Skip to main content

Instructional Design and Technology (MSIDT): Articles/Journals

Subject guide for the Master of Science in Instructional Design and Technology

Keyword Generator

Use the Pollak Library

Keyword Generator

to create keywords that work well in databases like Academic Search Premier.

Instructional Design Databases

search msidt articles


Searching for articles using the databases below will give you more control over the results

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
    This multi-disciplinary database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for some. It is updated daily. Users may limit search to peer-reviewed / scholarly publications.
  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    Abstracts (and in some cases, full-text) articles, reports, book reviews and government documents covering all aspects of education from 1966 to the present
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega
    A multidisciplinary database providing complete coverage from 6 of Wilson’s full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers’ Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Full-text articles are also available in the areas of Applied Science & Technology, Art, Biology & Agriculture, Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science.
  • SAGE Journals Online
    A gateway to journal articles in SAGE publications, with coverage in the disciplines of business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine. Also includes complete access to the SAGE Full-Text Collections for education and psychology.
  • SpringerLink Journals
    SpringerLink database provides full-text coverage of scientific, technical, and medical literature. Among the subjects covered are: architecture and design, behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences and law, mathematics and statistics, medicine, physics and astronomy, professional and applied computing.
  • Emerald Fulltext (Emerald)
    Full-text articles from over 200 journals in management, applied science and technology, engineering, and library and information science. Full-text of articles from 1994-present, with abstracts only for earlier years.
  • LISTA Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)
    Provides coverage on subjects of study related to libraries and librarianship. Indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings, with coverage dating back to the mid-1960s. Note: This database is free to the general public at http://www.libraryresearch.com.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Collection of 2,000+ full-text Reference books, includes resources for all disciplines taught on this campus.
  • PsycINFO (EBSCO)
    The American Psychological Association’s (APA) notable database for locating abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This resource is the largest of its kind dedicated to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and it also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Material is drawn from over 2,000 periodicals in more than 20 languages. 
  • JSTOR
    A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references.

Database Searching Techniques

Basic Database Searching TechniquesStudents practicing their search skills using laptops (Indiana U, Bloomington)

 

Database Search Tips (MIT)

 

Basic Search Techniques (Ohio U)

 

 

Instructional Design Journals

There are lots of useful journals depending on your research focus. Here are a couple to get you started:

Lists compiled by other institutions:


 

Can't find the full text of an article?

We'll get it for you!

Register with the ILLiad system to request, track, and receive library materials. As a CSUF distance education student, the library will provide free delivery of articles or books that we own but are not available electronically, or that we don’t own and must get via interlibrary loan.

Books are delivered for free to your mailing address, but you are responsible for paying for postage to return books by their due date. Articles are sent electronically to your ILLiad account and are yours to keep.

How to use ILLiad:

a. Click on ILLiad on the Interlibrary Loan Page

b. Log in with your campus portal username and password. If you are using ILLiad for the first time, you'll have to set up a new account.

c. In the online profile form, be sure to include your correct email and mailing address (only distance education students are eligible for home delivery).

d. Select MSIDT: Distance Education as your department.

e. Pick-up Location = Distance Education only (or Fullerton campus—Pollak Library if you live in the area and prefer to come into campus).

f. Once you are registered, you may submit your requests. As a graduate student you are entitled to 15 active requests at a time. Be sure to plan ahead - most requests are filled within six days or less but some can take longer.

 If you have questions about Interlibrary Loan, ILLiad, or about materials that you've requested, please contact:

Interlibrary Loan
libraryill@fullerton.edu
(657) 278-2637

Also try browsing dissertations

You might also try browsing dissertations to see if anyone has written on your topic.

1.To identify dissertations, use Dissertations Abstracts Online.

Dissertation Abstracts is a source of information about dissertations, including summaries, but does not provide access to the full text of the dissertation itself.

2. To obtain the full text of a dissertation, try one of these options:

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
This database has 900,000 digitized dissertations in Education, Art, Communications, Humanities, Literature, Linguistics and Social Sciences. Includes the theses of Fullerton graduate students who have published through UMI Dissertation Publishing (3800+ CSUF theses are currently available full text PDF, 1967-present).

ABI/INFORM Complete (Business dissertations only)
If title is known, search by title.
You can also search by keywords or author. To limit results to dissertations: on main search screen click on 'More Search Options' (at bottom of screen). Next, in 'Publication Type' dropdown box, select 'Dissertations'.

Request the dissertation using ILLiad (interlibrary loan). Some dissertations have been purchased by libraries and are available for loan, but most dissertations are not. It is best to assume you will not be able to get a dissertation using ILLiad.

Purchase the dissertation using Dissertation Express, or order by phone at 1-800-521-3042. The cost of a dissertation starts at $34.