Background
Background and Introductory Information
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas. -
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Full-text detailed reports on controversial social, economic, political, educational, health, environmental, technology, and current topics. Each report includes an abstract, overview, background summary, current situation, outlook, special focus, chronology, pro/con, and bibliography.
-
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of controversial topics and results may include sources such as magazine, newspaper or journal articles, government documents, political position papers, public policy statements, legal and legislative materials, pamphlets, statistical data, biographies, court cases, and links websites.
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowCollection of 260+ Reference books; including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and books of quotations, includes resources in a wide range of fields.
Videos
Vidoeolectures.net on Criminology
Crime: The Real Internet Security Problem Google TechTalks, January 24, 2006, Phillip Hallam-Baker. Internet Crime is a serious and growing problem. Phishing, Advance Fee and Consumer fraud continue to grow at alarming rates. Internet crime is a business that makes huge profits for some. But despite the fact that security has regularly polled as almost every type of Internet user's top priority over the past ten years, almost none of the security mechanisms developed in response are effectively controlling Internet crime. (58:19)
Getting information
Research Basic Modules. (Note: Requires Adobe Flash Player.) A series of Camtasia tutorials by Sara Miller to help undergraduates understand the basics of library research, including:
- Searching With A Purpose: Video Tutorial (5:25) : Learn how to select a research topic or inquiry and begin your search for information.
- Popular, Scholarly, or Trade?: Video Tutorial (3:57) : Learn the difference between popular, scholarly, and trade publications.
- Evalutating Information Online : Tips on how to critically examine a web site and how to evaluate authority, accuracy, currency, and other criteria.
- When Do I Cite?: Video Tutorial (2:13) : What is plagiarism and when do you need a citation.
- The Anatomy Of A Citation: Video Tutorial (4:47) : Learn how to identify the different parts of a citation.
- Citation Management Tools: Brief overview of software that helps to organize and manage citations.
Citation Guides and Generators.
How to choose the best indexes/databases
The Information Cycle : How Today's Events Are Tomorrow's Information. Based on Columbine School Shooting Incident, April 20, 2001. Rebecca Bichel and Debra Cheney, Penn State University.
Writing in Anthropology : Practical advice from the University of North Carolina Writing Center. Don't forget that CSUF also has a writing center that can provide assistance. Or talk to your teacher.
Writing in History : Practical advice from the University of North Carolina Writing Center. Don't forget that CSUF also has a writing center that can provide assistance. Or talk to your teacher.
Writing in Literature : Practical advice from the University of North Carolina Writing Center. Don't forget that CSUF also has a writing center that can provide assistance. Or talk to your teacher.
Writing in Political Science : Practical advice from the University of North Carolina Writing Center. Don't forget that CSUF also has a writing center that can provide assistance. Or talk to your teacher.
Writing in Religious Studies : Practical advice from the University of North Carolina Writing Center. Don't forget that CSUF also has a writing center that can provide assistance. Or talk to your teacher.
Writing in Sociology : Practical advice from the University of North Carolina Writing Center. Don't forget that CSUF also has a writing center that can provide assistance. Or talk to your teacher.