Find books, ebooks, and multimedia from the Pollak Library Collection using OneSearch!
New Arrivals: eBooks
Managing stress: principles and strategies for health and well-being by Seaward, Brian Luke"Now in its ninth edition, Managing Stress: Principles and Strategies for Health and Well-Being provides a comprehensive approach to stress management honoring the integration, balance, and harmony of mind, body, spirit, and emotions. The holistic approach taken by internationally acclaimed lecturer and author Brian Luke Seaward gently guides the reader to greater levels of mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being by emphasizing the importance of mind-body-spirit unity. Referred to as the "authority on stress management" by students and professionals, this book gives students the tools needed to identify stress while teaching them how to strive for health and balance."
Care in the Community by Martin Knapp; Paul Cambridge; Corinne Thomason; Jennifer Beecham; Caroline Allen; Robin DartonFirst published in 1992, this second book in the series fully described the evaluation programme and seeks to answer pressing questions of policy and practice This book is split into four parts: Introduction to the pilot programme, the projects and their clients; the policy contexts; the objectives; the research methodology. The Process of care: financing, accommodation and service use, staffing, case management, joint working. Evaluation: Outcomes for clients and others, and costs, for each of the client's groups (people with learning difficulties, people with mental health problems, elderly people and people with physical disabilities). Finally this book aims to further discuss, Policy and practice implications.
Publication Date: 2018-12-14
Charting the Next Pandemic by Ana Pastore y Piontti; Nicola Perra; Luca Rossi; Nicole Samay; Alessandro Vespignani; Corrado Gioannini (Contribution by); Marcelo F. C. Gomes (Contribution by); Bruno Gonçalves (Contribution by)This book provides an introduction to the computational and complex systems modeling of the global spreading of infectious diseases. The latest developments in the area of contagion processes modeling are discussed, and readers are exposed to real world examples of data-model integration impacting the decision-making process. Recent advances in computational science and the increasing availability of real-world data are making it possible to develop realistic scenarios and real-time forecasts of the global spreading of emerging health threats. The first part of the book guides the reader through sophisticated complex systems modeling techniques with a non-technical and visual approach, explaining and illustrating the construction of the modern framework used to project the spread of pandemics and epidemics. Models can be used to transform data to knowledge that is intuitively communicated by powerful infographics and for this reason, the second part of the book focuses on a set of charts that illustrate possible scenarios of future pandemics. The visual atlas contained allows the reader to identify commonalities and patterns in emerging health threats, as well as explore the wide range of models and data that can be used by policy makers to anticipate trends, evaluate risks and eventually manage future events. Charting the Next Pandemic puts the reader in the position to explore different pandemic scenarios and to understand the potential impact of available containment and prevention strategies. This book emphasizes the importance of a global perspective in the assessment of emerging health threats and captures the possible evolution of the next pandemic, while at the same time providing the intelligence needed to fight it. The text will appeal to a wide range of audiences with diverse technical backgrounds.
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
Community and public health education methods: A practical guide by Bensley, Robert J. & Brookins-Fisher, JodiUpdated and revised to keep pace with changes in the field, the fourth edition of Community and Public Health Education Methods: A Practical Guide teaches students to effectively communicate health education messages and positively influence the norms and behaviors of both individuals and communities. Written by and for health education specialists, this text explores the methods used by health educators, including didactic techniques designed to guide others toward the pursuit of a healthy lifestyle. The text is divided into three sections, each containing chapters that center on a common theme. Section I focuses on building the foundation for selecting and applying community health education methods, including chapters focusing on theories and models, becoming a professional, promoting multicultural diversity, social marketing concepts, and health communication strategies. Chapters in sections II and III follow a similar format that includes an introduction to the topics, steps for implementing the skill, tips and techniques for successful implementation, strategies for overcoming challenges, and expected outcomes. Features & Benefits: Includes a new chapter focusing on using social media tools, such as Facebook, twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Snapchat, texting, blogging, smartphone apps, internet channels (e.g., YouTube), video vines, etc; Incorporates the new CHES competencies throughout the book, so that users understand what to expect in terms of CHES within each chapter; Each chapter includes key terms, additional resources, interesting "Did You Know?" facts, and a series of "Community Connections" vignettes designed to provide readers with an easy-to-understand, practical application on the concepts presented
Essentials of Environmental Health by Robert H. FriisEssentials of Environmental Health is a clear and comprehensive study of the major topics of environmental health, including a background of the field and "tools of the trade" (environmental epidemiology, environmental toxicology, and environmental policy and regulation); Environmental diseases (microbial agents, ionizing and non-ionizing radiation); and Applications and domains of environmental health (water and air quality, food safety, waste disposal, and occupational health).Using a straightforward, non-technical approach, the author has included many examples and illustrations of environmental health issues. Perfect for the beginning student as well as the experienced health professional, each chapter concludes with study questions and exercises to engage the reader in further study.The Third Edition maintains the structure of the previous edition with thoroughly updated examples, data, charts, tables and figures throughout. The most recent findings on the Ebola and Zika viruses have been added to the chapter on Zoonotic and vector-borne diseases. Additional study questions, exercises and ancillary materials have also been added.
