Latin American Studies: Resources: Audio Visual

Database available via ARTstor. Digital images of works of art with accompanying information including size and ownership. Includes over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, and the humanities. Technical requirements http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-html/requirements.shtml NOTE 1: Pop-up blocking software must be disabled. NOTE 2: Requires Flash 6 or higher.

Available via EBSCO. An image database of millions of photographs and graphics from AP, the Associated Press. Photographs: color and B&W, dating from 1826 to the present. Graphics: maps, diagrams, drawings etc. Also includes audio files (sound clips) dating from the 1920s. The database is strongest since 1997, but there is a good deal of older, historical material. The database is updated every minute, daily, so that photos of current events are instantly available. All photos/graphics/audio is copyrighted material owned by the Associated Press, but available to subscribers for educational use.

Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

The GOOD DOCS Complete Collection and The Docuseek Complete Collection 3rd Edition.

This collection of streaming video provides access to hundreds of classic and contemporary documentaries useful in the study of anthropology, ethnography and social psychology. The videos are global in scope, with footage from every continent and material relevant to hundreds of cultures. In addition to published content, Ethnographic Video online includes unpublished footage from archives or the personal collections of anthropologists and others.

Documentary collection includes topics such as history, politics, diversity, environment and more. It includes series such as Frontline, Nova, and American Experience.

Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.

Available through July 31, 2025

Now part of MUSIC ONLINE. Music research of all the world's peoples with regional overviews explaining musical heritage, traditions, themes and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Also contains illustrations and sound recordings.

Streaming audio files of classical music, jazz, world music, folk, instrumental and more. From more than 86,690 CDs with more than 1, 250,000 tracks. Updated monthly.

Now part of MUSIC ONLINE. An international database of traditional and historical music recordings from across the world which can be searched by country, cultural group, artist, instrument, genre, and more. Highlights of the collection are in folk, jazz, blues, bluegrass, and old time country music as well as musical traditions from Africa, the Americas, and Asia. For current music see the complementary database, 'Contemporary World Music.' It is possible to create individual playlists or course folders for entire classes.