Skip to main content

Communications: Journalism

Subject Guide for Communications

Introduction

When conducting research on Journalism, you will want to consult various sources:ebooks articles and videos

Books & E-books
      •  Books/E-books on the Press/Media/Journalists
      •  Books/E-books on reporting/censorship/news topics
      •  Books/E-books on writing styles and reporting standards

Articles
      •  Articles in magazines (to analyze writing styles, or see current topics covered)
      •  Articles in newspapers (to analyze news reporting styles, or find news stories)
      •  Articles in scholarly or trade journals (to research issues of censorship or the Press)

Video
      •  DVD documentaries on the Press/Media/Journalists
      •  DVD documentaries on news topics, historical news footage

Finding Books & E-books

To find books related to Communications, you will use the Library's catalog, OneSearch.  At the library's homepage, OneSearch is in the middle of the screen.  Choose the "Advanced Search" to the right; then choose "Books & Media (CSUF)" at the top. The example below shows searching for the keywords "Television Broadcasting."

Pollak Library One Search

computer SEARCH TIPS
There are many ways you can search for books.  If you already know a particular title or author, you can use the pull-down menu, at the left, to limit to title or author.  But if you just want to explore what's available, use these 2 ways to search:

Keywords: just type any word or words you want and it will display books (and their floor/shelf location) that match those words in the title or description.  For example:
      - news reporters
      - CNN
      - newspaper decline
Subject: after you do a keyword search and see books listed, find a book that is a close match to what you want.  At that book's display screen, you'll see some subject terms (or tags).  Once you know those terms, you can re-do your search as a SUBJECT search.  Then all the other books, also on that same subject, will be displayed.   To do a Subject search, pull the pull-down menu, at the left, to "Subject."  Here are some examples of subject terms:
      - Journalism
      - American Newspapers
      - Broadcast news

books RETRIEVING PRINT BOOKS

When you find a book on OneSearch, it will tell you the location. Books are located on either the 3rd floor north side, or the 4th-5th floors south side.  These floors are self-service--you find and retrieve books yourself; there is no library staff on those floors.  Books are arranged on the shelves by book numbers.  These book numbers are a two-letter+number code or "call number".  The two-letters stand for subjects.  For example, P87 is Mass Communication.  PN4699 is News Journalism.  HM263 is Public Relations.  For Virtual Fall 2020, no in-person access to the books will be available; instead, when you find your book in OneSearch, click the "request" button.  Your book will then be retrieved for you by library staff, and you will get an email when it is ready to pickup outside the library's south-side glass doors  (see here for the full procedure).

 RETRIEVING E-BOOKS

The library's OneSearch catalog retrieves both print books and e-books. When you see an e-book in your search, simply click it, and it will take you to a log-in page.  Your log-in is your same CSUF log-in (username & password).  You can access e-books 24 hours a day.  Some e-books allow you to download the entire book for offline reading later; other e-books do not allow this, and you can only read them while connected online (the difference is because different publishers have different rules).

Finding Articles

There are 2 ways to search for Communications-related articles:

ONESEARCH.  Although OneSearch is mainly used as the library's book catalog, it can also find articles.  It has a search feature that group-searches many of the library's databases at once. This can be helpful if you are looking for breadth: a lot of articles from a variety of journals.  However, the drawback to OneSearch is that it bombards you with a lot of irrelevant articles, and you have to spend time filtering the results to narrow it down.  To get to OneSearch, go the library's homepage, click on One Search's "Advanced Search", and choose "Articles" to begin searching.

 

DATABASES.  Databases are collections of articles that the library subscribes to.  We have a database that specializes in communications articles, but also databases specializing in related fields: cinema, theater/performing arts, business, etc.  The databases have more search settings than OneSearch: you can search multiples keywords, set dates, limit to certain publications, and more.  So they are your best choice for precise searching.  To get to the databases, go to the library's homepage, choose the "DATABASES" icon at the upper left, and then choose either (a) your major, for a recommended list of databases, or (b) the name of a specific database, A-Z, to go to it directly.