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health by Ann Aschengrau; George R. SeageEssentials of Epidemiology in Public Health, Fourth Edition combines theory and practice in presenting traditional and new epidemiologic concepts. Broad in scope, the text opens with five chapters covering the basic epidemiologic concepts and data sources. A major emphasis is placed on study design, with separate chapters devoted to each of the three main analytic designs: experimental, cohort, and case-control studies.Full chapters on bias, confounding, and random error, including the role of statistics in epidemiology, ensure that students are well-equipped with the necessary information to interpret the results of epidemiologic studies. Up-to-date examples from the epidemiologic literature on diseases of public health importance are provided throughout the book.Key Features:* New examples and the latest public health statistics throughout* Coverage of the Ebola outbreak including an in-depth investigation of what happened* New examples that illustrate epidemiological principles including a greater emphasis on social factors that influence health, such as racism* Straightforward descriptions of the latest epidemiologic methods including mediation analysis, agent-based modelling, and the use of directed acyclic graphs (DAGs) to assess confounding.* An expanded glossary and key terms highlighted throughout the text
Publication Date: 2018-09-12
Global health: diseases, programs, systems, and policies by Merson, Michael H., Black, Robert E., & Mills, Anne J.Global Health: Diseases, Programs, Systems, and Policies, Fourth Edition brings together contributions from the world's leading authorities into a single comprehensive text. It thoroughly examines the wide range of global health challenges facing low- and middle-income countries today and the various approaches nations adopt to deal with them. These challenges include measurement of health status, infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, nutrition, reproductive health, global environmental health, and complex emergencies. The book also explores the financing and management of emerging health systems as well as the roles of nation states, international agencies, the private sector, and nongovernmental organizations in promoting health. Designed for graduate-level students, this text provides an expansive view of today's issues and challenges in global health and be an invaluable resource in the years to come. Updated throughout to reflect new and emerging issues, the Fourth Edition
Publication Date: 2020
Health Disparities, Diversity, and Inclusion by Patti R. RoseDespite the many Public Health successes over the last century, health disparity continues to exist in in American society. This introductory text addresses this topic head on, exploring steps that must be taken to prepare for the rapidly changing demographics in American society, including immigration reform (emerging majorities), and evidenced based information substantiating the fact that diversity matters in terms of the provision of health care.
Health and Health Care Concerns among Women and Racial and Ethnic Minorities by Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld (Editor)This volume covers macro-level system issues and micro-level issues involving health and health care concerns for women, and racial and ethnic minorities. Topics covered include examination of health and health care issues of patients or of providers of care especially those related to concerns for women and for racial and ethnic minorities in different countries. This volume is divided into four sections. The first section introduces the volume. The second section covers women and reproductive related health and health care concerns, using data sources from the United States and the UK. The third section examines health care practitioners, health and health care, relating to issues of women or racial and ethnic minorities, using data sources from the US and Canada. The last section relates specifically to racial and ethnic minorities and health and health care. Chapters focus on Black men, on Asian Americans, on Mexican Americans, and across racial and/or ethnic differences.
Publication Date: 2017-08-31
Dying at the Margins by David Wendell Moller (Editor)Dying at the Margins: Reflections on Justice and Healing for Inner-City Poor gives voice to the most vulnerable and disempowered population - the urban dying poor - and connects them to the voices of leaders in end-of-life-care. Chapters written by these experts in the field discuss the issuesthat challenge patients and their loved ones, as well as offering insights into how to improve the quality of their lives. In an illuminating and timely follow up to Dancing with Broken Bones, all discussions revolve around the actual experiences of the patients previously documented, encouraging agreater understanding about the needs of the dying poor, advocating for them, and developing best practices in caring. Demystifying stereotypes that surround poverty, Moller illuminates how faith, remarkable optimism, and an unassailable spirit provide strength and courage to the dying poor.Dying at the Margins serves as a rallying call for not only end-of-life professionals, but compassionate individuals everywhere, to understand and respond to the needs of the especially vulnerable, yet inspiring, people who comprise the world of the inner city dying poor.
