LibGuides: Asian American Studies: ASAM 101

"Museum Exhibits"

Origins: The Birth and Rise of Chinese American Communities in Los Angeles
Origins: The Birth and Rise of Chinese American Communities in Los Angeles, a permanent, cutting edge exhibition celebrating the growth and development of Chinese American enclaves from Downtown Los Angeles to the San Gabriel Valley....This exhibit narrates Chinese immigration to the United States with an emphasis on community settlement in Los Angeles. The display is outlined into four distinct time periods. Each period is defined by an important immigration law and event, accompanied by a brief description and a short personal story about a local Chinese American and their experiences in that particular historical period."
Miné Okubo’s Masterpiece: The Art of Citizen 13660
"This year marks the 75th anniversary of artist Miné Okubo’s graphic memoir, Citizen 13660. When it was first published in 1946, it was groundbreaking. Not only was it the first book-length account on America’s concentration camps from the perspective of a former incarceree, but it was also an early example of a graphic memoir."
VIETNAMESE FOCUS: GENERATIONS OF STORIES
"Vietnamese Americans have lived in extraordinary times, surviving war, displacement, and resettlement. VIETNAMESE FOCUS: GENERATIONS OF STORIES showcases the diversity of the Vietnamese community in Orange County, the largest outside of Vietnam. This exhibition, co-curated by Linda Trinh Vo and Tram Le, presents snapshots of a dynamic and vibrant community that is contributing to the region."
Dune | A 50th Anniversary Celebration of Frank Herbert's Masterpiece
The exhibit, hosted by Pollak Library UASC, "was part of a month-long celebration of the 50th anniversary of the publication of Frank Herbert's Dune in the Fall of 2015. See the links at the end for more information on the exhibit, program, and novel."
Thủy Nguyễn: An Everyday Dream
"Journey through an enchanting world of luxuriant garments, vivid colours and reimagined cultural references dreamed up by one of Vietnam’s most prominent fashion designers, presented at The Factory Contemporary Arts Centre in Ho Chi Minh City. The show also marks the 10-year anniversary of her label Thủy Design House. "

Images | Primary Sources

Gidra Collection
"During its 1969 to 1974 run, Gidra chronicled the dramatic changes in the Asian American community, and was itself a catalyst for many of these changes. To many, this monthly newsletter was the voice of the Asian American Movement." Now the full run of Gidra is accessible in the Densho Digital Repository.
Online Archive of California
"The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses."
Calisphere
The "gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections. Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over two million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.

The collections in Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state."
Digital Library of America
Works "with a national network of partners to: Make millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience."

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Academic Search Premier
General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
This database is similar to AP Images available on the EBSCO platform. This mobile friendly version is available via the Associated Press platform. It contains millions of photos, graphics, text, and audio clips from the worldwide Associated Press (AP) newswire service. In addition to current news images (updated hourly, real-time), it includes historical photos back to the 1800s, and audio clips back to the early 1900s. All material is copyright owned by AP, but available from this database for educational use. Useful for finding images on any topic (people, nature, politics, business, sports, entertainment, etc.) to use in presentations.
AP Images This link opens in a new window
Available via EBSCO. An image database of millions of photographs and graphics from AP, the Associated Press. Photographs: color and B&W, dating from 1826 to the present. Graphics: maps, diagrams, drawings etc. Also includes audio files (sound clips) dating from the 1920s. The database is strongest since 1997, but there is a good deal of older, historical material. The database is updated every minute, daily, so that photos of current events are instantly available. All photos/graphics/audio is copyrighted material owned by the Associated Press, but available to subscribers for educational use.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Database available via ARTstor. Digital images of works of art with accompanying information including size and ownership. Includes over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, and the humanities. Technical requirements http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-html/requirements.shtml NOTE 1: Pop-up blocking software must be disabled. NOTE 2: Requires Flash 6 or higher.

Search Examples: ASAM History Topics

The Asian American Movement
The Asian American Movement AND (college or campus or university)

Model minority AND (history or origin)

Delano grape strike
Delano strike AND Filipino farm workers
Larry Itliong AND the Agricultural Workers Organizing Committee

Immigration Laws
The Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882

Gidra Magazine

U.S.-Philippine War

Search Examples: Concept | Topics

Racism
Anti-Asian Racism and Post-9/11

Asian Americans and Identity
Asian Americans AND (Identity formation or identity consciousness)

Civil Rights
Civil Rights and Asian Americans

Civil Rights and Filipino farm workers
(Civil Rights or politics) and Asian American art

Citizenship
Citizenship AND (Ozawa and Thind)
Citizenship and (Ozawa or Thind)

Diaspora AND (Place or San Gabriel Valley)
Diaspora AND Vietnamese America*

Food AND racial identity
Food and (Asian American or Filipino American) AND identity
Boba culture

U.S. Imperialism
U.S. Imperialism AND U.S.-Phillipine War

Search Examples: Place | Geography | City | Region | Neighborhood

California Cities and Towns via Library of Congress

Census Information This link opens in a new window
Population, housing, economic, and geographic statistics, the latest economic indicators, and some historical census data back to 1790. Includes American Factfinder, American Community Survey, State & County QuickFacts, and the 2002 Economic Census. Access to data sets from the 1990 and 2000 censuses. Full-text subject reports.

Search Examples

Chinatown
Chinatowns AND (race or racial hierarchy)
Place AND (race or racial construct) AND Chinatown

San Gabriel Valley AND hybridity
Chinese neighborhoods AND hybridity

Little Saigon
Filipino town
Thai Town
Cambodian and Long Beach

Westminster AND California AND Vietnamese American*
Vietnamese diaspora and Southern California

Asian American Studies: ASAM 101