Theatre Research Guide: Citing

Handbook of the Modern Language Association (MLA), 9th edition.

Copies are available at the Main Campus Library Research Center and for limited checkout at Circulation.

CHECK THE FOLLOWING WHEN USING AUTO-GENERATED CITATIONS: 

• The author's name is written out in full - full first name and last name (the middle name requires an initial).
• The year is listed after the volume and issue number. 
• The name of the journal is in italics.
• Notice how the volume and issue are listed.
• If it is an online article, the citation will end with the DOI. If there is no DOI listed, list the URL.

QUICK GUIDE: 

• MLA 9th Citation Guide - Pollak Library

  This overview of MLA gives basic citation format examples and refers to additional resources on full MLA formatting. This is based on the latest and most current edition of the MLA Style Guide.

HELPFUL RESOURCES: 

• Purdue OWL: Easy-to-use citation resource. Provides rules and examples.
• MLA Style Center Ask the MLA: Provides answers to FAQs but also lets you ask your own!

In-Text Citations:

Purdue OWL In-Text Basics: Covers basics of in-text citation rules and more.

Works Cited Page/Bibliography:

Purdue OWL MLA Works Cited Page Basics: Covers basics of reference list rules and more.

Additional Citation Examples:

University of West Florida Style Guide: Provides additional example citations for the 8th edition.

Videos/Films from Databases and Streaming Service

Last Name Author(s), First Name. Title of Work. Contributors, Production Company, Year. Database or Streaming Platform, hyperlink.   

Example: Miller, Arthur. The Crucible. directed by Alex Segal. , produced by David Susskind, Columbia Broadcasting System, and Talent Associates. , Music Video Distributors, 1967. Alexander Street, https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/the-crucible.

Videos from YouTube

"Title." Youtube, uploaded by ______, upload date, hyperlink.

Example: "2016 MLA-Prize Winning Publication." Youtube,  uploaded by ModernLanguageAssoc, 18 Jan. 2017, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKROuhFF9dU

A DOI is a Digital Object Identifier.  It is a unique set of letters and numbers for a specific article. The DOI identifies the article and can provide information to access on the Internet. 

If the DOI is available, it is required as part of the citation for a print or electronic articles. If the DOI is not available and a researcher has cited a journal article that has been retrieved electronically, the researcher must add the url of the journal's homepage to the citation.

Citing a photograph or image from a museum or institution (viewed online):

Example:  Boudin, Eugene. On the Beach, Sunset. 1865. The Met, www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/438551. 

Citing a digital image on a web page or online article:

Example: Quinn, Pete. “European Grey Wolf Portrait.” Flickr, 21 Dec. 2019, flic.kr/p/2k6vq7V.

Example (no creator): “Kim Kardashian.” Vanity Fair, 11 Jan. 2004, www.vanityfair.com.

Example (no creator or title): Penguin sitting on rock. National Geographic, 9 Feb. 2021, www.natgeo.com/images/149603845.