Publication Date: 2018-10-31
Lgbt Health by K. Bryant Smalley (Editor)LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities offers a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. This book examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs. Drawing from leading scholars and practitioners of LGBT health, this holistic, centralized text synthesizes epidemiologic, medical, psychological, sociological, and public health research related to the origins of, current state of, and ways to improve LGBT health. The award-winning editors have assembled LGBT health experts who have conducted extensive research into diverse areas of LGBT health. Sections guide the reader through the entire spectrum of LGBT health, from the historical roots of LGBT health research all the way to modern, emerging lines of inquiry to improve health among diverse gender and sexual minority groups. Specific groundbreaking coverage includes such populations as LGBT veterans; reproductive health and parenting; sexual minority persons living with chronic illness and disability, and more. This encompassing volume serves as a go-to reference, a call to action, and a guide for anyone involved in researching and improving the health of LGBT populations. KEY FEATURESSynthesizes research from the psychological, sociological, medical, and public health fields into a comprehensive discussion of LGBT healthCovers the continuum of health from antecedents and sociocultural determinants through specific evidence-based approaches for improving outcomesIncludes specific focus on a wide range of health outcomes, including topics often neglected in the field such as reproductive health and parenting, intimate partner violence, cancer, and other chronic diseasesSpecifically investigates a variety of LGBT subgroups and their unique health needs including for LGBT veterans, transgender men and women, and racial and ethnic minorities who are LGBTPowerPoint slides with discussion questions available for qualified Instructors
Publication Date: 2017-10-28
The Health of Newcomers by Patricia Illingworth; Wendy E. ParmetImmigration and health care are hotly debated and contentious issues. Policies that relate to both issues--to the health of newcomers--often reflect misimpressions about immigrants, and their impact on health care systems. Despite the fact that immigrants are typically younger and healthier than natives, and that many immigrants play a vital role as care-givers in their new lands, native citizens are often reluctant to extend basic health care to immigrants, choosing instead to let them suffer, to let them die prematurely, or to expedite their return to their home lands. Likewise, many nations turn against immigrants when epidemics such as Ebola strike, under the false belief that native populations can be kept well only if immigrants are kept out. In The Health of Newcomers, Patricia Illingworth and Wendy E. Parmet demonstrate how shortsighted and dangerous it is to craft health policy on the basis of ethnocentrism and xenophobia. Because health is a global public good and people benefit from the health of neighbor and stranger alike, it is in everyone's interest to ensure the health of all. Drawing on rigorous legal and ethical arguments and empirical studies, as well as deeply personal stories of immigrant struggles, Illingworth and Parmet make the compelling case that global phenomena such as poverty, the medical brain drain, organ tourism, and climate change ought to inform the health policy we craft for newcomers and natives alike. Immigration and health care are hotly debated and contentious issues. Policies that relate to both issues--to the health of newcomers--often reflect misimpressions about immigrants, and their impact on health care systems. Despite the fact that immigrants are typically younger and healthier than natives, and that many immigrants play a vital role as care-givers in their new lands, native citizens are often reluctant to extend basic health care to immigrants, choosing instead to let them suffer, to let them die prematurely, or to expedite their return to their home lands. Likewise, many nations turn against immigrants when epidemics such as Ebola strike, under the false belief that native populations can be kept well only if immigrants are kept out. In The Health of Newcomers, Patricia Illingworth and Wendy E. Parmet demonstrate how shortsighted and dangerous it is to craft health policy on the basis of ethnocentrism and xenophobia. Because health is a global public good and people benefit from the health of neighbor and stranger alike, it is in everyone's interest to ensure the health of all. Drawing on rigorous legal and ethical arguments and empirical studies, as well as deeply personal stories of immigrant struggles, Illingworth and Parmet make the compelling case that global phenomena such as poverty, the medical brain drain, organ tourism, and climate change ought to inform the health policy we craft for newcomers and natives alike.
