Skip to main content

Dance: Background Info

Subject guide for Dance

Background Information on Dance from databases

Start here with this resource:
=> International Encyclopedia of Dance
and in print Reference:
GV 1585 I586, 6 volumes

Background Information-Books

International Encyclopedia of Dance REF GV 1585 I586 1998
      
This 6 volume set is available online and in print

 

International Dictionary of Ballet REF GV1585 I57 1993 
Biographical Dictionary of Dance REF GV1785 A1 C58 
Dance Medicine & Science Bibliography REF RC1220.D35 S64 2001  
Social Dancing in America REF GV1623G56 2007
Oxford Dictionary of Dance Ref GV1585 C78 2004

International Dictionary of Modern Dance Ref GV1585 B46 1998
Fifty Contemporary Choreographers  Ref GV1785 A1 B74 1999 

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Ref ML 100 G16

Build a Search

Sample Topic: The effect of Martha Graham upon dance in the United States

  • Main concepts within this topic:
                 
    Martha Graham and Dance and United States
  • Other terms that might apply when search for information on this topic
                 Martha Graham
                 Dance or dancing or dancers or Modern Dance
                 United States or American or America
  • Terms you would not enter in a search like this:
                 Effect or cause (because all articles will essentially be about effects or causes)
                 In, and, the, an, this (skip the little words and go straight to the important stuff)

Sample Search entered in a standard three-box search engine

  Martha Graham
and Dance or dancing or dancers or Modern Dance
and United States or American or America

Subject Guide

Sarah Parramore's picture
Sarah Parramore
Contact:
Office hours
Mondays 7pm
Wednesdays 2pm
Email for Zoom link
657-278-5801