SEARCH TIPS: 

Keywords: Type in keywords of what you want (for example: journalism and censorship).  A list of articles will then come up.  If you see the full-text (a PDF or HTML icon) next to any on the list, great!  You can click and read the full-text immediately.  If no full-text is displayed, then then click on the blue "Find it" button () and a pop-up window will appear referring you to where you can get the full-text.

Subjects: Although using keywords is convenient, keywords can often bring up unrelated articles, since they may appear anywhere in the article.  A more precise way to search is to change your search box to a SUBJECT search, and type a word.  This will look for articles entirely about that word, not just find that word randomly.   For example, an article about corporate communication, not just an article that has the word "corporate" and "communication" somewhere randomly in it. 

Audiovisual

The library has many videos relating to COMM.  For example, training videos, documentaries, broadcast recordings, and more.  The library has videos in 3 formats: streaming, DVDs, and VHS.

STREAMING.  The library subscribes to streaming videos from several vendors (Kanopy, Alexander Street, etc.)  To find streaming library videos, simply search the library's OneSearch search engine, just like you would for a book (either exact title, or keywords).  You can refine your search results to streaming videos by limiting to "video" on the left sidebar. 
DVDs. The library also has many physical DVDs.  These are kept at the library's Circulation Desk (first floor, south side) for check-out.  These are also searchable on OneSearch, the same way (titles or keywords), using the left sidebar to limit to "DVDs".  
VHS. Although VHS videocassettes are an old/undesirable format, the library has kept some VHS tapes that are related to COMM.  These tapes are also available for check-out at the Circulation Desk (first floor, south side) and searchable on OneSearch.  Equipment to view these tapes (VCR players) is available in rooms, on the fourth floor north, which can be reserved at the Circulation Desk.  Due to Fall 2020 being virtual, in-library viewing of VHS tapes will not be possible.  Please email John for alternate viewing options.

Websites

The Internet has many useful websites for journalists.  For example:clipart of sample newspaper front page

DIRECTORIES OF WORLDWIDE NEWSPAPERS

  • ABYZ News Links  Worldwide newspapers & broadcasting news stations, down to city level
  • AllYouCanRead Searchable directory of newspapers from over 180 countries.
  • DailyEarth Online newspapers directory, organized by country and state.
  • English Online International Newspapers Links to daily English-edition online newspapers.
  • Foreign Newspapers Directory of online, non-English newspapers organized by language.
  • Hometown News.  Directory of newsapers listed by state and city.
  • HotNewspapers Worldwide online newspapers, organized by region, country, state, language.
  • Library of Congress Chronicling America Directory of current and past U.S. newspapers
  • List of Newspapers One of the largest directories of worldwide newspapers, listed by country.
  • Media World Directory of worldwide newspapers, sorted by categories, regions and languages.
  • News Conc  Lists newspapers and news sources from around the world.
  • Newseum  Directory of U.S. newspapers, displaying front pages; sortable by city & state
  • Newslink Lists US & worldwide newspapers (but only displays in a .cfm file format)
  • Newspaper Index Lists worldwide newspaper websites that are free and updated daily.
  • Newspaper Map Map directory of newspapers, color-coded by language, worldwide
  • Newspapers  Partial US & world newspapers, with free full-text content of select past years
  • Newspapers List Listing of worldwide newspapers.
  • Newspapers Periodicos Info on newspapers, listed by country (in Eng, Span, Germ, French).
  • Online Newspapers Listing worldwide newspapers, searchable by country and publication.
  • Prensa Escrita  Directory of daily newspapers sorted by region with links to each.
  • Refdesk  Newspapers listed by USA state and the rest of the world by country.
  • Search-22 Links to the search engines of world newspapers.
  • US Newspaper Archives  Directory of US newspapers and their archival options, including costs
  • US Newspaper List.  Directory of US newspapers giving address/phone/website/editor/etc.
  • Worldwide Newspapers Worldwide newspapers, searchable by region, popularity, and title

AP Style: Quick Tips

In newspaper or magazine articles, sources are not typically cited or listed at the end like in an academic paper (using APA, MLA, or Chicago citation style). Newspapers and news magazines typically follow the Associated Press (AP) Style guide for writing rules.  The following summary, below, shows some of the common AP Style guidelines from the AP Style guide 2015 edition which is available at the library’s OneSearch catalog as an ebook (the library does not have the 2020 edition yet).

