Empirical research is conducted based on observed and measured phenomena and derives knowledge from actual experience, rather than from theory or belief. Empirical research articles are examples of primary research.
How do you know if a study is empirical?
Read the subheadings within the article, book, or report and look for a description of the research methodology. Ask yourself: Could I recreate this study and test these results?
Key characteristics to look for:
Locating Empirical Articles in APA PsycINFO
Use the "Methodology" limiter to select: EMPIRICAL STUDY
Locating Empirical Articles in Other Databases (like Academic Search Premier)
Use terms such as: study, research, empirical, methods, methodology, research design, survey, data, results
Please remember to use OR between your combination of terms. For example, you may enter the following in one search box:
study OR research OR empirical
research OR methods OR data OR results
Locating Empirical Articles in ERIC
Use the "Publication Type" limiter to select: Reports - Research
Other places to find original research or empirical statistics.
National Institute of Justice Journal NIJ Datasets
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Most databases will not have a simple way to only look at empirical research. In the window below are some suggestions for specific databases, but here are some good rules of thumb to follow:
Search subject-specific databases - Multipurpose databases can definitely contain empirical research, but it's almost always easier to use the databases devoted to your topic, which should have more topical results and will respond better to your keywords.
Select "Peer-reviewed Journals" - Not all empirical research is published in academic journals. Grey literature is a great place to search, particularly in the health sciences. However, grey literature can be difficult to identify, so it is recommended to search the databases until you are more comfortable identifying empirical literature.
Check the abstract / methods - Most articles will not have the phrase "empirical research" in their title, or even in the whole article. A better place to get an idea of what the article contains is by looking at the abstract and the methods section. In the abstract, there will usually be a description of what was done in the article. If there isn't, look in the methods. Ideally, you can get an idea of whether original research is being conducted or if it's reviewing it from other sources.
Consider your keywords - Think about what types of methods are used in empirical research and incorporate those into your keywords. or example, searching for "sleep loss" will certainly bring back many articles about that subject, but "sleep loss and study" might yield some results describing studies being conducted on sleep loss.
The box to the right features some typical methods of conducting empirical research that you might consider including in your search terms.
There are 2 ways to find empirical articles in PubMed:
One technique is to limit your search results after you perform a search:
Another alternative is to construct a more sophisticated search:
To find empirical articles in PsycINFO:
Science Direct provides access to over 2500 scientific scholarly journals in the areas of biochemistry, biological sciences, business and management science, chemistry, clinical medicine, earth sciences, economics, engineering and technology, environmental science, materials science, mathematics and computer science, microbiology and immunology, neurosciences, pharmacology and toxicology, physics, social sciences and more. Many articles are in full-text.To find empirical articles in ScienceDirect:
Need to find scholarly articles, book reviews, book chapters, and conference papers on various linguistics and language related subjects? Try LLBA to access articles from over 1,500 journals, as well as summaries of books, book chapters and dissertations!