Skip to main content

Women and Gender Studies: Books

Subject guide for Women and Gender Studies

Finding Books at Pollak Library!

Most of the books in the Pollak Library collection are scholarly, that means they can provide an overview of your topic.  Sometimes you only need to read one chapter in the book, but each chapter includes a bibliography which can lead you to additional sources.  Often, the chapter headings in the book can help you focus a large topic into a narrower research focus that can be explored in a smaller paper.

You can find scholarly books on your topic -- complete with useful bibliographies -- by conducting a keyword searches using a couple of different methods. Use the same keywords you'd use in any other database.

Try either one of these strategies: 

1). From the library's homepage, use OneSearch to search by keyword, title or author, then select, "Books and Media (CSUF)".

OR

2). Click on the, "BOOKS / MEDIA", link on the homepage. It will take you to a search that is limited to books and media at Pollak Library.

How do I find books in other libraries?

To find books the Pollak Library does not have, you can search different ways:

1. Use the OneSearch bar on the library's homepage. It defaults to search "Everything", so it will search not only the Pollak Library's collection, but the collections of other CSU libraries.

2. Use the OneSearch bar and select "Books & Media (All CSU)"

After searching using either of these options, sign in using the icon in the yellow bar on the results page. From there you will be given the option to request books from other libraries.

3. Go the Databases page (by clicking on the link on the homepage) and use the alphabetical list on the right to select WorldCat. WorldCat is a huge database that will search the collections of libraries worldwide. You will be able to see what libraries own the book, and can click on the link to, "Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan".