping California’s future, our projects cut across a wide range of policy concerns, such as immigration, education, governance, the environment, and economic development.
---From PPIC FAQ
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.