Publication Date: 2017-01-24
Black LGBT Health in the United States by Lourdes Dolores Follins (Editor)Black LGBT Health in the United States: The Intersection of Race, Gender, and Sexual Orientation focuses on the mental, physical, and spiritual aspects of health, and considers both risk and resiliency factors for the Black LGBT population. Contributors to this collection intimately understand the associations between health and intersectional anti-Black racism, heterosexism, homonegativity, biphobia, transphobia, and social class. This collection fills a gap in current scholarship by providing information about an array of health issues like cancer, juvenile incarceration, and depression that affect all subpopulations of Black LGBT people, especially Black bisexual-identified women, Black bisexual-identified men, and Black transgender men. This book is recommended for readers interested in psychology, health, gender studies, race studies, social work, and sociology.
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
New & Notable Public Health Print Titles
Public Health Nursing by Marcia Stanhope; Jeanette LancasterEnsure you have a solid understanding of community and public health nursing with this industry standard text! Public Health Nursing: Population-Centered Health Care in the Community, 10th Edition provides up-to-date information on issues such as infectious diseases, natural and man-made disasters, and healthcare policies affecting individuals, families, and communities. This new edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect current data, issues, trends and practices presented in an easy-to-understand, accessible format. Additionally, real-life scenarios show examples of health promotion and public health interventions. Ideal for BSN and Advanced Practice Nursing programs, this comprehensive, bestselling text will provide you with a greater understanding of public health nursing! Focus on Quality and Safety Education for Nurses boxes give examples of how quality and safety goals, knowledge, competencies and skills, and attitudes can be applied to nursing practice in the community. Healthy People boxes highlight goals and objectives for?promoting the nation's health and wellness over the next decade. Linking Content to Practice boxes provide examples of the nurse's role in caring for individuals, families, and populations in community health settings. Evidence-Based Practice boxes illustrate the use and application of the latest research findings in public/community health nursing. UNIQUE! Separate chapters on healthy cities, the Intervention Wheel, and nursing centers describe different approaches to community health initiatives. Levels of Prevention boxes identify specific nursing interventions at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels. End-of-chapter Practice Application scenarios, Key Points, and Clinical Decision-Making activities promote application and in-depth understanding of chapter content. UPDATED Content and figures reflect current data, issues, trends, and practices. How To boxes provide you with practical application practice. NEW! Check Your Practice boxes added throughout feature scenarios and discussion questions to promote active learning.
Publication Date: 2019-09-23
Fundamentals of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Marc S. MicozziGet a solid, global foundation of the therapies and evidence-based clinical applications of CAI. Fundamentals of Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Medicine, 6th Edition is filled with the most up-to-date information on scientific theory and research of holistic medicine from experts around the world. The 6th edition of this acclaimed text includes all new content on quantum biology and biofields in health and nursing, integrative mental health care, and homeopathic medicine. Its wide range of topics explores therapies most commonly seen in the U.S., such as energy medicine, mind-body therapies, and reflexology along with traditional medicine and practices from around the world. With detailed coverage of historic and contemporary applications, this text is a solid resource for all practitioners in the medical, health, and science fields! Coverage of CAI therapies and systems includes those most commonly encountered or growing in popularity, so you can carefully evaluate each treatment. An evidence-based approach focuses on treatments best supported by clinical trials and scientific evidence. Observations from mechanisms of action to evidence of clinical efficacy answers questions of how, why, and when CAM therapies work. A unique synthesis of information, including historical usage, cultural and social analysis, current basic science theory and research, and a wide range of clinical investigations and observations, makes this text a focused, authoritative resource. Global coverage includes discussions of traditional healing arts from Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Clinical guides for selecting therapies, and new advances for matching the appropriate therapy to the individual patient, enables you to offer and/or recommend individualized patient care. Expert contributors include well-known writers such as Kevin Ergil, Patch Adams, Joseph Pizzorno, and Marc Micozzi. A unique history of CAI?traces CAM therapies from their beginnings to present day practices. Suggested readings and references on the companion website list the best resources for further research and study. NEW! Added chapters offer fresh perspective on quantum biology and biofields in health and nursing, integrative mental health care, and homeopathic medicine. NEW! Updated chapters?feature new content and topics, including: challenges in integrative medicine, legal issues, CAI in the community, psychometric evaluation, placebo effect, stress management, and much more! NEW! Updated guides?on common herbal remedies?in clinical practice, East and Southeast Asia, and native North and South America deliver the latest information. NEW! Basic science content and new theory and research studies?cover a wide range of sciences such as biophysics, biology and ecology, ethnomedicine, psychometrics, neurosciences, and systems theory. NEW! Expanded global ethnomedical systems?includes new content on Shamanism and Neo-Shamanism, Central and North Asia, Southeast Asia, Nepal and Tibet, Hawaii and South Pacific, Alaska and Pacific Northwest, and contemporary global healthcare.