SYMBOLS
- write out percent (but % okay in headline)
- write out and ("&" okay in a company name)
- use $500 instead of 500 dollars.

DATES
- don’t abbreviate days/months (no Mon, Feb)
- do not use “Xmas”; spell out Christmas
- do not use “4th of July”; use “Fourth of July”
- date order is month day, year (April 9, 2015)

PEOPLE/TITLES
- Gender titles (Mr., Mrs.) aren’t used unless a quote
- Job title abbreviations: Gov., Sen., Rep., Rev., Dr.
- Job descriptions, before name, are not capitalized
  (singer Taylor Swift, actor Tom Cruise)
- Not abbreviated: Attorney General, District Attorney,
  President, Professor, Superintendent

ORGANIZATIONS
- First use is spelled out (American Medical Association)
- Exception: in headline (“FCC announces new rules”)

PLACES
- Use traditional state abbreviations, not the two-letter
   postal abbreviation (Calif., not CA)
- Streets: abbrev. okay if exact address; if not, then spell
   out (125 Pine St., Elm Avenue)
- Use St. not Saint.  Don’t abbreviate Fort or Mount.
- Well-known cities do not require a state after them 
  (New York, Chicago, Dallas, San Francisco, etc.)

CAPITALIZATION
- Proper nouns capitalized (Boston pie, German measles)
- Regions are capitalized but not directions (Southern
  California, East Los Angeles.  The west part of town)
- Departments: universities=no, government=yes 
  (sociology department, Fullerton Fire Department)
- Armed forces and ranks (Army, Navy, Sgt. Major)
- Races capitalized (Caucasian, African American, etc.)
  but color descriptions are not (black, white)

NUMBERS
- use numbers for numbered streets (125 10th St.)
- use numbers for ages (3 days old; John Williams, 60)
- Millions/billions: spell out, don’t use   numbers
- Percent: use the number (3 percent, not three percent)
- Time: use numbers (6:32 p.m., not six thirty two)
- Ordinal numbers (-nd, -rd, -th): do not use for dates 
  (May 4, not May 4th), but okay for formal titles (2nd Lt.)
- Constitution Amendments: spell out first through ninth

SEMICOLON
- use to separate items with commas (offices in 
  Anaheim, Calif.; Boston, Mass.; Chicago, Ill.)

QUOTATION MARKS
- Put around titles of books, songs, TV shows, movies, 
  poems, etc. (“60 Minutes”).  Do not underline 
  or italicize.
- Do not use quotes for titles of magazines, newspapers.
- Punctuation goes inside quotations (“That’s right.”)

OTHER PUNCTUATION
Hyphen: for compound adjective (fastest-growing company)
Dash: for a break in though (oranges—from Florida—are being exported) 
Comma: when listing items, no comma is needed after the items before and
(example: milk, eggs, cream and butter).
Apostrophe: do not use for decades for acronyms 
(1990s, not 1990’s; CDs, not CD’s).
Parentheses: AP styles recommends avoiding parentheses;
try rewording text or using dashes

COMMON TERMS
The correct spelling and capitalization is as follows for these common terms:
- download    - Internet
- e-book    - iPhone
- email        - social media
- cellphone    - smartphone
- Facebook    - Twitter
- Google    - website
- hashtag,     - You Tube

 

Communications Librarian

John Hickok's picture
John Hickok
Contact:
657.278.4393

jhickok@fullerton.edu