LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Articles

Have citation? Locate article

To find this article, either online or in print...
1. Start at the home page, click on Services, click on Journal Search
2. Enter the title of the journal, click on the magnifying glass or hit ENTER
2. Find your journal title and click to go into it. Then you can search that journal for the article
OR you can cut and paste the citation into OneSearch.

Sample Citation:
Famega, C N. (2009). Proactive policing by post and community officers. Crime and delinquency, 55(1), 78-104.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

If you have problems connecting, go to the main Google Scholar page (https://scholar.google.com/) where you will find a link to Settings. Once you click on it, you'll be taken to a page with "Library Links" on the left side. Search for Fullerton or "California State University Fullerton" and once you check the box next to "California State University Fullerton - Pollak Library FindIt!" you'll see the links appear.

Note - if we have it electronically, a link will appear on the right. If we have it in print, you'll have to click on "More" under the article to get the FindIt! link.

Journal Article Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
This database is good for searching for fiscal impact from a crime.
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database which provides access to magazines, scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles and a few newspapers. It is updated daily. Users may limit search to peer-reviewed / scholarly publications.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database is good for searching for the mental impact of crime.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
For most Criminal Justice topics, search this database first. Many of the articles you find will only be the abstracts. Put the title of the article into OneSearch to search for the full-text article.
Crime Report This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice database which offers news, analysis, and commentary from professional criminologists currently working in the field.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
Professional criminal justice database from the US Dept of Justice, indexes articles, government reports, books, reports, Congressional hearings, training materials and more.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
The Public Affairs Information Service provides access to materials in Political Science, Criminal Justice, Public Administration, and Public Policy. It includes information found in journal articles, books, government documents and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociology database, international in scope, which includes abstracts of journal articles in the social and behavioral sciences, also includes abstracts of book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Westlaw Next Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Next Campus Research is a comprehensive legal database, which includes federal and all 50 states materials; such as statutes, regulations, briefs, proposed and enacted legislation and the US Code Annotated. This database also includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation and Wests Key Number System.

Search Tips

When using the databases, put one idea or concept in each box.

When using the databases, AND will narrow your search; OR will expand your search.

body cameras AND police OR law enforcement

impact OR effect OR influence OR outcome OR result OR consequence

techniques OR methods OR strategies OR interventions OR treatment OR prevention OR approaches

Using quotations marks around phrases tells the computer you want it to search for these words in this order.

"broken windows theory"

Most databases have limiters on the left side of the screen. Use the Subject Headings to narrow your results and also for ideas of new search terms to try.

Criminal Justice: Articles

Have citation? Locate article

Google Scholar

Journal Article Databases

Search Tips

Criminal Justice Journals

Web Accessibility