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Gordis Epidemiology by David D. Celentano; Moyses SzkloFrom the Department of Epidemiology at Johns Hopkins University and continuing in the tradition of award-winning educator and epidemiologist Dr. Leon Gordis, comes the fully revised 6th Edition of Gordis Epidemiology. This bestselling text provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout. New coverage includes expanded information on genetic epidemiology, epidemiology and public policy, and ethical and professional issues in epidemiology, providing a strong basis for understanding the role and importance of epidemiology in today's data-driven society. Covers the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way, using a wealth of full-color figures, graphs, charts, and cartoons to help you understand and retain key information. Reflects how epidemiology is practiced today, with a new chapter organization progressing from observation and developing hypotheses to data collection and analyses. Features new end-of-chapter questions for quick self-assessment, and a glossary of genetic terminology. Provides more than 200 additional multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RA651 .G58 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-26
An Introduction to Community and Public Health by James F. McKenzie; Robert R. Pinger; Denise SeabertEach new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.An Introduction to Community & Public Health, Ninth Edition provides learners with the latest trends and statistics in this evolving field. With an emphasis on developing the knowledge and skills necessary for a career in health education and health promotion, this best-selling introductory text covers such topics as epidemiology, community organizations, program planning, minority health, mental health, environmental health, drug use and abuse, safety, and occupational health. A robust pedagogy and enhanced digital learning component encourages students to understand and retain community health issues and better prepare for their future careers.NEW! - Includes new information about the impact of the Affordable Care Act on family planningNEW! - Provides the latest information on preconception health care and counseling which are relative new foci for pregnancy healthNEW! - Includes an updated discussion on vaccine safety and non-vaccination due to religious and philosophical exceptions which affect vulnerable populationNEW! - Includes new information on the relationship of mental health to general health,NEW! - Incorporates the latest information on new law enforcement policies regarding how to handle people with mental health crisesEXPANDED! - Updated information on electronic or e-cigarettes, abuse of opioid pain relievers, and the move by some states to legalize the use of marijuana for medical or recreational usesEXPANDED! - The latest information on barriers to prenatal care and the importance of nutrition and vitamin supplementation during pregnancyEXPANDED & REVISED--Chapter 14 Community Health and the Environment has been thoroughly revised and updated. New information has been included about mold as an indoor pollutant, runoff and lead as water pollutants, complex disasters, the Zika virus, and emergency preparedness and response. In addition, a new box on the Flint, Michigan, drinking water crisis has been included
Our Global Environment by Anne Nadakavukaren; Jack CaravanosOur Global Environment, regarded for decades as the quintessential introduction to environ-mental health for its authoritative coverage and cogent prose, provides a richly detailed survey of current environmental issues. In compelling language, Anne Nadakavukaren and new coauthor Jack Caravanos describe the crucial interdependence between humans and their environment, exploring the varied ways in which human activities have impacted, degraded, or altered the environment, and the consequences to both natural ecosystems and human health and well-being.The eighth edition features a new chapter on climate change and the public health impacts of global warming, incorporating the latest assessments of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change with regard to the physical science basis, mitigation efforts, and adaptation strategies. Extensive revisions and updates throughout the volume reflect current topics of concern, including the magnitude of global hunger and malnutrition, outbreaks of the Zika virus, vaping and the incidence of serious lung injury, MTBE contamination of groundwater, recycling of lead-acid batteries in developing countries, mercury exposure among artisanal gold miners, and lead-contaminated drinking water in Flint, Michigan, and other communities.Readers will appreciate the addition of 16 pages of color images as well as the authors' emphasis on opportunities for public participation in the decision-making processes that profoundly influence health and environmental quality.
Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs: a Primer by James McKenzie; Brad Neiger; Rosemary ThackerayFor undergraduate courses in Health Education, Promotion, and Planning. Provide Students with the Tools They Need to Be Successful in Health Promotion Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs: A Primer provides students with a comprehensive overview of the practical and theoretical skills needed to plan, implement, and evaluate health promotion programs in a variety of settings. The 7th Edition features updated information throughout, including the new Responsibilities and Competencies generated from the Health Education Specialist Practice Analysis-2015 (HESPA-2015), and reflects the latest trends in the field.
