If you need a book that is not available or not listed as "Item in Place", you can request it by:
Start OneSearch:
* Find a book
* Click on Sign-in Link to log-in
* Click on Request and select Pollak Library or Library Lockers
* Email notification will be sent once the book is available at the Circulation Desk or Library Lockers to be picked up
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository by the 13 members of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system. More information about HathiTrust is available at http://www.hathitrust.org/.
The MSU Libraries is just starting to load titles from the Hathi Trust into our online catalog. If there is a digitized title in the HathiTrust that matches a title in the MSU Library Union Catalog, then a record with a link to the full text page hosted by HathiTrust database will be added to the catalog.
Take a look at some of the following titles, and note the Hathi Trust and sometimes also the Google full text link within the record:
Privacy and security of criminal history information : a guide to administrative security. Washington : Dept. of Justice, Law Enforcement Assistance Administration, National Criminal Justice Information and Statistics Service : for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1978. 27pp. Government Documents Library, U.S. Documents Collection (3 West) J 26.8:P 93
Note : Don't want to limit yourself to what has been loaded into the MSU Library Union Catalog? Go ahead and click on the HathiTrust and search away. If you want entire documents, be sure to select Full Text.
Google Books provides the largest collection of digitized books. Unfortunately, due to copyright restrictions, many are restricted to snippets. Google Books is also populated with magazines.
Click on the advanced search feature so you can restrict your search to full-text only and books. You can also select a subject. Criminology works as a subject, but not criminal justice.
ebooks
Some of the electronic books in this collection deal with criminal justice topics. If you browse by subject, try topics such as:
capital punishment
crime
criminal justice
hate groups
police
1. Search a CSU library. Titan Card is valid at all CSU libraries. List of CSU campus libraries
2. WorldCat.org (the free version) Libraries worldwide
3. Google your favorite public library and click on catalog. However, public libraries do not own college textbooks or research-level books.
Current CSUF students, faculty, and staff may borrow books, journal articles, and other materials from lending libraries if the Pollak Library does not own a copy. All Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests are processed electronically through our ILL service.
This service is free in most cases. The Library will advise you ahead of time if are personal costs involved. Physical items, such as books, can be picked up at the Circulation Desk. Articles are delivered electronically to your ILL account. Some ILL items are renewable, depending on each particular lending library.
Includes Childhood Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Psychology, Social Work and Sociology. The annotated bibliography with supporting explanations presents the preeminent research on these subjects. Editors are distinguished scholars in their field and resulting citations are highly recommended.
After clicking on link, choose criminology and browse through the various entries
. Active Offender Research Airport and Airline Security
Alcohol Use, Policy and Crime Bail and Pretrial Detention
Biosocial Criminology Capital Punishment Chinese Triad Society Commercial and Bank Robbery
Policing, Community and Problem-Oriented
Community Change and Crime
Community Corrections
Community Disadvantage and Crime
Comparative Criminal Justice Systems
Control Balance Theory
Costs of Crime and Justice
Crime Control Policy
Crime Trends
Crime Victims' Rights Movement
Animals, Crimes Against
Criminal Career Research
Investigation, Criminal
Criminal Justice Data Sources
Criminal Justice Ethics
Criminal Retaliation
Criminology and Political Science
Criminology of Genocide, The
Critical Criminology
Cross-National Crime
Cultural Criminology
Cultural Theories
Cybercrime
Cycle of Violence
Desistance
Deterrence
Developmental and Life-Course Criminology
Criminal Justice System, Discretion in the
Drug Control
Drugs and Crime.
Environmental Crime and Justice
Experimental Criminology
Testimony, Eyewitness
False and Coerced Confessions
Family Violence
Fear of Crime and Perceived Risk
Felon Disenfranchisement
Feminist Theories
Firearms and Violence
Forensic Science
Fraud
Gangs, Peers, and Co-offending
Gender and Crime
Self-Control, The General Theory:
Genetics, Environment, and Crime
Hate Crime
Interpersonal Violence, Historical Patterns of
History of Police
Homicide
Homicide Victimization
Honor Cultures and Violence
Human Rights
Human Trafficking
Identity Theft
Immigration, Crime, and Justice
Institutional Anomie Theory
Integrated Theory
Drug Trafficking, International
Interrogation
Juvenile Delinquency
Juvenile Justice System, The
Labeling Theory
Labor Markets and Crime
Lead and Crime
Legitimacy
Local Institutions and Neighborhood Crime
Mandatory Minimum Sentencing
Mapping and Spatial Analysis of Crime, The
Incarceration, Mass
Mass Media, Crime, and Justice
Measuring Crime
Mental Health and Crime
Meta-analysis in Criminology
Motor Vehicle Theft
Narrative Criminology
Nature Versus Nurture
Neighborhood Disorder
Neutralization Theory
Offender Decision-Making and Motivation
Offense Specialization/Expertise
Organized Crime
Panel Methods in Criminology
Peer Networks and Delinquency
Performance Measurement and Accountability Systems
Personality and Trait Theories of Crime