Skip to main content

Human Services: Citing Your Sources

Subject Guide for Human Services

APA Citation (7th Edition)

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed. (2020) is the authority used by writers in the social sciences and some natural sciences.
Cover of the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual
Unofficial: CSUF APA Style Quick Reference Guide (PDF) provides a two-page overview of some of the most common citation needs for both the references list and in-text citation.

Official: APA Frequently Asked Questions and APA Style Help provide a few official examples and additional support from the APA, including Style and Grammar Guidelines (which provides information on in-text citations and references, among other important topics) and Instructional Aids (which offers links to tutorials and webinars, handouts and guides, and sample papers).

For the most comprehensive coverage of APA style, including citation rules, please remember to consult the print APA publication manual.  A copy is kept at the Research Center (first floor of Pollak Library North) for in-library use.

Also Available Online:
OWL (Online Writing Lab) at Purdue University. Purdue University's OWL is an excellent source to use for any citation style, including APA.

What is EndNote Web?

EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliographic management software that enables you to collect and manage references to books, articles, and many other types of materials. Since it is Web-based, all CSUF students and employees may access EndNote Web on-campus or off-campus through the campus portal.  The related link below offers direct access to the EndNote Web login page available through the Pollak Library.

EndNote Web can help you:

  • Import references from library databases.
  • Organize references in groups for access and use at any time
  • Create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles, including APA and MLA.

The Pollak Library also offers an EndNote Web guide with additional information, including sample instructions for exporting citations and creating bibliographies.


Related Link:

EndNote Web Login

PLEASE NOTE:  For first-time users who wish to create an EndNote Web account, please feel free to use this alternate link if the registration process cannot be completed using the link directly above.

EndNote Web Basics

This section highlights essential features available in EndNote Web.

 

EndNote Web: “My References” Tab

The “My References” tab provides you with information on the total number of references in your EndNote Web account. You also have access to the special groups you have created to store specific references in your account.

Please note the link to the “[Unfiled]” group, which is where items exported directly from certain databases are sent (e.g., EBSCOhost databases such as Academic Search Premier and ProQuest databases such as Social Services Abstracts). When items are sent directly to the “[Unfiled]” group, please remember to take those items and put them in a group you already have created or take the time to create a new group where these items may be kept for future access.

 

EndNote Web: Importing References

The “Import References” feature under the “Collect” tab is helpful for those databases which do not allow the direct export of items to EndNote Web.In these cases, you first will be required to download a file from the database where you found your item(s).

After you have downloaded the file, three steps must be completed using the “Import References” feature. First, you will browse for the downloaded file on your computer (e.g., on your computer desktop). Second, you will select the appropriate import filter. Third, you will have the option to select an existing group in your EndNote Web account in which to store the item(s) in your file, or you may create a new group for the item(s).

 

EndNote Web: Managing Groups / Creating Bibliographies

The “Manage My Groups” feature under the “Organize” tab allows you to create a new group in which to store your references. You also have access to other management features, such as sharing, renaming, or deleting groups.

The “Bibliography” feature under the “Format” tab allows you to select the group containing the references you wish to format. You also have a variety of citation styles that you can use to format your references. Before generating your bibliography, you will select a standard file format. EndNote Web gives you the option to save, e-mail, or preview and print your bibliography.