Call Number: RA427.8 .M39 2017
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Racism by Chandra L. Ford"This book outlines the relationship between racism and health, while providing public health professionals with a variety of actions, strategies, and tools to understand and address the public health implications of racism, as well as inspiration to pursue health equity"--
Call Number: RA563.M56 R336 2019
Publication Date: 2019-11-01
Stanfield's Introduction to Health Professions by Nanna Cross; Dana McWayNow in full color, the Seventh Edition of Stanfield's Introduction to Health Professions provides comprehensive coverage of all the major health professions. This valuable resource is designed for students who are interested in pursuing a health-related career but are still exploring and have not yet decided on a career. The Seventh Edition outlines more than 75 careers and touches on every major facet of the field including a description of the profession and typical work settings; educational, licensure, and certification requirements; salary and growth projections; and internet resources on educational programs.In addition, this text provides a thorough review of the U.S. healthcare delivery system, managed care, health care financing, reimbursement, insurance coverage, Medicare, Medicaid, and the impact of new technology on healthcare services. Information on career preparation and development is also included. All chapters are updated to reflect current demographics and new policies. Each section has also been thoroughly updated to reflect current training requirements, responsibilities, and salaries, as established in the 2016-2017 Occupational Outlook Handbook.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Call Number: R690 .S727 2017
Publication Date: 2016-08-10
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics by Neil J. Salkind; Bruce B. FreyNow in its Seventh Edition, Neil J. Salkind's bestselling Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics with new co-author Bruce B. Frey teaches an often intimidating subject with a humorous, personable, and informative approach that reduces statistics anxiety. With instruction in SPSS®, the authors guide students through basic and advanced statistical procedures, from correlation and graph creation to analysis of variance, regression, non-parametric tests, and more. The Seventh Edition includes new real-world examples, additional coverage on multiple regression and power and effect size, and a robust interactive eBook with video tutorials and animations of key concepts. In the end, students who (think they) hate statistics will understand how to explain the results of many statistical analyses and won't be intimidated by basic statistical tasks.
Call Number: HA29 .S2365 2020
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
Understanding Health Policy: a Clinical Approach, Eighth Edition by Thomas S. Bodenheimer; Kevin GrumbachPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted and comprehensive guide to the healthcare system--fully updated with the latest changes and trends A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach provides everything you need to master the healthcare system's nuances and complexities, work more effectively with other members of healthcare teams, and identify areas in need of change. Written by practicing primary care physicians who are experts in healthcare policy, this peerless guide covers the entire scope of the U.S. healthcare system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations. The authors carefully weave key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make vital health policy issues interesting and understandable. Whether you're a student, medical practitioner, or public policy professional, you will come away with a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about our healthcare system, its biggest challenges, and the most effective ways of making it better for everyone. Features * Covers every aspect of healthcare, including finance, organization, and reimbursement * Delivers updated information on the Affordable Care Act, Accountable Care Organizations, and system consolidation * Provides new insights into the role of social determinants in patient health * Clinical vignettes highlight key policy issues and clarify difficult concepts
Publication Date: 2020-04-02
A Wellness Way of Life, Loose Leaf Edition by Gwen Robbins; Debbie Powers; Sharon BurgessA Wellness Way ofLife helps student readers make sense of the array of confusing andsometimes contradictory health information that bombards the public every day.By minimizing technical jargon and presenting health topics and issues in aclear and accessible way, A Wellness Wayof Life informs students about the science of wellness as it pertains totopics such as exercise, nutrition, weight management, stress, and heart disease,and it empowers them to make smart health decisions in order to enjoy alifetime of wellness. Grounded in solid, up-to-date research, A Wellness Way of Life utilizes innovativetechnologies to engage and motivate students to take their health seriously andmake healthy lifestyle behavior choices.
Publication Date: 2016-09-29
The Poisoned City by Anna ClarkWhen the people of Flint, Michigan, turned on their faucets in April 2014, the water pouring out was poisoned with lead and other toxins. Through a series of disastrous decisions, the state government had switched the city's water supply to a source that corroded Flint's aging lead pipes. Complaints about the foul-smelling water were dismissed: the residents of Flint, mostly poor and African American, were not seen as credible, even in matters of their own lives. It took eighteen months of activism by city residents and a band of dogged outsiders to force the state to admit that the water was poisonous. By that time, twelve people had died and Flint's children had suffered irreparable harm. The long battle for accountability and a humane response to this man-made disaster has only just begun. In the first full account of this American tragedy, Anna Clark's The Poisoned City recounts the gripping story of Flint's poisoned water through the people who caused it, suffered from it, and exposed it. It is a chronicle of one town, but could also be about any American city, all made precarious by the neglect of infrastructure and the erosion of democratic decision making. Places like Flint are set up to fail--and for the people who live and work in them, the consequences can be fatal.
Call Number: RA591 .C53 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-10
The Fears of the Rich, The Needs of the Poor by William W. FoegeIn its seventy years, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has evolved from a malaria control program to an institution dedicated to improving health for all people across the world. The Fears of the Rich, The Needs of the Poor is a revealing account of the CDC's development by its former director, public health luminary William H. Foege. Dr. Foege tells the stories of pivotal moments in public health, including the eradication of smallpox (made possible due in part to Foege's research) and the discovery of Legionnaires' disease, Reye syndrome, toxic shock syndrome, and HIV/AIDS. With good humor and optimism, he recounts the various crises he surmounted, from threats of terrorist attacks to contentious congressional hearings and funding cuts. Highlighting the people who made possible some of public health's biggest successes, Foege outlines the work required behind the scenes and describes the occasional tensions between professionals in the field and the politicians in charge of oversight. In recent years, global public health initiatives have come from unanticipated sources. Giants in the field now include President Jimmy Carter and his wife, Rosalynn, who promote programs aimed at neglected diseases. Melinda and Bill Gates have invigorated the field through research and direct program support, especially in the area of vaccine-preventable diseases. And the Merck Mectizan program has dramatically reduced river blindness in Africa. Foege has been involved in all of these efforts, among others, and he brings to this book the knowledge and wisdom derived from a long and accomplished career. The Fears of the Rich, The Needs of the Poor is an inviting but unvarnished account of that career and offers a plethora of lessons for those interested in public health.
Unequal Coverage by Heide Castañeda; Jessica M. Mulligan (Editor)The Affordable Care Act's impact on coverage, access to care, and systematic exclusion in our health care system The Affordable Care Act set off an unprecedented wave of health insurance enrollment as the most sweeping overhaul of the U.S. health insurance system since 1965. In the years since its enactment, some 20 million uninsured Americans gained access to coverage. And yet, the law remained unpopular and politically vulnerable. While the ACA extended social protections to some groups, its implementation was troubled and the act itself created new forms of exclusion. Access to affordable coverage options were highly segmented by state of residence, income, and citizenship status. Unequal Coverage documents the everyday experiences of individuals and families across the U.S. as they attempted to access coverage and care in the five years following the passage of the ACA.It argues that while the Affordable Care Act succeeded in expanding access to care, it did so unevenly, ultimately also generating inequality and stratification. The volume investigates the outcomes of the ACA in communities throughout the country and provides up-close, intimate portraits of individuals and groups trying to access and provide health care for both the newly insured and those who remain uncovered. The contributors use the ACA as a lens to examine more broadly how social welfare policies in a multiracial and multiethnic democracy purport to be inclusive while simultaneously embracing certain kinds of exclusions. Unequal Coverage concludes with an examination of the Affordable Care Act's uncertain legacy under the new Presidential administration and considers what the future may hold for the American health care system. The book illustrates lessons learned and reveals how the law became a flashpoint for battles over inequality, fairness, and the role of government. More books on the health care debate
Call Number: RA395.A3 U48 2017
Publication Date: 2017-12-26
Vaccinating Britain by Gareth MillwardVaccinating Britain shows how the British public has played a central role in the development of vaccination policy since the Second World War. It explores the relationship between the public and public health through five key vaccines - diphtheria, smallpox, poliomyelitis, whooping cough and measles-mumps-rubella (MMR). It reveals that while the British public has embraced vaccination as a safe, effective and cost-efficient form of preventative medicine, demand for vaccination and trust in the authorities that provide it has ebbed and flowed according to historical circumstances. It is the first book to offer a long-term perspective on vaccination across different vaccine types. This history provides context for students and researchers interested in present-day controversies surrounding public health immunisation programmes. Historians of the post-war British welfare state will find valuable insight into changing public attitudes towards institutions of government and vice versa.
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.